Customer Reviews for

Risk Taker (Harlequin Romantic Suspense Series #1787)

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    This book addresses the issues and difficulties a woman in the


    This book addresses the issues and difficulties a woman in the military faces. There is a very high risk of rape and attempted rate from their own co-workers. Many men resent or refuse to admit that women can get the job done. Well, I’m here to tell you that we can and do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    4 STARS Risk Taker is very well told drama. Their is so much a

    4 STARS

    Risk Taker is very well told drama. Their is so much action, drama, romance in this story. I really enjoyed the ending. The characters are really likeable and heroes. There is a lot of poetry in this book that I liked but am not a good judge of poetry.
    There were a few love scenes that I skipped over.

    Sarah Benson is a Medevac pilot that takes some risks to save soldiers hurt in battle. Even when she is warned to stay away by her commander till it is more safer to go into rescue the wounded men. Sarah on one hand is brave and courageous. She turns away any man from her because she has learned not to trust them.

    Ethan is a navy Seal who risks his life all the time. He has hidden side to himself he writes poetry. He is attracted to Sarah like most men in the bar. When four men try to harass her he steps in. Then later rescues her again. He knows she is careful around men. So he decides to sneak poetry to her tent each morning that he can.

    The drama catches what it might be over in Afghanistan. It was believable to me. How men and woman are doing their best but there are always a few bad bunch in any group.

    I can't wait to read Degree of Risk the other book that features Sarah and Ethan that will be out in March 2014.

    The setting for this book is Afghanistan.

    02/04/2014 PUB Harlequin Romantic Suspense ISBN 9780373278572
    I was given this ebook to read and in return asked to give honest review of it by Netgalley and Harlequin

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2014

    Having read Lindsay McKenna books for many years I have always f

    Having read Lindsay McKenna books for many years I have always found them to be relevant, realistic, gut wrenching but at the same time endearing, emotional and heartwarming. This is no exception and may just be one of her best ever!
    Chief Warrant Officer 4 Sarah Benson, US ARMY, is known for her arresting eyes, thus she garnered the nickname “Blue Eyes”. The soldiers who surround her at Camp Bravo, in Afghanistan do not look past her beauty. They see her only as a woman they want to bed and harass her incessantly. US Navy SEAL Ethan Quinn first sees Sarah sitting alone at a table in a bustling canteen. His SEAL senses hone in on a depth of sadness in those haunted eyes. This somehow touches his core and he wants to learn know more about Sarah, the person. Almost immediately Ethan becomes her knight in shining armor when he stumbles upon an enlisted Army sergeant attempting to rape Sarah. He thwarts off the attacker and takes her for medical care. A bond begins to grow between them.
    Ethan eventually learns of Sarah’s painful past. She was given up by a mother she never knew and discarded in a dumpster only to be found by winos. She was placed in the “snake pit” of a foster home with a couple of alcoholics who only wanted the money they could get for taking her in. The husband repeatedly sexually abused her setting up a pattern of justified distrust, a sense of worthlessness and abandonment. No one ever came to rescue her. She vows that no man will ever take a piece of her soul again.
    Ethan understands Sarah’s wariness. He works at gaining her trust by writing her poems daily. He verbally paints a picture of her as he sees her which is not how she sees herself. Sarah loves rainbows and butterflies but needs to be in the rain to wash way the chaos and dirt she feels inside. Ethan has the desire and patience to watch her grow, gain confidence in herself as a woman.
    Sarah is a risk taker and expertly flies helicopters into hot zones where others won’t. This does not set well with her commander Major Donaldson. She rescues the wounded so that no one is left behind. It’s been said that she’s a ballsy broad, gutsy, and a solid kamikaze medevac pilot. As a woman she is the complete opposite, withdrawn and hiding. Understandably her personal history is the foundation for this. It’s a tough hurdle to overcome, but Ethan is up to the task. He knows she’s worth it.
    Known in his SEAL family as “The Hawk” Ethan has witnessed firsthand Sarah’s stellar capabilities. Her reputation spread thru the SEAL community when she rescued 2 of their brothers against all odds. They appreciate her and adopt her into their fold. There is no stigma within their ranks. They recognize that courage is not predicated on gender. Sarah is recommended for the Bronze Star and a V for valor by the Navy. Her own CO Donaldson refused to do this but bent under SEAL pressure not to object.
    Sarah finally experiences the positive side of respect. SEALS protect their own. She’s now a part of them. Navy Master Chief Gil Hunter gladly accepts her as a “daughter” in his platoon. He’s also a father to his SEALS who all readily become her big brothers.
    In order to fully and thoroughly explore Sarah and Ethan’s developing relationship and story, a pivotal sequel has been written. DEGREE OF RISK, will be released in HRS, March 2014. I anxiously await reading more about these endearing characters of the Shadow Warriors Series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Risk taker

    I love the idea of a literate and sensitive soldier! Sarah is emotionally scarred but blooms under Hawk's tender and steadfast love. This is a lovely romance in the midst of a hot combat zone. Thank goodness there is a sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Another captivating book by an author who skillfully brings you

    Another captivating book by an author who skillfully brings you into all of her stories and allows you to read, feel and sense the drama and humanity experienced by all of the protagonists. Each of McKenna's books are very special and are worth reading because when you finish the last page you are left with something precious that you will always remember...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Risk Taker has you wondering at the end who is the biggest risk

    Risk Taker has you wondering at the end who is the biggest risk taker? Medevac pilot Sarah Benson for going in under fire to rescue wounded soldiers or Navy Seal Ethan Quinn who goes into dangerous situations? Or is the biggest risk the one they take with their hearts when they find each other? This book was so good, I have already bought the second book in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Military romance at its best

    I love Lindsay McKenna books. This one has all the suspense and romance .
    I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2014

    No one writes a military romance like Lindsay McKenna. Risk Tak

    No one writes a military romance like Lindsay McKenna. Risk Taker is a fabulous story about Medevac Pilot Sarah Benson and Navy Seal Ethan Quinn. Sarah has no fear when it comes to flying into harm’s way to evacuate an injured soldier while her personal life is another story. She was raised throughout the foster care system and endured some horrible situations. Ethan is a true Seal. He is fierce in combat but has a softer side as he keeps a journal and writes poetry. An incident brings Ethan into Sarah’s world. Over time, he breaks down her barriers and teaches her how to trust and love someone. Risk Taker also re-introduced us to Emma and Khalid Shaheem whom we’ve seen in Ms. McKenna’s Black Jaguar Squadron series. Risk Taker is a two-part book that concludes with Degree of Risk. Ms. McKenna writes combat scenes like no other. One feels like they are present as the battles are fought. I would highly recommend this novel and look forward to the conclusion of Risk Taker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Although I liked the story and characters, I thought at times th

    Although I liked the story and characters, I thought at times the story got a bit tedious. With that said, I still look forward to continue reading about Ethan and Sarah. Do Seals really eat that much?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1