Customer Reviews for

Risky Surrender (Entangled Indulgence)

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Straight up I loved this book. I'm a big fan of Robin Bielman an

Straight up I loved this book. I'm a big fan of Robin Bielman and loved Worth the Risk. I was equally anticipating Risky Surrender
and Ms Bielman again delivers.

The tension sizzles between Keats McCall and Lucy Davenport. The setting is gorgeous! The dialogue is snap...
Straight up I loved this book. I'm a big fan of Robin Bielman and loved Worth the Risk. I was equally anticipating Risky Surrender
and Ms Bielman again delivers.

The tension sizzles between Keats McCall and Lucy Davenport. The setting is gorgeous! The dialogue is snappy,
the characters are people I really enjoyed meeting. McCall is one hot tamale! I particularly loved the tree-top scene which
is now on my bucket list to do. I really liked Lucy. She was vulnerable but tough. Watching McCall peel away her layers was
 a joy to read. The chemistry between the characters flamed up the pages. I so enjoyed meeting up with Dean and Sam from
Worth the Risk.
If you want a fast, fun, flirty read then this book is for you.

It is certainly on my too-read again list

posted by SandiiM on September 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Risky Surrender was an enjoyable read, but felt a bit uneven.

Risky Surrender was an enjoyable read, but felt a bit uneven.




There were some really neat things about this book. Archaeologists, in my opinion, are one profession that should definitely be featured more often in romance books (Indiana Jones, anyone?) and I loved th...
Risky Surrender was an enjoyable read, but felt a bit uneven.




There were some really neat things about this book. Archaeologists, in my opinion, are one profession that should definitely be featured more often in romance books (Indiana Jones, anyone?) and I loved the setting of an ancient Aztec village--actually, I'd like to have "seen" more of it. The hero and heroine spent a day geocaching--again, awesome. As an added bonus, they took a group of students with them, as McCall apparently does every time he's at a site near a geocache--seriously, how fabulous is this hero?




Overall, I thought Keats McCall was definitely the stronger character of the two. He was instantly likable, and continued to behave in a consistent manner throughout the book. Although I'm still not a hundred percent sure of what his job exactly entails, it is clear that he enjoys his work and is a strong and loyal person. I loved his interactions with the other characters--his friends and coworkers Connor and Clay especially--and, of course, his growing protectiveness for Lucy really made the book.




I found Lucy, on the other hand, to be a less consistent and sympathetic character. She spent a lot of time giving Keats mixed messages, and though she did have a difficult history, it didn't seem to warrant her attitude towards relationships in general and him in particular. I felt that he'd proven himself worthy of trust far before she came even close to giving him any, and it was frustrating.




In a nutshell: I really enjoyed the hero, and perhaps with more page time, I could have come to appreciate Lucy's character more. I was intrigued enough to pick up a copy of the first book in the series, Worth the Risk, and am definitely interested in seeing what Ms. Bielman has in store for us next, even though this one didn't quite work for me.




I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

posted by beckymmoe on September 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    I really enjoyed Robin's latest book. Read all of them and like

    I really enjoyed Robin's latest book. Read all of them and like each one better each time. Risky Surrender I found to be a quick read-thoroughly absorbing. Love the characters, their attraction to each other and love reading how the action will play out. Can't wait for the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2013

    Straight up I loved this book. I'm a big fan of Robin Bielman an

    Straight up I loved this book. I'm a big fan of Robin Bielman and loved Worth the Risk. I was equally anticipating Risky Surrender
    and Ms Bielman again delivers.

    The tension sizzles between Keats McCall and Lucy Davenport. The setting is gorgeous! The dialogue is snappy,
    the characters are people I really enjoyed meeting. McCall is one hot tamale! I particularly loved the tree-top scene which
    is now on my bucket list to do. I really liked Lucy. She was vulnerable but tough. Watching McCall peel away her layers was
     a joy to read. The chemistry between the characters flamed up the pages. I so enjoyed meeting up with Dean and Sam from
    Worth the Risk.
    If you want a fast, fun, flirty read then this book is for you.

    It is certainly on my too-read again list

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Keats intrigued me from the first book Worth the Risk.  I was so

    Keats intrigued me from the first book Worth the Risk.  I was so looking forward to his story.  Robin Bielman did not disappoint.  Keats and Lucy were amazing together. They had amazing chemistry.  She was so fierce and independent.  I loved her.  She was so strong but felt so loved by Keats.  He is an amazing strong male.  I am glad I read this book.  I enjoyed it even more than the first one.  Great couple with a great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    Risky Surrender is the second book in the Take a Risk series. I

    Risky Surrender is the second book in the Take a Risk series. I was so happy the Keats McCall got his own story. He was introduced in Worth the Risk and is definitely a charmer. Now he's met his match. Lucy Davenport is an archeologist who searches for important artifacts. He has what she wants. These two have a fiery attraction that leads to much more. However, Lucy has a mission. Can Keats convince her to believe in him? Lucy and Keats are amazing characters. They are caring and passionate about what they do. This book is smartly written and is impossible to put down. I love the romance and humor between these two lovers. They share a love of the past. I enjoy that Robin used historical preservation as the backdrop for this book. It adds relevance to her story. The secondary characters are delightful and full of promise. I hope that Clay gets his own book very soon. I also enjoyed the cameo by Dean and Sam (Samantha). I didn't want to put this book down until I knew that Keats and Lucy had the HEA. This story will make you smile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2014

    Oh McCall...he is a treasure. This is the fifth book I have rea

    Oh McCall...he is a treasure.

    This is the fifth book I have read by Robin Bielman and the fifth I have given 5 stars. She never fails to bring a man to fall head-over-heels in love with and a lady you would want as your best friend. Keats McCall and Lucy Davenport are exactly this.

    Whilst it can be read as a standalone, I had read Worth the Risk previously and McCall did feature. He hugely surprised me and despite his wealthy playboy reputation, he is a grounded, kind, patient man with a relentless determination. And he is sexy. Oh so sexy. Archaeologist Lucy is a feisty independent lady, who has loved and lost. Her pain is her driving force and whilst not exactly all above board her heart is in the right place. McCall's historic site has something she needs but therein lies the problem. McCall.

    Their chemistry was fabulous and their growing feelings created friendship, romance, wit, intimacy and passion. The first book made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside and this did exactly the same; I flicked the final page completely satisfied and with a huge happy sigh.

    This lady has a gift of creating the perfect lose-yourself romance with that air of realism that I love and Risky Surrender is a treasure I highly recommend.

    I received a copy of this courtesy of Entangled Publishing for an honest and unbiased opinion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    A fascinating setting and a well-executed story! Highly recommen

    A fascinating setting and a well-executed story! Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Lucy Davenport is an archaeologist who hunts for historical trea

    Lucy Davenport is an archaeologist who hunts for historical treasures.  After spending her last few years repaying a debt, she is finally free, just after one more hunt.  The only thing standing in her way is Keats McCall, President of the World Heritage Fund and sex incarnate. They both fight (and do not so good a job) the growing attraction between them.  With her determination on finishing what she has set out to do, and him on protecting his latest project site, sparks are sure to fly.

    This book instantly brought back childhood dreams of being an archaeologist (I may have watched Indiana Jones one too many times.)  The chemistry between the main characters is so well done, nothing feels forced. Both characters are well flushed out.  Lucy is independent and dedicated, while at the same time unsure of her future and trying to move on from her past. McCall is used to being seen as a dollar sign to the opposite sex, until Lucy, and that excites and unnerves him.

     The flirty banter and sexual tension between Lucy and McCall seemed to wrap me up as a reader. The love scenes are scorching hot and the story its self was very interesting. This is a book that I found nearly impossible to put down, and I believe you will to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    I¿m not going to summarize the story for you. The blurb can do t

    I’m not going to summarize the story for you. The blurb can do that far better than I ever could. What I can do better than any blurb is tell you how much you’re going to LOVE this author! Robin Bielman delivers every single time. She writes these fully-drawn, multi-dimensional heroines a reader can really relate to, (and aspire to). Lucy is no exception. And her heroes...holy smokes! Her guys are amazing, sharp, witty, swoooon-inducing! Keats is the best one yet, (and I can’t wait for more).
    The plot engages from the jump. She packs so much action and emotion into her stories, there’s literally no good stopping point. Thankfully, because it’s a novella, you can read it in one sitting…and prepare…’cause you will!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    I received an ARC from author for an honest opinion. LUCY DAVEN

    I received an ARC from author for an honest opinion.

    LUCY DAVENPORT FEMALE INDIANA JONES WITHOUT THE WHIP OR HAT BUT STILL PRETTY AMAZING BOOK


    Robin Bielman knows how to write a romance novel which is light hearted as well as deep. I love the by play between the H/h. Keats and Lucy had great chemistry. It's a fun read to enjoy on a lazy day Saturday. I hope there is a story for CLAY in the future because I love me some Navy Seal.

    It broke my heart that Lucy had to go through all the tragedy in her life but I am happy she found KEATS McCall(love the name). so if you are looking something light hearted and a great romance novel with no cliff hangers and TSTL hero or heroin movements. DO NOT MISS RISKY SURREN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1