Customer Reviews for

The Rite: The Making of a Modern Exorcist

Average Rating 4
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Rite

This book really opens your eyes to the "secret" of the ritual of exorcism in the Catholic Church.It is words for thought.To actually follow a Priest from becoming chosen by his Bishop to become an exorcist,through his training,to his "calling" is life-altering.I highly...
This book really opens your eyes to the "secret" of the ritual of exorcism in the Catholic Church.It is words for thought.To actually follow a Priest from becoming chosen by his Bishop to become an exorcist,through his training,to his "calling" is life-altering.I highly recommend this book for all .

posted by 1558182 on July 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Probably not what you are expecting...

If you are expecting this book to be anything like a Hollywood movie; you're gonna be sadly mistaken.

This is a very "dry read" but worth the time. If you can manage to get through the first 60 - 75 pages consisting of approx. 95% factual research and 5% story; you w...
If you are expecting this book to be anything like a Hollywood movie; you're gonna be sadly mistaken.

This is a very "dry read" but worth the time. If you can manage to get through the first 60 - 75 pages consisting of approx. 95% factual research and 5% story; you will be presently surprised to see the story begin to unfold.

This book isn't so much a story (as in a fictional thriller) as it is a research-based telling of experiences. The author's attempt at educating people (primarily Americans) about exorcism is successful. I learned far more about excorsim than I had ever imagined possible.

I expected a "thriller" when I first picked up this book so at first, I was disappointed but once I decided to stick with it and continue on (the reading can be very arduous at times) I was pleased to discover that the book was, in fact, taking me on a journey.

This is a good book, if you can be patient and are looking to learn more about exorcism. If you are looking for a "thriller", you'd probably be best off looking somewhere else.

posted by 5084211 on January 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    The Rite

    This book really opens your eyes to the "secret" of the ritual of exorcism in the Catholic Church.It is words for thought.To actually follow a Priest from becoming chosen by his Bishop to become an exorcist,through his training,to his "calling" is life-altering.I highly recommend this book for all .

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    No Sensationalism

    I found the book very good and more documentary like than trying to tell a made up story and I think that adds to the reality of the demonic side that exists. This is written with the view of Catholic beliefs and so I did not accept a few of the dogma of the church. But that did not sway the fact that the book was very fair and honestly written. Father Thomas now lives in Chicago. The fact that there is a constant war of good and evil this book does a great job revealing true events of this truth.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    Well researched and written

    I loved this book! The author takes a balanced look at the subject matter, but is honest about its effect on him (see author's note at end of book). Great place to start if you have an interest in exorcism. Bibliography gives many great places to go from here. Note: This is the book that the upcoming film of the same name is based on.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Enjoyed The Rite, VERY much!

    After hearing the author, Matt Baglio in a radio interview I thought the book sounded interesting and decided to buy it. The book is very interesting and the thing I liked about it is that it is written from a journalists eye. Not sensational rather straight forward. That is exactly what I wanted given the subject at hand. I felt like I was sitting in the room with the priests as they were performing the exorcisms!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Before I purchased this book I read a number of the customer rev

    Before I purchased this book I read a number of the customer reviews. While many were positive, many were not as much so. Although still intrigued enough to buy it my expectations were therefore a bit subdued. I think ones reaction to the book depends greatly on where you are coming from as you approach the book. I am an ordained Lutheran pastor with 25 years in the ministry. Having ministered to people in all walks of life and having dealt with evil, the stories in this book were very believable and helpful as I reflected on my own experiences. The mix of history and technical background with actual narrative suited me quite well. I came to the book with a real desire to know more about the Rite of Exorcism as well as the experiences of those who have had to deal with the demonic. I found myself 'highlighting' several sentences as I read, knowing I would want to find this information later. The book was very well balanced and easy to read. It was neither "dry" and overly technical, nor did it simply skim the surface with a string of stories. It also was dramatic without falling into the sensational. I did not find the book at all difficult to work through, and looked forward to each time I sat down to read it. I would highly recommend the book, but not to those who are skeptical about the faith and the ministry of the church, nor to those having only a passing interest in things theological or spiritual.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Interesting...and disturbing.

    This book was informative, touching and unsettling. It's uncomfortable to be aware of the vast amounts of evil that exist.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Highly Recommended - A Real Page Turner!!!

    The Rite - The Making of A Modern EXORCIST by Matt Baglio is a treasure! This compelling story answers numerous questions about good vs. evil in modern times. If you saw the film; you'll really enjoy the book. Fr. Gary Thomas allows the reader to delve into an almost archaic ritual, which is very present in modern times. This book is not for the squeamish, but rather those who which to know the truth. The book is outstanding!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book and as a non-practicing catholic is a

    I really enjoyed this book and as a non-practicing catholic is always nice to have found a book and a movie that pick my interest in all things religious. However I was pleasantly surprised at the great lengths The Church goes to eliminate many potential exorcist candidates, by asking them to take a full psychiatric evaluation to determent they aren`t suffering from any form of Mental Illnesses such as Schizophrenia(hallucinations, hearing voices, paranoid delusions), Somatization Disorder( illness with no identifiable physical cause), Bipolar Disorder, Obsessive Compulsive Disorder-OCD, and Dissociative Identity Disorder-DID which used to be called multiple personality disorder-MPD. Kudos for that!.




    The symptoms for demonic possession include access to hidden knowledge(not to be confuse with knowing the future), also to know foreign languages, drastic changes in vocal intonation and facial structure, the sudden appearance of injuries (scratches, bite marks) or lesions, and superhuman strength. Unlike in channeling, the subject has no control over the possessing entity and so it will persist until forced, to leave the victim, usually through a form of exorcism.
    Adding on top of that, there are 4 major areas in no particular order before a person is possess, according to the author are as follow; Infestation(hunted houses, voices, etc similar to Schizophrenia mixed with telekinesis-ability to move objects with the mind), Oppression(physical attacks, marks, scratches, etc similar with Somatization disorder), Obsession(excessive temptation similar to OCD ) and Possession(final act where the person believes is possess by an outside entity).




    All this being said, I still can`t differentiate mental illness symptoms apart from a real possession, also I take notes that the Clergy claims their exorcist methods Do work! yet it can take years even decades to overcome it, adding to that the clergy asked other religions or Christian sects not to use the 100% effective catholic method!!!What? Why not?, ...I thought we are belong to the same almighty-G-O-D, or in the case of christian sects we all belong to the same Lord Jesus Christ. That ill behavior by the clergy let me to the disturbing realization...The Devil is good business for the church.




    Base on the fact the exorcism happens across all cultures, races and religions-for centuries even prior Judaism and Christianity even existed- no one has ownership over it, and sharing valuable information to heal a human being from his illness/demons is worthy, and is the noble procedure to do, hopefully this book will aid to do just that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    Recommend for study

    Excellent history of the rite of exorcism. The movie was good but the book gives all the background that let up to the movie. Read the book to understand the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    into Demons and exorcism this is your book!

    love this book well anything to do with demons lol movies was great too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3