Customer Reviews for

The Rivalry: Mystery at the Army-Navy Game

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This book rocks!

I love this book and all of John Feinstein's children's books. He is a great author. This great book is about a mystery at the Army-Navy game.

posted by Anonymous on September 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Kids Review - Great Sports Story For Young and Old

I don't read a lot of sports books; but, this one was recommended by a friend and I picked it up at the Mall. Stevie and Susan Carol are reporting on the Army-Navy game. They are teenage sideline reporters and have a knack for uncovering all sorts of pretty cool stories...
I don't read a lot of sports books; but, this one was recommended by a friend and I picked it up at the Mall. Stevie and Susan Carol are reporting on the Army-Navy game. They are teenage sideline reporters and have a knack for uncovering all sorts of pretty cool stories about the game and the players. The Army-Navy Game is a big deal for both teams. Some really strange events occur because the President will be at the game. These reporters follow the teams and the players for a couple of weeks finding out all sorts of neat info. Security is going to be a big deal because there have been threats against the President. If you are looking for a good book about sports and some of the behind the game nitty gritty, you will love this book. There is mystery and suspense in the story. Stevie and Susan will take you into a world where even a football game is not what it appears to be---and the winners and losers are not always on the field. Tex

posted by TexRogers on November 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Kids Review - Great Sports Story For Young and Old

    I don't read a lot of sports books; but, this one was recommended by a friend and I picked it up at the Mall. Stevie and Susan Carol are reporting on the Army-Navy game. They are teenage sideline reporters and have a knack for uncovering all sorts of pretty cool stories about the game and the players. The Army-Navy Game is a big deal for both teams. Some really strange events occur because the President will be at the game. These reporters follow the teams and the players for a couple of weeks finding out all sorts of neat info. Security is going to be a big deal because there have been threats against the President. If you are looking for a good book about sports and some of the behind the game nitty gritty, you will love this book. There is mystery and suspense in the story. Stevie and Susan will take you into a world where even a football game is not what it appears to be---and the winners and losers are not always on the field. Tex

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    This book rocks!

    I love this book and all of John Feinstein's children's books. He is a great author. This great book is about a mystery at the Army-Navy game.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    M

    I loved this i think feistein is amazing and i absoulty luv his endins this guy is wicked awesome and his books r supa and yes i do liv in boston

    <3 u feistein and same 2 boston

    #bostonstrong rong city 2 mess with and i think this my new fav book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Just OK

    I'm a big fan of Navy football (and Mr. Feinstein) and a regular at Army/Navy games, so I thought this would be an interesting read. While I would recommend this book for teenagers who might want to know more about the behind the scenes world of service academy football with a little mystery thrown in, I was disappointed in this book. I found the whole story of 14 year olds as serious journalists very unbelievable, and the Scooby Doo mystery solving was hokey. Still, I enjoyed seeing familiar names like Coach Ken, Ricky Dobbs and Scott S mentioned, but I'm not sure the casual fan would be as entertained. It's a quick read, though, and I think a lot of teens and young adults would learn what it takes to be a football player at an Academy as compared to the big time programs, as well as the preparation and homework that needs to be done by the Secret Service when the President attends the game.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Great book read it

    I havent finished it im just starting and so far its amazing. I cant wait to read whats gonna happen during the game. See ya. Read it.:-) :-) :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Great book

    This is a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    The best book by this author

    This book is amazing! (Actually, im only through 14% of it) but so far it is good. () ()
    >(-.-)<
    -( o o)- (bunny rabbit sitting down)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Good Book

    The book was well written and is by one of my favorite authors!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Lykki

    No mystery book what so ever. Only a book that shows how paranoid some people are of Southerners. And it shows how ignorant one New Yorker by the name of Fernstein is. One way he's ignorant is 1) the characters being nervous of Obama coming to a game with Southerners in some of the teams 2) Susan Carole's accent. We South Carolinians and North Carolinians don't say loooove. 3) How dare you, the author acuse a SC boy of the crime!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Oh my god

    Poorly written im ashamed of you motherfu*ker :'(

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    I love u

    I love u u love me were a happy gay famiky

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Great book!

    This is a great book although the flashbacks can be very confusing at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Wsd

    F

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Awesome

    Buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Cool

    I loved this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    Tatiana Dix , Ms.Tucker English 9

    The book I read for my independent novel was “The Rivalry” By: John Feinstein , It interest me in many ways , but I can say, when I started to read it I didn’t think it was going to be as much of a good book as it was. This book is mainly about a camp of two groups of men from all over the country of the United States, which are the Army League and the Navy League. They all came to this camp to be on a break from all their hard work but , they still had some commanders that were very strict because of how long they been involved with this camp such as , restrictions , discipline , and very little of an amount of times you can do things. This camp was mainly built for these men to see how everything has turned into a big fight because of the way they think and because of how this world is today. Football is what they do to see all these things that they came for, they play between the Navy and Army league and whoever wins this rivalry, wins respect for their selves.
    After the 2010 game The Army-Navy Game has been played one-hundred and eleven times, Navy leads the series with fifty-five wins and Army forty-nine wins and with seven games that were tied at the end. Navy is now dominating the series with their last nine wins. Even presidents were once involved in these games such as Theodore Roosevelt, Woodrow Wilson, Calvin Coolridge Dwight D. Eisenhower , John F. Kennedy , Bill Clinton , and George W. Bush. Many Families came out to support their husbands, father, etc. to show them what they are mainly playing this game for. After every year these men are involved with this game they all became one and not two groups who were known to go against each other as if they were enemies. And that is the main points I received from reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Good

    Not as great as i thought it would be. But it was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Great

    Best book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Im reading right now its great as can be

    Gggggggrrrrrrrreeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaattttttttttt book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good!

    This book incorporates many of the traditions that go on before and during the annual Army Navy game. It keeps you interested by switching view points and the time. I would recommend this book for any sports fan or a kid just looking for a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4