Customer Reviews for

Riven

Average Rating 4
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

dark complex contemporary fiction tale

Pastor Thomas Carey was called at an early age to spread the Word and over the course of several years he became a pastor at different places around the United States. His last calling ended in a disaster because a layman wanted to be the power behind the ministry som...
Pastor Thomas Carey was called at an early age to spread the Word and over the course of several years he became a pastor at different places around the United States. His last calling ended in a disaster because a layman wanted to be the power behind the ministry something Thomas could not accept. He takes the position as chaplain at the SuperMax state penitentiary at Adamsville. Brody Wayne Darby has spent his whole life committing one crime after another starting when he stole at the Laundromat where he worked. As he grew older, he committed increasingly more serious crimes and did time. When he was released, he vowed to go straight until a woman hurt him and he killed her. He pleaded guilty and was sent to Adamsville. --- In the years he ministered at the prison, Thomas met no sincere inmate. He feels empty until he meets Brody both come away from their encounters feeling as if God is working through them. --- Jerry B. Jenkins is one of the best Christian authors writing today. His latest work is a dark complex contemporary fiction tale driven by two seemingly opposite characters their polar differences make each even more believable and the story line plausible. RIVEN is a memorable tale starring a man who feels he is a failure and another who only has death waiting for him in three years time. They met and both feel the Lord is working through them giving each what they need. This book will move the audience in so many ways and make them feel so many things. This is a masterpiece.

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Maybe the slowest moving book ever written

I wanted to like Riven like all the 5-star fans. I really did especially since I'm a huge Left Behind fan. But this book was a struggle to finish. And once I did I realized the boring beginning could have been cut by 300 pages and no one would have noticed. The main cha...
I wanted to like Riven like all the 5-star fans. I really did especially since I'm a huge Left Behind fan. But this book was a struggle to finish. And once I did I realized the boring beginning could have been cut by 300 pages and no one would have noticed. The main character is a pathetic loser named Brady. He's a generic greaser straight out of Grease. There was nothing fresh or original about him. This book is weak and the ending which I certainly wouldn't spoil for those patient enough to get there is just plain odd.

posted by Anonymous on August 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZING!!!

    This is one of the best books that I have ever read! I was not able to put it down. Jerry did a fantastic job of drawing you into the story like you were right there with the characters. Going back and forth between different story lines and then bringing them togehter in the end was wonderful. If you ever doubted that someone who has lived a life less than perfect would ever be able change their life around this book is a must read! It gives one hope that nothing is impossible with God!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    dark complex contemporary fiction tale

    Pastor Thomas Carey was called at an early age to spread the Word and over the course of several years he became a pastor at different places around the United States. His last calling ended in a disaster because a layman wanted to be the power behind the ministry something Thomas could not accept. He takes the position as chaplain at the SuperMax state penitentiary at Adamsville. Brody Wayne Darby has spent his whole life committing one crime after another starting when he stole at the Laundromat where he worked. As he grew older, he committed increasingly more serious crimes and did time. When he was released, he vowed to go straight until a woman hurt him and he killed her. He pleaded guilty and was sent to Adamsville. --- In the years he ministered at the prison, Thomas met no sincere inmate. He feels empty until he meets Brody both come away from their encounters feeling as if God is working through them. --- Jerry B. Jenkins is one of the best Christian authors writing today. His latest work is a dark complex contemporary fiction tale driven by two seemingly opposite characters their polar differences make each even more believable and the story line plausible. RIVEN is a memorable tale starring a man who feels he is a failure and another who only has death waiting for him in three years time. They met and both feel the Lord is working through them giving each what they need. This book will move the audience in so many ways and make them feel so many things. This is a masterpiece.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    To God be the Glory!!!

    This has been one of the most thought provoking books I have eead in a long time. I kept expecting God to deliver and He did in a most mazing way. My heart once agin breaks as I imgine my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ suffering this cruel death on the cross for me. I moved to tears as I finished the book. Follow the Romans rod to salvation if you have never givn your heart to Jesus know that thw ttime is short and He will be coming back fo those of us who call Him Lord and Savior!Be ready.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2008

    Maybe the slowest moving book ever written

    I wanted to like Riven like all the 5-star fans. I really did especially since I'm a huge Left Behind fan. But this book was a struggle to finish. And once I did I realized the boring beginning could have been cut by 300 pages and no one would have noticed. The main character is a pathetic loser named Brady. He's a generic greaser straight out of Grease. There was nothing fresh or original about him. This book is weak and the ending which I certainly wouldn't spoil for those patient enough to get there is just plain odd.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Life changer!!

    This book really changed my perspective! I cried both times I read it, and I do NOT cry in books.... Everyone should read this!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    I love this book the last few chapters are amazing. I stopped re

    I love this book the last few chapters are amazing. I stopped reading it for a while then went back and finished the book . I'm so glad I did its really good I cried at the end with joy .This book is really inspirational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Thought provoking

    I enjoyed "Riven" and recommend it. Although Brady is predictable through most of the book the twist at the end will keep you reading past bed time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Absolutely outstanding!!! I loved this book. I could not put i

    Absolutely outstanding!!! I loved this book. I could not put it down and the characters were so well written that I felt like I knew them. The best book I have read in a long time and I read alot!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Highly recommended.

    Inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have read dozens of Jerry Jenkins books and Riven is the most

    I have read dozens of Jerry Jenkins books and Riven is the most compelling one yet. If words have power, Riven is explosive! As you're pulled through this gripping story, be prepared to experience deeply felt emotions. If you only read one novel this year, read Riven! I promise you will be changed forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Jerry B. Jenkins Fans

    Riven a MUST READ! For those of you who like the Left Behind series. Riven is defintely a must to add to yiur list. It is no where similar to the Left Behind books but it has a great christian story line that you will not be disappointed. It's a very long book but I couldn't put it down. I read it in 5 days. I hope he continues to write more novels such as this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Must read

    Two men one young whose mother never cared and whose younger brother died. The other a pastor whose wife is ill and his daughter turned her back on the church. Both are in prison, one on death row, one pastoring those to die. Amends and forgivness are made by both, salvation found. The young man decides to die as his savior had and in doing so brings the truth of jesus to his fellow inmates while restoring and reaffirming the pastors faith. It is a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Wow

    !

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Awesome Book

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. If you don't feel anything at the end of this book you are spiritually dead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Amazing book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Wow!

    I cried seeing how went from bad to worse. How he would try to turn his life around but something would always happen. In the end though painful, rewarding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "Riven" is Riveting

    The opening paragraph began with an inmate's death walk to his execution. From that moment on, I couldn't put the book down. Maybe it's because of my day job (appellant work for death row inmates). The chapters of Brady Wayne Darby's progression from neglected teen to execution read like one of our case files, albeit better written. From start to finish, I pitied Brady. He grows up without a father. He has to protect his younger brother from their drunken and abusive mother. The squallid conditions in a trailer park don't help. The one piece of this story that continues to haunt me is that Brady never knew parental love. Only an aunt and uncle, with limited access to Brady and his brother, express concern for the boys.

    Reverend Thomas Carey and his wife Grace have their own issues. They showered their daughter with love, but she turns away from her faith while at college. Her lifestyle choice costs her father his pastoral position at a rural church. His next job offer comes from a prison that needs a new chaplain. Watching his first execution tests Rev. Carey's own faith. Further burdens of his wife's terminal illness and his daughter's separation from her husband (yeah, she finally married the guy) cripples his passion for the Lord.

    Brady Wayne Darby unwittingly brings change to "The Row." His hunger for God's love and thirst for the living water lift Thomas Carey out of his funk. An interesting twist: a condemned inmate restores a pastor's zeal for his calling.

    Oh, you may think I just told you how it ends, but wait...there's more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Loved this book

    A great story about a man who never enjoyed "success" by the world's standards but got the opportunity to change the life of many, just by being consistent. Loved the interweaving of old hymns in parts of the story. Was well written and enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    Great read

    Held my interest, will definately read more of his books. A great story of life gone bad and then redemption.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    Captivating!

    The story got better with each chapter. About half way through, it became nearly impossible to put down. Even if I only had a minute to read, I found myself reaching for it and inevitably reading even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5