Customer Reviews for

Riven

Average Rating 4
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

dark complex contemporary fiction tale

Pastor Thomas Carey was called at an early age to spread the Word and over the course of several years he became a pastor at different places around the United States. His last calling ended in a disaster because a layman wanted to be the power behind the ministry som...
Pastor Thomas Carey was called at an early age to spread the Word and over the course of several years he became a pastor at different places around the United States. His last calling ended in a disaster because a layman wanted to be the power behind the ministry something Thomas could not accept. He takes the position as chaplain at the SuperMax state penitentiary at Adamsville. Brody Wayne Darby has spent his whole life committing one crime after another starting when he stole at the Laundromat where he worked. As he grew older, he committed increasingly more serious crimes and did time. When he was released, he vowed to go straight until a woman hurt him and he killed her. He pleaded guilty and was sent to Adamsville. --- In the years he ministered at the prison, Thomas met no sincere inmate. He feels empty until he meets Brody both come away from their encounters feeling as if God is working through them. --- Jerry B. Jenkins is one of the best Christian authors writing today. His latest work is a dark complex contemporary fiction tale driven by two seemingly opposite characters their polar differences make each even more believable and the story line plausible. RIVEN is a memorable tale starring a man who feels he is a failure and another who only has death waiting for him in three years time. They met and both feel the Lord is working through them giving each what they need. This book will move the audience in so many ways and make them feel so many things. This is a masterpiece.

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Maybe the slowest moving book ever written

I wanted to like Riven like all the 5-star fans. I really did especially since I'm a huge Left Behind fan. But this book was a struggle to finish. And once I did I realized the boring beginning could have been cut by 300 pages and no one would have noticed. The main cha...
I wanted to like Riven like all the 5-star fans. I really did especially since I'm a huge Left Behind fan. But this book was a struggle to finish. And once I did I realized the boring beginning could have been cut by 300 pages and no one would have noticed. The main character is a pathetic loser named Brady. He's a generic greaser straight out of Grease. There was nothing fresh or original about him. This book is weak and the ending which I certainly wouldn't spoil for those patient enough to get there is just plain odd.

posted by Anonymous on August 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    I am listening again

    I have been on and off with the Lord for years. This book got me to really think about my life and what I,m doing with it, or I should say what I,m not doing. I think Jerry has captured a life long problem and gives the life long solution.... Great job!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2008

    Richly Compelling and Rewarding Reading

    This is a masterfully written novel. The charecters are a stirring blend of contradiction and complexity. I found myself relating to each of the personalities and wanting to reach out and help them make the right decisions in their lives. This is a fun, must read book by a uniquely perceptive best selling author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    Destined to be a classic that you won't want to put down.

    You won't want to stop reading this book, and you'll remember the story for years to come. I know that you'll enjoy every page as the story takes you away, and I'm sure that you'll be filled with emotion as you see the heart wrenching results of bad decisions, real life questions, and ultimate... 'you better find out for yourselves'. This is a great book, and I'm sure that you'll want to tell your friends about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    The Big Novel You Don't Want to End

    Jerry Jenkins has done it again--packing in a lot of straight Scripture without seeming to preach. It's another one of those books you can't seem to put down. I wept through the last five chapters, even while telling myself 'it's just a novel.' The characters grabbed me and made me want to jump into their stories. Very worthwhile. Compelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    CHRISTUS┬┐Heri, Hodie, Semper

    Two seeming dead-end lives--played out from a single-wide trailer park and trying to make a difference in a maximum security state penitentiary. 'Welcome to hell, Thomas,' Chaplain Russ said. A hell on earth vividly portrayed in death row. This story of Jenkins that he 'always wanted to write,' is a novel with potential classical staying power. There are allusions at times to themes and styles of authors such as Fyodor Dostoevsky (Crime and Punishment) or John Steinbeck (Tortilla Flat and Cannery Row). The complex characters are thoroughly diced, dissected and developed--a bad, bad man who mostly liked `movies that aren't afraid to be quiet' and a frustrated, depressed man of God who had once had a deep burden for the men's souls under his care. But now 'he could talk to one man at a time, and then only at the man's request. And to Thomas's knowledge, not one con had come to faith under his influence.' This is a story about the poverty of bad choices and the spiritual power of dogged perseverance. But mostly it's about the audacity, the mystery of outrageous grace, as portrayed in the old hymn, 'Rock of Ages,' from which the title's taken.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    Jerry B. Jenkins has done it again!

    Mr. Jerry B. Jenkins has done it again. This book was hard to put down. Seeing the main character continually making wrong choices and ruining his life, made me want to cry. I will remember this book forever, it was that good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    Riveting!

    I could not put this down! I like the fast paced, easy readability of Jenkins writing. His characters are interesting and it's obvious his research is thorough. It is sad but true the challenges Thomas has faced over his years of ministry, not unlike several pastors I have known. This book challenged me. I'm still digesting all the things I need to think about that it stirred up within me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2008

    Compelling

    I found myself wanting to personally talk with the characters. As I followed Darby's struggle I wanted to shake some sense into him. My heart ached for the Reverend and admired his faithfulness at the same time. This story is so real. The subplots are carefuly crafted to draw me into an emotional response to the extended family of the two main characters. First book in years that has kept me up late reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2008

    Riven Surprises

    Riven should be required reading for all juniors and seniors in High School. It involves a young man's life mistakes and their surprising impact on him and others. However, since it promotes Christian principles, it unfortunately limits required reading to students in Christian schools. Secular schools might make it optional.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    Riven Provides Hope

    Riven is a masterful work focusing on the human condition and redemption. Jenkins contrasts one who has tried to do right throughout his life and 'failed' with another who has done everything wrong and refuses to take responsibility for his actions. Isn't that a current mindset? Surely, I am not responsible for what I have done? As the two main characters collide, a chain reaction ignites and races to fulfillment, resulting in a brilliant display of the greatest price ever paid, the ultimate responsibility. Both Christian and secular readers will find more than enough to ponder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    Moving! Factionally written fiction. Emotionally charged. Tears not optional.

    The characters and the story draw the reader inside grabbing full attention. In the end I wanted to be Brady Wayne Darby the convicted felon. Only time in recent memory I found myself wanting to be like the antagonist in a story. Well done Mr. Jenkins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    Great Christian Fiction

    Jenkins has done a superb job with his latest Christian novel. The storyline revolves around the believable lives of two modern-day men: Reverend Thomas Carey and Brady Wayne Darby. After being introduced to these diametrically different characters, I found myself intrigued to see how their lives would intertwine. I especially enjoyed how the characters fixed themselves in my brain all through the day, even when I wasn't reading about them. It was as if they became my own friends. And, being 17 years old, I really appreciated the book's ability to keep me turning its pages! Finally, a fictional Christian book that finds a way to be interesting without the expected, overrated, fluffy romance. Trust me, when you read this book, the story of the characters and their lives will keep you coming back for more. And when you've exhausted the book's pages, the memory of your new friends will stick with you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3