Customer Reviews for

The River (Brian's Saga Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 350 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(226)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

the 1st book was better

To read this book you MUST read Hatchet!
Hatchet the return, the second book in Brian's saga, will toss and turn you in your sleep and it will make you beg to read more.
Brian has to go back to the forest to survive but this time he goes with a man from the governmen...
To read this book you MUST read Hatchet!
Hatchet the return, the second book in Brian's saga, will toss and turn you in your sleep and it will make you beg to read more.
Brian has to go back to the forest to survive but this time he goes with a man from the government, who gets struck by lightning and falls into a coma. Brian has to take the man to a trading post 100 miles away. Will they get back alive?

posted by 19hh on November 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

OK but not great

I thought this book was ok but it trailed off on parts of the story. The book was good for little kids but for anyone with half a wit, over 10 it was useless. The back of the book told too much information. If you read the back of the book you knew the whole story befor...
I thought this book was ok but it trailed off on parts of the story. The book was good for little kids but for anyone with half a wit, over 10 it was useless. The back of the book told too much information. If you read the back of the book you knew the whole story before you even opened it.

posted by Anonymous on October 25, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 226 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    Great Book

    Introduction: The River, the second part of the Brian series by Gary Paulsen, author of the award-winning novel Hatchet, is an outstanding book. To read this book you must read Hatchet! This book will make you toss and turn in your sleep and it will make you beg to read more. In this part of the Brian series, Brian returns to the wilderness not far from the lake he crashed in before. The reason for him going back into the wilderness is a man from a governmental agency that specializes in survival.

    Description and summary of main points: After they take off from the airport to go into the wilderness, he recognizes all the gear they have in the back of the plane. When they land, Brian refuses to take the gear because someone in the predicament that he was in wouldn’t have all the gear they had. The only equipment he took was the radio, because his mother wanted them to be able to stay in contact. When they are in their shelter, their radio gets struck by lightning and so does Derek. After being struck by lightning he goes into a coma. Brian has to care for and make sure nothing happens to Derek. Brian builds a raft out of trees beavers have cut down. After building the raft, he makes a rough wood paddle. When they are traveling down the river there are many problems. The problems included sleep, staying on track, his hands being raw from the rough wood, worry of Derek falling off of the raft, the threat of waterfalls, and shallow places. Near the end of the book, there are many surprises in store.

    Evaluation: The reason I enjoy this book is because I love adventurous stories and the Gary Paulsen books. This book is one of his best books. If you like the outdoors then you will love this book. This book is also very well written. If you have ever read Hatchet then you will realize that it was a mistake to take the offer to go back into the wilderness.

    Conclusion: In conclusion The River by Gary Paulsen is a great book. It tells the adventurous spirit of Brian Robeson and Derek. It tells the spirit of a teenager that can survive with just a knife and a radio. The courageousness of Brian Robeson shows throughout the book.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Anonymous

    This book is one of the best books I have ever read! It is very inspiring and amazing.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing series

    this book is amazing. hard to put down, Can't wait to read the next.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Great!

    I loved this book! I have read Hatchet too which is why I read this. I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN UNTILL I FINISHED IT!!!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    Highly recommend...A must read book for all ages..!!!!

    I've read all of the books by Gary Paulsen with the story of Brian and "The River" is my favorite. He is a wonderful author. "The River" is a very adventurous and detailed book. It made me feel as if I was in the wilderness with the characters trying to survive. You won't be disappointed in this book. Like all the other books in this series it is very hard to put down. It makes you think of what you would do if you were Brian. Not only did it entertain me but also informed me. I learned a lot about survival in the wilderness.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Very good book

    The book was very good and some very nice cliffhangers. Another book that is good by Gary Paulsen!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    It is awesome

    I love this book.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Brian is back

    Hatchet: The Return is about a boy called Brian Robeson. Just two years ago he had survived for forty-five days alone in the Canadian woods with only a hatchet. Now some men came to his house asking him to do it again Brian and his mom think it¿s crazy. But Brian still goes for it because he thinks everything is under control.

    I think the best part was when Brian was reflecting on how the time in the woods changed him because then you can see how he changed in detail.

    Hatchet: The Return is a perfect book for lovers of great adventures full of suspense and danger but it is even better for lovers of the first book in the series Hatchet.

    You will love Hatchet: The Return.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2008

    a reviewer

    The River was a great book. I left me excited and unwilling to put the book down. One of these parts is near the middle when Derek gets put into a coma. This part was addicting and I couldn¿t put the book down. I think it was also hard to stop reading because I always wanted to find out what Brian was going to do next. I think The River was a great book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    D Hatchet sequel

    This book was great. I think that every child would love this book

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Mac

    Bravo Gary Paulsen bravo

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    A awesome book but only 95 pages

    This is a great book but short

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    AWESOME

    A super good read

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Aflac

    The river is my favorite one. it is a must read book. i could not put it down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    The river

    This was a good book but i still think hatchet was good

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Pretty awesome!!!!

    This book i amazing but hatchet was still the best

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    One thing

    Derek was a little wierd but still a awesome book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    This second installment is just as exciting as the first book. I LOVE this series thus far. The amount of drama and action leaves the readers wanting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Lovin It

    Very interesting topic. Also, good detail.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    WOW...

    I just finished reading the first book, and it was amazing!!! It was a lot for me to already take in. But a whole SAGA?! ....................
    I cant believe it. Gary Paulsen has done it again. - Alex Smith

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 226 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12