Customer Reviews for

River God: A Novel of Ancient Egypt

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    I read this book for the second time after 20 years because I re

    I read this book for the second time after 20 years because I remembered it when I was finally able to take up my much loved habit of reading again...I devoured it in two days! No way to keep from picking it up at every opportunity!The characters and story line are flawless and the action and anticipation are on the mark!    

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2009

    What a ride through history!

    I was on a business trip in California and bought this book to have something to read on the plane back to the East Coast. It was awesome! River God is the first of four books depicting history in ancient Egypt with a bit of fiction mixed in . . . well, maybe a lot of fiction. I intend on buying the remaining three and continuing the ride!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    Wilber Smith is a brilliant writer

    Wilber Smith truly captivates you with this beautifully written novel. Its the kind of novel where you finish reading the last page and you want to turn it to the beginning and read it over again. Its one of my favorites and I highly recommend it! Warlock and The Seventh Scroll are next on my list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    Great Historical Read!

    After about the first 30 pages, the book picks up steam. Incredibly researched. Read the author's notes at the end of the book before you start reading the book. . . it explains how the story is based on scrolls found inside of an egyptian tomb. If I had known that when I started the book it would have been even more interesting while reading it. Definitely worth reading if you like historical novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2003

    Excellent

    This book was one of the best books I've ever read. Some people think that this book is too vivid in some of it's details. I happen to believe its better to read such a masterpiece than witness the vulgarity and pervertiness in a music video on MTV. There are many things that seem inapropriate for younger viewers, but yet if that viewer is mature enough to understand that this has to do with history, than it truly makes it a wonder to read and comprehend. I find this book such a joy to read becuase of these vivid details. On the edge of your seat action, I like to call it. Wilbur Smith has done it again, bringing action and adventure to our maturing minds.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2014

    Unbelievable! !

    This book belongs in the fantasy category not historical fiction. So, if you are interested in a fairy tale based in aancient Egypt this book might be right for you. Otherwise don't waste your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    Absolutely captivating

    I am a huge Smith fan, since I started reading his books. I started with Birds of Prey, Monsoon and Blue Horizon and could not put them down. His stories are so vivid you almost feel like you are part of the story. Can't wait to start Warlock, Seventh Scroll and Quest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2010

    Great Book

    Top 5 list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It got me hooked....

    This was the first Wilbur Smith novel I read. I never considered it before, but I bet some slaves did an awful lot for their often undeserving masters. This book is colorful, and shows the glamour, but also the treachery and hardship of the ruling class. The characters are complex, and while you can feel their pain, they handle life with exuberance.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    Thank Heaven I can return it to the library!!!

    <Shudders> It was horribe! Not a single character was believable. There were times when I felt sympathetic to Taita, the all-knowing, toot-his-own-horn slave, but those times were short-lived. The flowery/snobbish language made me want to puke. I don't think you could go more than two or three pages without the author saying "this very Egypt" or "our very Egypt", and sometimes, those occurred more than twice a page. It got old quick. It may have been a good book if it was no more than 350 pages, (where it should've ended) but I couldn't finish. I'm so glad I didn't buy it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2006

    Understanding Egypt as you never knew it-REAL

    Don't believe anything negative about this book there is nothing negative. It is about Egypt brought to life in the modern world adventure in colorful detail and most of all, a great story that will fill your belly and mind.You won't regret this one.By the time you read the other two related books, it will all feel like family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2006

    Truely outstanding

    After readings The River God over 10 years ago, very books come close to it!!! You are truly captivated by the story telling and are swept away to a time long ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2006

    Top Ten Fiction Writer

    My very favorite author. I look forward to each and every novel he writes and have read every book he has in print. If there is such a thing as reincarnation Mr. Smith has certainly lived in the lives and times of his subjects. Cheers and can't wait for your next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2005

    What a Wonderful Read...

    This was just a wonderful book. I found it to read so easily and the story was marvelous. Who cares about the history being 'right on'. It is fiction people. That is your clue right there. This was the first book I have read by Wilbur Smith and I can tell you I am going to be reading alot more of his. Especially Warlock and The Seventh Scroll. I just could not get enough of this book. It does get gory in spots but that is how it was back then. The sex I felt was minimal and handled with taste. Go get this book. It is well worth it and then some.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2004

    creative

    original. a bit predictable, but still enjoyable. a gread depection of ancient egypts culure & religion - the good and the bad!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2004

    VIVID AND WONDERFUL!

    There are books that transport you to a different place and time. There are books that provide a convincing look at a different culture. There are books that create characters so alive and interesting that they become friends. Wilbur Smith's River God is all that and more! I haven't cried while reading a book in a while. River God made me cry. It's rare to deeply care for literary characters. River God made me care. I don't read many 1,000 page books. River God is 650 pages long, but I wished that it was 1,000 pages long when it ended. Do yourself a favor and buy River God today. I believe that when you finish, you'll be doing a friend a favor by recommending it for the wonderful experience it is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2004

    Fantastic!

    This and the other two in the series are some of the best books I have ever read. You will not be disappointed if you purchase this book, I guarantee! You will become involved with the characters to the point where you are sad when you are done with the last in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2003

    Wilber Smith does it again

    Wilber Smith is one of my set of favorite authors. Any new works of his are automatic purchases by me. I highly recommend 'River God' to anyone, especially to those who are looking for new authors to read. Almost every one of his books is excellent reading material.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2003

    Absolutely Fantastic!

    Best book I have ever read hands down. Sincerely hard to put down and even harder to finish when you dont want it to end. You will fall in love with the characters and the history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2003

    If you read this, you will NEVER forget it!

    This is one of my all-time favorite books! I recommend this one to everyone and have read it at least four times...and counting. It is fabulous! Love, sex, war, and violence...it has it all! I have read thousands of books and this is one of my most favorite ones, if not my favorite. Trust me, you won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3