Customer Reviews for

River Marked (Mercy Thompson Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1310 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(811)

4 Star

(325)

3 Star

(117)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Another amazing book by an amazing author!

Patricia Briggs has once again outdone herself in her newest installment of the Mercy Thompson series.

Car mechanic Mercy Thompson has always known there was something different about her, and not just the way she can make a VW engine sit up and beg. Mercy is a shap...
Patricia Briggs has once again outdone herself in her newest installment of the Mercy Thompson series.

Car mechanic Mercy Thompson has always known there was something different about her, and not just the way she can make a VW engine sit up and beg. Mercy is a shapeshifter, a talent she inherited from her long-gone father. She's never known any others of her kind. Until now.

An evil is stirring in the depths of the Columbia River-one that her father's people may know something about. And to have any hope of surviving, Mercy and her mate, the Alpha werewolf Adam, will need their help.

posted by 3783205 on September 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Just Ok...

This book was just ok for me...I loved this series in the beginning, but the last couple of books have been lacking me for. I did love the interaction between Adam and Mercy, something that you haven't gotten in any other the other books. I will read the next book in th...
This book was just ok for me...I loved this series in the beginning, but the last couple of books have been lacking me for. I did love the interaction between Adam and Mercy, something that you haven't gotten in any other the other books. I will read the next book in this series if there is one but I think I will wait until the price goes down from the "just released" price.

posted by FastReaderMJ on March 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Just Ok...

    This book was just ok for me...I loved this series in the beginning, but the last couple of books have been lacking me for. I did love the interaction between Adam and Mercy, something that you haven't gotten in any other the other books. I will read the next book in this series if there is one but I think I will wait until the price goes down from the "just released" price.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good, but fell short..

    I am a huge fan of Patricia Briggs, especially the Mercy Thompson series, but this book fell short. I hate to say it, but it was the worst book of the series - not terrible - but definitely now in par with the other 5 extraordinary books that was before it.

    Let's start with the bad news:
    It took at least 60 pages of dull reading to finally get to the real action. Instead of the normal start-off action, we received the overly long catch-up on what happened (none of which was very interesting), a few happy moments (here comes the bride!), then the history of her heritage. While I enjoyed the intro into her Native American roots, it was sometimes overly written and unnecessarily long. I also missed the rest of the gang who is missing for much of the book.

    The good news
    After the first half of the book, the action starts and you are reminded of why you love the series and Mrs. Briggs writing so much. You go from dull to over-time action when Mercy and Adam encounter a sea creature who marks Mercy and many of the residents near Columbus River. A person who is river marked does the creature bidding and soon the murders are adding up and in the middle of it all is Mercy with Adam by her side. Mercy can see visions of the murders and right now the creature has it's sights set on one person - Mercy. She is stronger than the rest of the river marked people, but she needs help and that's where the Native Americans come into play. They reside by the river and have a close connection to Mercy, closer than she realizes. Her father was one of them and one person in particular knows all about him - Coyote. He not only knew her father, he also knows how to defeat the creature. Coyote heads up the team set out to destroy the sea creature, including many of the old Spirits, but it will costs many their lives. With innocents dying and the creature in Mercy's thoughts, can they stop it in time or will the creature overpower them, changing the world forever?

    The introduction of Coyote was brilliant and I absolutely fell in love with his character. He is witty, funny, strong and is pure entertainment. I also loved that we are introduced to more shifters and adored the fact that we saw more of Adam and Mercy.

    This is definitely not up to par with the rest of the series, but after the initial 60 or so pages, it does pick-up and we are reminded of why we love the series.

    It pains me to do this to what is normally a 5 fang series, but this series is rated: 3 1/2 fangs.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    If you read the previous 5 books, you will find that this one st

    If you read the previous 5 books, you will find that this one starts a little slow. Stick with it as it gets better once

    the action starts and gets back to Patricia Biggs usual excellent writing style without being just a repeat of the previous books. cmt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Loved this book but I cant halp but feel that there was more we

    Loved this book but I cant halp but feel that there was more we could have learned....maybeing being saved for a later book??? I understand why authors wait so long between release dates (being a published author's best friend) but Briggs takes so lon that I lose interest and lose track of the story. Knowing that seemingly unimportant details ALWAYS come back up somewhere, I have to go back and re-read all of the books just so that I can read the newest one....not that I am complianing they Are worth a reread, but I just wish we could get on with the story......The alreadyly long saga seems MUCH longer with the waittime in between.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Tony Hillerman anyone?

    This is the only disappointing book I have read of Patricia Briggs to date and I own all of them.
    I have read this 3times to try to like it and I can only enjoy the beginning and the end.
    The Indian lore was confusing and poorly presented.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    Predictable

    I have loved the series building up to this installment but found this book all just a bit too predictable and saccharine. However finding out more about Mercy's origins was fascinating and I truly hope the next book will have a bit more 'meat' to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A great short story, but not enough for a novel.

    If you want to know what married life is like for Mercy and Adam, River Marked definitely has you covered. Patricia Briggs' latest effort kicks off with a shot gun wedding. We follow Adam and Mercy for a majority of their honeymoon, which was for the most part was uneventful. When the story does pick up, Mercy will take on a journey to discover her heritage and meet her father along the way. A reconnection to her past and ancestry will help her to battle an ancient evil.

    While we get some great insights into the evolving relationship between Adam and Mercy, and I love seeing them work through their emerging problems, and how the alpha persona and wolf pack complicates things. Their relationship takes on a new richness, but the overall book seems disjointed. One part is this great in depth look at our love birds then there is the actual story. I felt like the story was tacked on, and not really developed fully. The book was a typical 336 pages but the real story line didn't seem to start until halfway into the book. The beginning started with Stefan and his human stable, and you would think that the storyline is going to follow along those lines then that resolves rather easily and we move on to family issues, nuptials, and the honeymoon. Sometime after we settle into marital bliss and after a few bread crumbs here there that hint at the bigger picture to develop, we actual get into plot. But it seemed very short. I think if Briggs had integrated the plot earlier in the story it would've blended into the usual standard we have come to have expected. Even the little bits introduced during the start of the honeymoon were too little and too far between. Though I loved the stuff with Jess and Mercy's family, and wedding I think the overall story should have been threaded within or in between the stuff with Stefan, and her wedding.

    Overall River Marked has some great background on our favorite were-coyote couple. The actual story is good, just a little to short seeming, better integration from the start of the book would have the whole thing gel better and read like one book instead of two stories. The background on Mercy's father was great too. This is a must read for Mercy fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Could have been better

    I love this series, but I think this last book was a little lacking. The beginning was too fluffy and happy, while the middle-end was too out there. Still love the author though! <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    Drags some compared to previous ones in the series

    I have loved this book series and eagerly jumped to buy "River Marked" as soon as it was released. Although it's still a good story, the action drags quite a bit leading up to the big fight with the River Monster. All the discussion about what Native American spirits do as opposed to werewolves, walkers, and fae went on far too long and started to read like the minutes of some kind of supernatural city council meeting. The drama of the big fight was seriously undercut by the over-use of "I" in describing the action. It is possible to write gripping action from a first-person point of view without peppering the page with I,I,I,I and I.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed it

    I like the introduction of the Native American side of Mercy's heritage but I agree with some of the reviews here, it felt a little forced. Check it out from the Library before you decide on purchasing it. I will continue the series but this isn't one for my permenant library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Story Lines running a little thin......

    Ok....this series has always been an automatic buy for me... but no more. We waited a long time for Adam and Mercy to "tie the knot"...this topic was just slghtly covered.... no great descriptions, only a weird and dangerous honeymoon camping.... camping????!!!!!! way too weird and weak for me.... no real chemistry or romance between them .. even on their honeymoon....and the story line in my opinion was very weak .. I think Ms Briggs should end the series soon...it seems she has no more tales to tell..... :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    BUY THIS ONE A THE USED BOOK STORE

    Dissapointing to say the least. Way over priced for the delivery. Characters are getting a bit trying. Monsters way over the top and to hard to follow. I have been reading this series and found this book very boring. I skipped blah blah blah pages of drivel and wanted a refund. Mercy lived while supernatural beings selflessly gave their lives and were eaten?? REALLYYYYYYY????? By a big ass snake thingy. Please........even the indian history lesson didn't help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Enjoyable

    I much prefer this Book to the the middle three. This one was fun escapism, but I don't think it's one I'm going to be rereading again and again. A good read, but better if you can get it from a library instead of buying. I'm glad that it's taken a turn away from the erotic and more to what her first two books were.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6