BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

River Monsters: True Stories of the Ones that Didn't Get Away

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Ahah

Awesome ahahahahahaaaaha

posted by 10893733 on March 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A good read, but surprisingly ordinary

I really love Jeremy Wade's "River Monsters" show on tv. In fact, it's become a bit of a weekly event for me and my three children (14, 11, 8-years old). So I was pretty psyched when I first saw that Wade was taking advantage of a new medium to further explore his very ...
I really love Jeremy Wade's "River Monsters" show on tv. In fact, it's become a bit of a weekly event for me and my three children (14, 11, 8-years old). So I was pretty psyched when I first saw that Wade was taking advantage of a new medium to further explore his very unique world and existence. His book is good, but it's uneven and disappointing relative to the high bar he's set for himself.

What makes Wade's show so special is not actually the fishing itself, but rather the integrated approach of his storytelling that blends mystery, travel, adventure, culture AND THEN fishing. I figured a book would give Wade an opportunity to expand on the elements of his trips that simply can't fit into a short 50+ minute weekly show. Jeremy delivers, but only sometimes and inconsistently. He squeezed 18 chapters into less than 300 pages when he probably should've focused on half as many different tales and expanded further on the experiences surrounding the fishing.

Wade is a strong communicator and I couldn't help but hear his soft English accent and very calm and genuine passion in the writing. He's at his best when he deftly weaves his personal history into his stories. It's hard to remember that Wade lived a very full life before he started to share his experiences on "River Monsters" and he provides some fun insights into his youth and meandering life as a young man...caught between wanting to fish the rest of his life and the reality of needing to live an 'accepted' life.

His best stories contain the same elements that make his best shows: adventure and challenge mixed with genuine cultural flavor from whatever remote area he's exploring. I recommend this read, but keep in mind that it's not all it can be. The best stories are focused on his searches to catch the elusive and dangerous Arapaima of the Amazon and the Goliath Tigerfish in the Congo.

Wade's show on Animal Planet is great television. It starts and ends with great story telling. Unfortunately, he did take full advantage of the more expansive writing medium to delve as deeply into his subjects as I, at least, wish he had.

posted by JGolomb on August 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good read, but surprisingly ordinary

    I really love Jeremy Wade's "River Monsters" show on tv. In fact, it's become a bit of a weekly event for me and my three children (14, 11, 8-years old). So I was pretty psyched when I first saw that Wade was taking advantage of a new medium to further explore his very unique world and existence. His book is good, but it's uneven and disappointing relative to the high bar he's set for himself.

    What makes Wade's show so special is not actually the fishing itself, but rather the integrated approach of his storytelling that blends mystery, travel, adventure, culture AND THEN fishing. I figured a book would give Wade an opportunity to expand on the elements of his trips that simply can't fit into a short 50+ minute weekly show. Jeremy delivers, but only sometimes and inconsistently. He squeezed 18 chapters into less than 300 pages when he probably should've focused on half as many different tales and expanded further on the experiences surrounding the fishing.

    Wade is a strong communicator and I couldn't help but hear his soft English accent and very calm and genuine passion in the writing. He's at his best when he deftly weaves his personal history into his stories. It's hard to remember that Wade lived a very full life before he started to share his experiences on "River Monsters" and he provides some fun insights into his youth and meandering life as a young man...caught between wanting to fish the rest of his life and the reality of needing to live an 'accepted' life.

    His best stories contain the same elements that make his best shows: adventure and challenge mixed with genuine cultural flavor from whatever remote area he's exploring. I recommend this read, but keep in mind that it's not all it can be. The best stories are focused on his searches to catch the elusive and dangerous Arapaima of the Amazon and the Goliath Tigerfish in the Congo.

    Wade's show on Animal Planet is great television. It starts and ends with great story telling. Unfortunately, he did take full advantage of the more expansive writing medium to delve as deeply into his subjects as I, at least, wish he had.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    Interesting ..

    Let me just start by saying I really didn't want to read this book. I have watched the TV show and find it interesting, but I wasn't all that excited about reading a companion book to the series. Really..we had Unhooked as well..and I was sure this was another way to cash in on the RM series. However, I am glad I decided to read it. It is actually very well written and even quite funny at times. Mr. Wade comes across as down to earth and even a bit self-deprecating at times. It's nice to see someone that actually enjoys what they do and is unjaded by their success(so far).

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Ahah

    Awesome ahahahahahaaaaha

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    companion to the series

    This book follows the series closely. In that respect its a bit of a let down because if you have seen the series there is not much new here. It is still a good read though.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    highly recommended

    a good book for anyone interested in knowing about fishes found around the globe

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    awesommmeeeeeeee

    I recommend this book for people who like action,fishing,and investigation

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Great book

    Awesome book I would recommed this book to anyone

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Poooooooole

    Awsome

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Love it

    This is a fantastic book everyone should read it!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    great book

    greak book i love river monsters

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Best

    Jeremy Wades river monsters series on animal planet is so thrilling.I hiley recomend this book if you watch the series.It has action,adventure,mysteries,ext.If I could,I would meet Jeremy Wade in a heartbeat.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Great book

    I love Jerimys show and his book. One of my favorite episodes is in it

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Im jermey wades number 1 fan!!!

    I love his shows and and his books im really additcted to tjem they are amazing it is impossible to beat him!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Ah!

    The headline freaks me out!

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Fish on

    I havent read the book but i love the show i just have to say though that that sample is sh.it cause it wont work for me. Anyway long live jeremy wade

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2014

    Most of the reviews regarding this book are complete crap.  If y

    Most of the reviews regarding this book are complete crap.  If you have read it, however, you will find:
    Interesting insight on travel.  Personal information regarding Mr. Wade's handicaps and capabilities.  Incredible information if you are an avid traveler.  Angling information for the avid anglers.  

    This book does match his show series, but goes more in-depth for catching fish, the capabilities of what an actual 30-pound fish can do to a person above water, and scientific information you never though existed.  
    An excellent read and very inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Your not him

    Whoever you are, you're lying!! I know that for a fact.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Even though I rarely fish, I am a huge fan of the show and I wat

    Even though I rarely fish, I am a huge fan of the show and I watch it quite obsessively (I re-watch a lot of episodes if I have not seen the Unhooked version of them). I knew Jeremy had some experience in freelance journalism, so I expected the book to be well-written, but I was actually surprised at how much I enjoyed it. I did sometimes find myself skimming some of the parts when it came to him catching the fish, having seen every episode more than once, but other than that, it was a great read.
    I find myself living vicariously through Jeremy and his adventures and the book allowed me to do that even further. 
    Even if you aren't into fishing, this is an incredibly well-written and exciting account of a man's travels all over the world, his personal demons and his true passion in life that should keep the attention of any Jeremy Wade fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2013

    Not what it seems.

    I had this book in the soft cover and really liked it. It was full of pictures and subtitles and lots of interesting information. To save space I ordered it on my Nook expecting it to be the exact same book. I was disappointed to find out it did not have any pictures. It was only the written part of the book. If you don't care about the pictures, then I recommend it. If you want the pictures as well, I suggest you buy the actual book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Love it Love it

    I baught this book back when my son was born and i love reading it to him. I enjoy watching river monsters on tv or on my brother in laws laptop. Someday i hope ill get a chance to catch big fish just like Wade. His book inspired me to start studying more about fish and that some fish species are miss understood.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3