Customer Reviews for

River Road (Sentinels of New Orleans Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    great book

    I really liked this one. The pacing of the book, I loved, This one kept me pulled in.

    This one takes place 3 years later after the first book. Nothing happened to DJ and the gang during the years except the laws pertaining the prete’s border. Life was all gravy for DJ until boom, all the sudden the craziness begins. This one has wizard hating mers, poison waters, and dead bodies popping up.

    So she must appease the mers, find out whats causing the water problem, and figured out who is murdering these people. Are they all related? Maybe. I loved that I was kept guessing on who the murdered was. Had no clue, kept thinking it was someone else until this one clue.

    DJ is one lucky girl. There is still the hotness of 3 guys that like her. We have Jake, but he’s still learning how to control himself after what happened in the last book. Alex but she won’t go there because they work together. And the undead pirate Jean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Solid second book

    This a very good second book. Ms. Johnson is proving herself to be a very solid writer. She is extremely talented in her plot development and creatve thinking. My reason for 4 instead of 5 stars is a personal preference for character vs plot writers in a series. While her plot development could rival Jeffrey Deavers, I feel disconects in her character developments because they feel like vehicles for her plot as opposed to continuing characters. This bothers me in series writers because the characters keep appearing in later books. They become like best freinds that I need to check up on. I care about them. I found the long gap between the end of book one and start of book two out of character from book to book. In book one Jean was a very impatient man when it came to chasing Dj. Yet it is over two years before he pursues her to collect his favor. This made no sense in tems of his charcter type from book to book but does set the timing for her new plot. His drastic change from rapist to over protective potenial lover isn't really believable. She does attempt to justify it but it just doesn't flow. But looking at his character type for each seperate book he is a very colorful addition and essential to the plot. Also the relatioships between Dj, Alex and Jack would not have been stagnet for the time gap from book to book but they were. The same goes for the relatioship between Dj and Trish. It made no sense from book to book. But if you take the books separetly they make perfect sense from cover to cover. They are excellent stand alone books but not really series books. Thus 4 stars because they are really good stories seperately but I just can't really connect with her individual characters. They don't go anywhere and the relationships are stagnet. She hints at things that just fizzle from book one to book two. That's why I call her characters vehicles. They just move you around but don't really go anywhere. We will soon see if this changes with book three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    After reviewing Royal Street, I don't have too much more to say

    After reviewing Royal Street, I don't have too much more to say about River Road.  Many of the things I loved about Royal Street applied here as well.  Same writing style, had me laughing within the first few pages and kept me going on a regular basis right to the end.




    I really like Jean Lafitte, who we got more of a glimpse of in this book.  He's sneaky and devious and you really can't trust him as far as you can throw him, but he has his own sense of morals (no one else understands) which he stands by.  He's a terrible flirt and, while he believes that a deal is a deal and in exchanging a favor for a favor, he also doesn't ask for more than a person can give.




    Her relationship with Alex is so weird.  They don't have any sort of intimate relationship, yet he seems jealous and territorial over her.  This is getting hilarious but I can't figure him out.  I do in the end, but I spend most of the book trying to puzzle out what he really wants from her.




    I thought in the first book she said they wouldn't turn up weird on blood tests.  I could be wrong.  It's hard to search a PDF for what I was looking for to check back but I thought wizards were one of the few that didn't show up in blood work.  Then I got my nose all out of joint when they discussed doing cultures for E. coli.  You don't incubate E. coli in a fridge!  It grows best in an incubator at 37 degrees (which, admittedly, can look a lot like a fridge).  It's a mesophyle.  It can't grow (i.e. will die) at 4 degrees celsius (that's refrigerator temperature) as it generally only grows at either body temperature (it lives in our guts) or about room temperature (waiting to infect others, but that isn't ideal temperature and slows or stops growth).   Also, it takes about a day, depending on desired culture density, to culture E. coli at 37 degrees.  And that's my rant for the day...




    Again, I just loved the ending.  Definitive, with just enough of a tease.  Had me giggling like mad.  And totally wanting the next book.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    I did not read Royal Street. I started this series with River Ro

    I did not read Royal Street. I started this series with River Road and I will say that I wasn’t left wondering about anything. Yes, I could tell that it was book 2, but I wasn’t left with a hole of information going, “What just happened here?!” I also wasn’t hit with overwhelming info dumps as the author attempted to bring me up to speed. We jumped right into the story. I was given just enough information to keep me from guessing, and it went swimmingly. (pun intended here…tehehe!)

    The plot was very intriguing! I won’t say it was the most original, but the mythology that Ms. Johnson brought to the table made the story feel original. I picked up everything pretty well, I think. I mean, I didn’t have any questions as I was going through it. They histories and mythologies were well-thought out, I think! I was just left going, “Woooooooow! Cooool!” LOL!!

    This was a paranormal mystery, and the clues were sprinkled throughout. I will say that I had a pretty good feeling of who it was…about 3/4 of the way through. That’s about 1/2 longer than it normally takes me. It wasn’t because Ms. Johnson left out information. It was because she masterfully wove the mystery together. It was brilliant!!

    The love triangle…I just don’t understand guys. I don’t. I mean, Jean. Okay. He’s dead, and I could see his attraction to Drusilla. Oohhhhh, man! I felt it, too! For being dead, that man is HOT!!! But Alex? *shakes head* I didn’t get that one. I felt it. There was some heat coming off those pages, but I just didn’t get it. But what can you say about boys, really? *hopeless shrug* Jake? OMW!!! That one, I could definitely see and feel and hear and taste and smell! OMW! That one, with all the angst that obviously occurred in book 1, and all the tension. *smiling nod* OMW! Yeah! I totally understand that one!!

    So! GREAT book!! It’s REALLY well written! The elements are all very strong, including the voice. The lovers triangle? My doubts on this one has nothing to do with Ms. Johnson’s writing. It has to do with the character, namely Alex who’s brain I think needs to be re-wired. When the characters come through that well, it’s because there’s exceptional writing! And in this book, there REALLY is!

    Should you read this book? YES!!!!!!!!!!!!! OMW! YES!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome Series!

    River Road is the second book in the Sentinels of New Orleans series by the very talented Suzanne Johnson. Please, if you have not read the first in her series Royal Street do so now. If you love fantasy and mystery then you shall not be disappointed at all.



    River Road picks up with Drusilla Draco (DJ), and the rest of her gang years after the Katrina aftermath we saw in Royal Street. She is now the lead Sentinel for her area, but is a bit miffed that the Elders have kept steamy, shifter, enforcer that is so-still-off-limits on as a Sentinel too. DJ feels she is strong enough, smart enough, and a powerful enough wizard to take care of business without his help, plus he makes more money than she does.



    With two murdered members of the Green Congress, polluted rivers, a crazy-sexy famous undead pirate that she made endless promises to when she thought he would die in the beyond, plus the rivalry stewing between Jake and Alex Warin over her, DJ really has her hands full in this novel. I know, it’s a bit of a mouthful, but I promise you a lot of action, magic, preternaturals of the fin, fur, and underworld kind, and the mysterious elven staff is back at it again! Even watching her cat through the book brings a chuckle or two, so there is plenty of wit to keep you amused as the story progresses.



    Ok onto my thoughts before I am tempted to give far too much of this wonderful story away. First of all I am in love with this series. When emailed asking if I would like to review the second book, I jumped at the chance. The world building is phenomenal, I mean really I want to live in this world. No, it isn’t perfect, but between the rich history and preternaturals, I just found it as awesome as JK Rowling’s world of Harry Potter, just a US version, with adults, and more grown-up story line. I am a huge HP fan, so this is me saying “‘It’s all that and a bag of chips” (or whatever we said growing up in the 90’s.)



    The character development was quite intriguing. While this is written in first person, we still get a real sense of each of them, even though we view them through DJ’s eyes. Alex is head strong, masculine, but underneath he really is an awesome, sweet guy. As the story progresses, we get to see it first hand as DJ notices him or notices little changes here and there. The dead pirate Jean we learn can send very uncomfortable signals, and DJ cannot help but be attracted to him, but we also get to see the softer side of the privateer that has her really looking at him in a different light. So while this is a first person POV, you get so much more as DJ not only watches these characters unfold before her eyes, but as she watched their development, readers do too.



    Storyline was top notch, and I was sucked into this one big time. There was a perfect balance between conflicts, a progressive love story that has been in the works since the first book, and then the magical action. Laced into this all are the mysteries surrounding not only the murders, but the river pollution. I anticipated every new paragraph, every page, and in the end I left satisfied, but with a taste for more. This series is one you don’t want to put down, and you certainly don’t want to miss.

    Originally Reviewed At: Mother/Gamer/Writer
    Rating: 5 out of 5 Controllers
    Reviewer: Heather

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1