Customer Reviews for

A River Runs Through It and Other Stories

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

THE MOST WELL WRITTEN BOOK OF ITS TIME

This book was the most heartfelt and true-to-life book I have ever read. I could not stop reading it once I started.

posted by Anonymous on December 4, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great literature; poor execution.

This is one of my all time favorite novels, which is why the numerous misprints are so distracting. It's as though no one bothered to edit the e-book version. For example, thier are two obvious mistakes on the first page; the third and fourth sentences. It so frustra...
This is one of my all time favorite novels, which is why the numerous misprints are so distracting. It's as though no one bothered to edit the e-book version. For example, thier are two obvious mistakes on the first page; the third and fourth sentences. It so frustrating to pay $10 for a 98 page book that is so full of errors that I have to go to my written version just to see how it's actually supposed to read.

posted by 10506764 on March 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Great vacation read.

    Read on a recent visit to the Yellowstone River in Montana. What a joy it was to read about the landscape we had emersed ourselfs in. It was hard to put down and I found myself finishing it in quiet sobs one morning before dawn. It haunted me for days.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2001

    THE MOST WELL WRITTEN BOOK OF ITS TIME

    This book was the most heartfelt and true-to-life book I have ever read. I could not stop reading it once I started.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    Great book, some errors in e-book

    This is a wonderful book, but the conversion to e-book had faulty OCR, resulting in occasional nonsense words - for example, the title of the last story comes out "The Ranger, the Cook, and a Floic in the Sky"

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2004

    An Instant Memory for Years to come.

    Everytime I read this tale I fall deeper in love with the words of this wonderful and deeply profound book. The author did a wonderful, magnificent, excellent, boistourous job at writing it. A River Runs Through It is a book I could sit down and read every day. I love it so much. Snaps and Claps if you agree! Email me if you want to discuss the author and his work. Norman MacLean is the wonderful man responsible for this heart gripping book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2004

    Great book and movie

    I loved the movie so I have decieded to buy the book and I loved that to. Beats any other book ever

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Wow life brings amazing things

    Someone who can bring any amazing thing like this to life is obviously a talented person with words norman can bring to life the experience of fly fishing to life sitting out there with a cool breeze brushing your face tension from the line running down your arm focusing completly on the still ripples in the water a flick of a fin and a spin of the reel the now lifeless fish lies dead on the damp grass
    Is this a good piece i was practicing writing tell me what u think just post a review saying what u think of my writing and nofmans

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Greatest piece of literary craftsmanship ever.

    A true artist totally in control of his medium.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Ties that Bind Us

    This is a story of two boys who grow up with the authority of a Presbyterian Minister. They were given the same instruction as children growing up and turned out so different. One was a daredevil determined to challenge the world. The other became a writer and reflective. The two of them could not have been any different.

    This novel shares how each of us have a built in path that has to be followed. It is the destiny of us all to fulfill and express our own uniqueness in the world. And yet, there was a tie that bound the two of these boys beyond their family ties. Both of them loved to fish. It was the one thing they loved to do together.

    This bond created a depth to their relationship enabeling a love that was unconditional in nature and allowed their different natures to blend into a unity that could not be explained. It could only be lived and expressed through this simple act of creating a world they both could live in "a river runs through it."

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2001

    A Masterpiece!

    A truly classic book. The book is a great story of life, love and loss. This is one to have on the book shelf. There is one line i love the most '...eventually, all things merge into one, and a river runs thorugh it. The river was cut by the worlds great flood and runs over rocks from the basment of time...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Silverstorm to Blackclaws

    Rockkit is having an apprentice ceromony soon!!!!

    ;-);-);-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Rabbitflame

    His ears perk up. "I sense it too."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Eclipseawn

    Pads in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Windpaw

    You too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    ☼ Sunpelt

    Uncovers his rabbit, picks up his vole, and pads back to camp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Willowpaw

    See res 1 ....... my first post.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Rainstorm

    Goes hunting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Jayfur

    He nodded and followed her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Great book

    Great book about life and fly fishing. Well written.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Great Book

    A

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    Very Enjoyable Read. Especially the Additional Stories!

    I read the Nook version of "A River Runs Through It and Other Stories, Twenty-fifth Anniversary Edition" after re-watching the movie. I found it a very enjoyable read, and finished it in three settings. The additional stories are a great bonus. I finished those in a single setting. Written in a, (to me), rather unique style that provides a constantly flowing narrative with great descriptions of life and of Fly fishing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3