Customer Reviews for

River of Blue Fire

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

it answered my questions

The first Otherland in the series made very little sense to me until I read River of Blue Fire. It gave the first book a purpose for existing. Tad Williams is a gifted author and he displays his talent by using generous amounts of metaphors and similes. This book is rec...
The first Otherland in the series made very little sense to me until I read River of Blue Fire. It gave the first book a purpose for existing. Tad Williams is a gifted author and he displays his talent by using generous amounts of metaphors and similes. This book is recommended for those who appreciate the art of good literature but if all you want is the bottom line than don't bother to read the Otherland series. btw !Xabbu's monkey avatar reminded me of another sidekick monkey named Boroba who was in a Isabel Allende novel.

posted by Anonymous on August 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Talk About a Stretched Out Premise...

I read the first book in this series exactly 10 years ago. I loved the story, I loved the characters, and I loved the world that Williams' vision of virtual reality made possible. Then I got to the end, or lack thereof, threw the book down in disgust and it wallowed a...
I read the first book in this series exactly 10 years ago. I loved the story, I loved the characters, and I loved the world that Williams' vision of virtual reality made possible. Then I got to the end, or lack thereof, threw the book down in disgust and it wallowed at the back of my bookshelf for a decade. Call me silly, but I like my books to have at least some form of resolution to at least something that is going on. I want more questions answered than raised.

Cue 2011, when I'm finally done with school and have more time to read. And I figure my patience is much more improved. I guess not. I got about 80 pages into this books, and realized that nothing had really happened yet.

And a giant bug world? Really?

I could tell I was in for another long haul of crazy dreamscapes with a slower-than-glacial-movement plot. Virtual reality is wild and exciting, I get it.

And all so that we can find out the Grail Brotherhood fuels their world by siphoning human consciousness, or something weird and basic that does not warrant four books to get there- what a marketing ploy. After a couple chapters of giant bugs that had nothing to do with anything, I quickly stopped caring about who this Brotherhood was or why they were even trapped in the system.

If you have a lot of time, are a fast reader so you can actually find out what the end to this abysmally long series is, or are just downright patient, give it a look. Williams has an engaging writing style and a great talent for character creation. If not, go read his one shot, War of the Flowers (one of my favorites).

posted by Astralwolf on April 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    loved them all

    over 3000 pages of great reading. Scifi at its best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Shimmerstream

    Make a nest for her and he kits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Masterpiece

    Tad Williams shines and once again proves his brilliance with developing real people you can invest in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    River of Blue Fire is a flood of information in the Otherland series.

    River is starting to feel like a very enjoyable journey through the four part series. The first book was really slow going, bordering line too much character development. This book, the second in the series feels like is building the ground work for the next book in the series. The look forward instead of building the past has been much easier to read. Can't claim to miss some of the characters which have been sixed at this point, and I am not crazy about a few of the new characters still surviving. I can only hope Emily snaps out of her behavior in another "world" or she drops off line. Can't say I am enjoying the whining brat. I am starting to cheer for Orlando & Sam more and more, it may be because of their literary references that I am bonding with their characters more than the others, not sure yet. Anyway, looking forward to the third book in the series I am torn between my story line guesses being true or finding an unexpected delightful twist from the author. Maybe a little of both will happen in the next book, until then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2002

    River of Blue Fire review

    Renie and her companions continue to wander the virtual worlds of the Grail Brotherhood's Otherland. The Otherland system is a series of virtual worlds designed to make the members of the brotherhood live forever. She is searching for answers to her brother's death-like coma. She believes it was caused by the network. This novel continues her search and reveals some complications like Renie and her companions cannot go off-line and will die if killed in the virtual world. Also they must search for a man named Paul Jonas and find a black mountain that reaches up into the sky. Tad Williams vividly describes the virtual worlds and the characters that inhabit them. Each of the main characters is unique and life-like. The plot thickens continuously through the novel and you're kept guessing as to what is really going on. If you liked the first book you're sure to enjoy the second as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2001

    Purely amazing!

    Tad williams has created the most realistic and intersing virtual world ever emagined. The complexity of the story and the intertwining of the characters completely backs up the massive sureal experience. I finished this book at two in the morning last night, i loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2000

    Tad, you are the man!

    This book takes you on a journey to the virtual corners of reality while keeping it real and beleivable all the way. The characters develope throughout the whole series. Tad Williams is the modern day master of Trilogies- too bad they can't keep it all in three novels(see Memory, Sorrow and Thorn)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2000

    He does it again!!

    Tad Williams does it again!!! The first book in the Otherland series was fantastic, but this one had me sitting on the edge of my seat for WEEKS!! Can't wait until I finish the third one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2