Customer Reviews for

River of Darkness (John Madden Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    Mystery lovers delight

    Both my husband and I enjoyed this "first in the series" book and are eagerly looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Dark and Rich

    This was my first time reading this author and I love dark mysteries especially those set in the period after WWI in England. I could not put the book down and the gruesome killer really grabs you and does not let go. A great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    English Mystery readers take notice

    A new series in the vein of Dorothy Sayers, Peter Robertson, Ian Rankin and Charles Todd which should appeal to readers interested in English mysteries and mid-20th century fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2000

    Excellent read!!

    I received this book as a present for my birthday and I wasn't sure whether I would enjoy the book as I didn't know the author. I started reading and enjoyed it so much that I couldn't wait to get home from work to start reading again. I liked all the aspects of the book and the descriptions of the First World War and the feelings of the soldiers were very well depicted. I would recommend this book to all readers of crime/detective novels and I can't wait for the sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2000

    Unique

    Terrific book. The characters were strangely fascinating. Inspector Madden was so completely unique. He was dark, sensative and intriguing as was the entire book. I really enjoyed this refreshing change. I look forward to reading more books by Rennie Airth.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2014

    Darkpetal

    She watches concerned and scared

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2014

    Radioactive

    He didn't notice Darkpetal as he ripped into the tree, his eyes an with a terrifing and unnatural desire to kill something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Great

    Well written and excellent plot. A head above the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Ok. Another funny story. Dedicated to Camofluagestar

    Once upon a time there was a totally random guy named Bob. He lived in 1239. One day he was walking down the Dark River Road when he crapped his pants. "Oh boy," he cried exitedly. "I just pooped my pants!" He used a word that was most certainly not 'pooped'. Or 'crapped'. ;) But he said it real loud. So people stopped their 'normal, daily' business and stared. "What?!?!" said Bob. "I pooped my pants, thats all." Again, he used a word other than 'pooped' or 'crapped'. The people swarmed around him. They screamed thungs like "Poopy cusser!!!" and "Baby!" Bob was so upset he cried. And cried. And cried and cried and cried and cried and cried and cried and cried and cried...

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    Great, except for the Blackwell character

    I agree with much of the high praise others have given this book. I did, however, find Dr. Helen' Blackwell's frequent laughter a little unbelievable, given her place in the setting and relationship to the local people. I often found her annoying. Lots of beautiful writing in this book without phony, flowery ramblings. Madden is a most intriguing character, even more mysterious than the mystery he has to solve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Love it

    For the reader that enjoys a great english thriller,this is great. Intelligent , THOUGHTFUL , Characters you care about. The author is great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Excellent

    You learn early on who the killer is, but the twists and turns that bring you to the books end are so well written you just can't stop reading, and when you have to stop to go to work or sleep....you are thinking about it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2006

    A slasher in rural England

    What sets this book apart is its placement of vicious crimes in a halcyon setting. Here we find a psycho-sexual maniac loose among almost too wholesome, likable, salt-of-the-earth rural English folk just after World War I. The period is evoked softly, without becoming a fetish. Scotland Yard inspector John Madden (the name choice is an unfortunate distraction to anyone knowledgable about American professional football) is a widower and a scarred former soldier, but not all veterans will receive heroic treatment before our tale is done. The love interest blooms with absurd haste. This book isn't profound enough to merit its NY Times Notable Book status, but it's an enjoyably off-beat police procedural. We Anglophiles enjoy what we get in Penguin Book mysteries

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2001

    An action packed Inspector Morse!

    The author manages to write a novel that exhibits so many of the traits, e.g., gripping story, intriguing details, of great British murder mysteries and adds in some thrilling action. Airth somehow even makes a hokey ending exciting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2