Customer Reviews for

River of Doubt: Theodore Roosevelt's Darkest Journey

Average Rating 4
( 161 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

River of Doubt is a great read. It's a look into a day when men still did exceptional things, without thought of their safety. truely a lookinto the later life of one of America's greatest men.

posted by davedDD on December 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother

There are some passages which are interesting here, but I find myself pulling my hair out as I read chapter after chapter about another portage, another loss of supplies, another description of despair. It feels like one is stuck in the back seat of a car and asking, "a...
There are some passages which are interesting here, but I find myself pulling my hair out as I read chapter after chapter about another portage, another loss of supplies, another description of despair. It feels like one is stuck in the back seat of a car and asking, "are we there yet??"
I understand why other historians did not give this expedition much attention.

posted by Marisue on November 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    River of Doubt is a great read. It's a look into a day when men still did exceptional things, without thought of their safety.
    truely a lookinto the later life of one of America's greatest men.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    River Of Doubt book review

    This is a biography about Theodore Roosevelt¿s darkest journey down the River of Doubt (Rio da DÚvida) which is the name of the 1000 mile river that is a tributary to the Amazon River. The River of Doubt is and uncharted tributary that snakes through one of the most treacherous jungles in the world.<BR/>Candice writes ¿Throughout his life, Roosevelt had turned to intense physical exertion as means of overcoming setbacks and sorrow, and he had come to the Amazon in search of that same hard absolution.¿ <BR/>After serving two terms as president Roosevelt took a safari to Africa for a year. He brought back several things that stocked the newly formed Natural history museum in Washington D.C. To date the collection of things he brought back and contributed is more than anyone else has.<BR/>This adventure takes place after Roosevelt failed campaign for an unprecedented third term in the White House in which Roosevelt founded the Progressive Party and ran on its ticket.<BR/>I particularly enjoyed Candice Millard¿s style of writing, as it made me feel as if I was right there with the expedition, exploring and traveling down and uncharted river in the tropics, with the beauty of the surroundings, the treacherousness of the rapids of the river, and a very dangerous and volatile Indian tribe that would just as soon kill you with poison arrows as to look at you.<BR/> Theodore Roosevelt is portrayed as the author states as a person with ¿puritanical morals.¿ Throughout this expedition he gave of his food to others that were with him even when he was to sick and weak to do so.<BR/> The descriptions of botanical and medical nature are quite thorough; as are the parasites and trials they went through. Due to lack of food starvation was one among many of the dangers they faced.<BR/> The research that Candice did in writing this book was not only quite thorough but also it would seem went above and beyond the call of duty to insure the accuracy of the events.<BR/> Due to the adventure I found the book to be fast moving as it held my interest throughout, as a result I would highly recommend it.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    An education course in history, geography, biology, exploration, team efforts, and unique balance.

    This is a wonderful exciting description of an adventure by one of our most famous presidents. If you get excited about real life exploration that is descriptive detail that keeps you wanting to read on and on then read this book. I was excited about the writing of Candice Millard and disappointed to not find any other books by her.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    Great, exciting read

    If you like adventure books or President Roosevelt, this is an excellent book. I normally do not read adventure books but I couldn't put this down. Literally, I couldn't wait to find out what was around the next curve in the river.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    A wonderful true adventure story - I never knew about this expedition - wha an amazing and courageous group of explorers

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent read

    I found this to be a wonderful documentation of an aspect of President Roosevelt's life I had never learned from history classes. Both entertaining and educational.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2007

    Amazing

    Amazingly detailed research and tightly written. A great portrait of Roosevelt and his son Kermit.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    Great read!!! Candice Millard Brought History Alive in this Book!

    Never before have I ever read history described in such detail. Candice Millard brought the rain forest alive, with her words. The research was great. History lesson with a twist of geography and made me like it. Wow I can't say enough about this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable story of advenure.

    Great book for anyone looking for a story of great adventure, some history and discovery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    GREAT BOOK

    I am a slow reader but plowed through this book. Good story. Good charecter detail. Good adventure. Great read. Good historical story. Might learn a little too. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Candice Millard, An Exceptional Writer

    The extraordinary life of Theodore Roosevelt is exceeded in this book solely by the excellent writing skills of the author. I've yet to finish the book and yet feel competent to report that the writing exceeds my greatest expectations for a knowledgeable, enthralling story of this exploratory adventure. The author weaves the most delicate web of intrigue and yet progresses effortlessly along the tale's path. Highest regards for and congratulations to the author.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2013

    2 people (HJW and Toby MK) gave it one star, but gave it a very

    2 people (HJW and Toby MK) gave it one star, but gave it a very positive review.
    1 person (Anonymous) gave it 1 star - 5 times - with no explanation. Clearly trying to lower the book's average.

    People are abusing the review process!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    Theodore was already an awesome person but having read his journ

    Theodore was already an awesome person but having read his journey through the Amazon makes him even greater, in my opinion What modern day president would do anything even remotely similar after leaving office? The River of Doubt is a fantastic book on the perils he and his team faced exploring a tributary of the Amazon. I would recommend it to any history buff and any fan or enemy of TDR.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    A little slow at times, but it still manages to be an enlighteni

    A little slow at times, but it still manages to be an enlightening lesson in history and an engaging adventure story at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Fantastic read, real page tuner

    Extrordinary book. Full of rich detail. So much information and brilliantly written. So very informative about the amazon. And its groth,wildlife, natives as well as detailed portraits of the people in ROosevelts team and family. I am so sorry the book. Is over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    outstanding read

    Candice Millard is one of the best non-fiction writers of history that I have ever read. She brings this adventure story of former President Roosevelt exploring uncharted South American territory to life in pulse-racing anticipation, and her descriptions of the Brazilian rainforest, its plant and animal life, its beauty and its imminent dangers, are beyond compare. She is equally superb in telling the story of President Garfield's murder in "Destiny of the Republic". A profoundly gifted writer, Millard's telling of this early 20th century exploration of the remote Amazon rainforest is nothing short of outstanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Great read

    Great story of servival in the wilderness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    A well balanced treatment of a larger than life figure.

    Having just returned from the Peruvian Amazon & Iquitos I found this an exceptional read. It engages the reader because it moves back and forth between the nature of the Amazon and an overview of T.R.'s life since his failed election of 1912 — a very nice balance!
    Jallon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Great book

    Incredibly entertaining and informative. The detail is amazing. This book is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Long, hard travels

    Having been to the Amazon, it is hard to imagine people undertaking the long and arduous journey a hundred years ago. Fascinating. This book has stayed on my mind for the last five years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4