Customer Reviews for

River's Edge (Cape Refuge Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Suspense that Knocks Your Socks Off!

I couldn't put this book down. A great mystery thriller filled with a number of suspects with understandable motives with twists and turns that kept me reading through the night! I just knew I had solved the crime until I reached the end

posted by 2950232 on July 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wait 'till you see the twists in this one!

This series is the first I have ever read from Teri Blackstock. I can't put them down! I thought the first book of the series, Cape Refuge, was very good. I found the second book a little predictable but still held my interest. This book, the third in the Cape Refuge...
This series is the first I have ever read from Teri Blackstock. I can't put them down! I thought the first book of the series, Cape Refuge, was very good. I found the second book a little predictable but still held my interest. This book, the third in the Cape Refuge series, was the best of the series so far. With all the twists and turns, you can't wait for the next chapter to see what Ms. Blackstock turns up next. I was really guessing the entire way thru this one. I really love the short chapters. Let's life interrupt without loosing my way in the story and having to backtrack to find where I was. I highly recommend this author if you love mysteries that hold your attention and sincerely appreciate not having to dodge sordid details that don't add to the story.

posted by 2693763 on January 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    Suspense that Knocks Your Socks Off!

    I couldn't put this book down. A great mystery thriller filled with a number of suspects with understandable motives with twists and turns that kept me reading through the night! I just knew I had solved the crime until I reached the end

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wait 'till you see the twists in this one!

    This series is the first I have ever read from Teri Blackstock. I can't put them down! I thought the first book of the series, Cape Refuge, was very good. I found the second book a little predictable but still held my interest. This book, the third in the Cape Refuge series, was the best of the series so far. With all the twists and turns, you can't wait for the next chapter to see what Ms. Blackstock turns up next. I was really guessing the entire way thru this one. I really love the short chapters. Let's life interrupt without loosing my way in the story and having to backtrack to find where I was. I highly recommend this author if you love mysteries that hold your attention and sincerely appreciate not having to dodge sordid details that don't add to the story.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Good suspense and plot twists

    Excellent story line with many twists in the plot keeps the suspense up until the end. Enjoyed the infertility subplot and the inquiring news reporter. Good light reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2014

    Very Good Book

    You must read this book, very good reading, I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2014

    Good Story

    My first book with this author. Was a good story even though I didn't read the first two books of this series. I would read another book by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    Excellent read?

    This series has become my favorite of all time. I am about to start on the fourth book. I am also looking into other series by this talented writer. I've read up to this point in a little under a week, you'll be hooked! Highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2014

    RiverClan

    The old clan is back! Silverstream and Graystripe had a kit and named it Icekit. Icekit never met the old leader. Then his deputy was Silverstream. The new leader gave Icekit a new name. Icepaw. Her mentor was Thornclaw. When she was done, everyone found out that the leader lost all 9 lives. Silverstream became Silverstar. She named Icepaw Icepelt. Icepelt went to the twoleg place. She saw a twoleg makeing clothes. She then tried to make some of her own. She called it 'twoleg fur'. She made Silverstar a skirt. It had brown, green, red, and blond waves. The brown was from thin parts of wood and brown twoleg hair. The green was from grass. The red was from twoleg hair. The blond was also from twoleg hair. Every new member of RiverClan gets twoleg fur. All you have to do is ask if you can join and tell Icepelt what color(s) you want. River res. 2 is map. We need a deputy. - Silverstar

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2014

    Borrow if you must read this mish mash

    Religious theme does nothing for story but suspect put in to get readers who avoid mysteries. Just poor writing and should have had an editor revise manuscript before printing actually the murder is never mentioned in story ubtil the very last and even then he still never shows up only his assistant! and has no relation to anyone or anything in past or present all being red herrings and poor plot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2014

    Lilywolf to Mouseheart (On Computer)
    (Oh my gosh he is s

    Lilywolf to Mouseheart (On Computer) <br />

    (Oh my gosh he is so funny! XD And this is where it will really get interesting! But should Lilywolf act like she's in love with X like we were thinking? Cause right now she is totally going to blow everything and then X won't be able to keep control of Goldy! Lol so he better tell her how she must act (probably gonna have to include some threats) or she's just going to waltz into camp and be like, &quot;Hey guys this cat is evil. He's threatening me with trapping Goldenstar and forcing me to be his mate. Really don't love him. Can you help me out?&quot; :P Haha I'll be on from 3:30 p.m. central time onward but I can read your posts even before then!) Lilywolf smirks a bit and meows, &quot;Oh I'm annoying you? That's nice to know. I'll be sure to keep up the good work!&quot; Suddenly she leaps to her paws as Redspirit's mentor says they are going to visit Goldenstar, her eyes wide with fear. The tabby has no idea what the dark tom plans to do but if she is there she is certain she can stop him. Narrowing her ice blue eyes, she charges after him, using all her will to keep a fast sprint. &quot;He will not harm a single hair on anyone's pelt as long as I'm around! I'll show him! One wrong move and he'll have me to contend with! Going to the waking world is a mistake. I have many more allies than he does there and I'm sure together we can defeat him!&quot; She thinks as the pair races through The Dark Forest and towards Horseclan. Lilywolf becomes more and more assured of her plan and savors the thought of destroying the dark tom and returning home. - Lilywolf (my heart doesn't post right!)

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2014

    Phantom

    When he hears Lilywolf stir he doesn't turn to say anything or acknowledge her, his gaze is focused on the land surrounding them. He realizes Lilywolf's sudden change in behavior was most likely due to an effort to save her kit, but he honestly didn't care about motives. Phantom's jaw strenches in a yawn but halfway through snaps shut as the tabby presses herself against him and hints at more. But if Velvetpaw was gone who else was she protecting? She couldn't possibly have changed so quickly...With all these thoughts tumbling around in his mind he only gives the shecat a silent nod as she goes to find something to eat. While she is away Phantom again begins to groom his pelt, which now smelled of Lilywolf almost just as much as it held his own scent. Of all the few things he is ignorant to, a shecats mind is the most puzzling to him. The moment he believes he understands how to control one, they do something completely unexplainable. But at least Lilywolf's change doesn't upset his plans, maybe it may even help, although he admits it will take some getting used to. "Good catch," he meows at her return, trying hard and failing at hiding a slightly pleased smile (lets just say he's not smiling at the fish heehee 0_0) Crouching before a fish and taking a few bites, the grey tom is finished eating when half the fish is gone. Years of residing in the Dark Forest has forced him to become an extremely light eater, and half a fish was enough to make him feel he'd overeaten. Phantom sits by Lilywolf and begins grooming again. He grooms often times to calm his nerves and as much as he hates to admit it, Lilywolf's boldness makes him still slightly nervous as he isn't sure how to behave. But eventually the grey tom leans over and starts grooming Lilywolf's perfectly clean tabby pelt. Starting at her shoulder with teasingly light strokes, Phantom works down to her side and finds his way to her flank where he begins exploring every last inch of her body.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2014

    Lilywolf

    (Haha yes when you consider the alternatives he certainly could have had worse! :P Oh Phantom. We will honor you in our memories of how much we hate you! Lol! ;) ) Lilywolf watches with her heart pounding as Phantom sinks into her. She must resist a shudder and a cry of protest. But her plan has worked and she can't mess it up now. The shecat only has one shot at this and it is her only card left to play, no matter how sickening. "I have to do this... I can do this." She tells herself. As the grey tom licks her neck, she continues her fake purring, waiting for him to relax entirely. Then she lets all her memories of his evilness flow through her. Slowly the shecat's ice blue eyes turn into slits as she remembers Phantom kidnapping her, forcing her to reject Goldenstar, tearing apart her clan, raping her, and nearly killing Velvetpaw. All of her hatred boils within her and the shecat slowly unsheaths her claws, hidden to Phantom. As he continues kissing her neck, Lilywolf sighs and whispers, "You know Phantom, all this time I thought you were a terrible cat. I thought you were a foxhearted murderer and selfish coward who cared nothing for the cats around him, only revenge." As Phantom props himself up slightly and looks into her eyes, she thinks determinedly, "Not yet... not yet... NOW!" Staring up into Phantom's eyes, she meows confidently, "But now I know without a doubt... that I was right!!!" The deputy suddenly lurches upward and clamps her jaws on his throat, her gaze furious. With a massive crunch she bites down with all her strength, feeling blood rush into her mouth and fatally crushing the grey tom's windpipe. Shoving him out of her with great satisfaction, the tabby rears up and falls foward, forcing Phantom onto his back. Then Lilywolf pins Phantom to the ground, her jaws still embedded in his neck. Ripping out his throat, she holds him down with her clawed paw held firmly on his chest. "You stupid arrogant tom! Did you honestly think I could ever love you after all you've done?! You stole my life, my mate, my clan, my dignity, and nearly my daughter's life! But now I will get everything back while you die because of your own foolish desires! This was all too easy! You will not have your revenge! Goldenstar wins and Horseclan will live on! Without you Redspirit will be easily taken care of and we will restore our clan to greater glory! It must be a shame for all your hard work to amount to nothing. But you already were nothing and that is all you ever will be." Glaring down at the struggling tom with comtempt, she hisses, "Die quickly Phantom! I have a life and a real warrior to get back to." ~ Lilywolf &hearts

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2014

    Phantom

    Phantom almost misses when Lilywolf starts speaking but eventually her words make him nervous and he sits up to meet her gaze. Before what she says can sink in, she has her jaws around his neck and he feels searing pain as she pushes him off and onto his back. He let's out a gurgled yowl and as she rips apart his throat he can't even manage to fight back. "Li-lil-" he murmers as his vision blurs with blackness. He glares hatefully at the shecat but the glare is soon replaced with a dull haze as his misty colored eyes fade and blood gushes from his throat. Moments later his milky grey shadow pelt begins to fade away. It is eventually replaced by nothing more than a shadowy ghostlike outline of Phantom until he is simply no more

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Hill recommended mystery

    Good mystery, always enjoy her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Another great read----does not disappoint.

    Once again, couldn't put this book of Terri' down. Another winner that needs to be in every fan's collection, and if you're not a fan, start with any series, and you soon will be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Price

    This book is only &1,99 on kindle

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I love reading Terri Blackstock!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    Lved It!

    I just could'nt stop reading!!Would recommend this book to anybody GREAT READ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    I loved this book in the Cape Refuge series.

    Even if this book is your first to read in the Cape Refuge series, you won't be lost. Terri has done an excellent job. It's also interesting to see where the relationship where Blair and Cade will go. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2006

    Best Story I have read in a long time

    This was a great book. Kept me interested the entire time. Didn't want to put it down. I have read all of this series and didn't want it to end. Great christian input just where it should be. Highly recommend this book....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2004

    The Best of the Cape Refuge Series Yet!

    Terri Blackstock does it again! In this third book in her Cape Refuge continuing series, intrigue, suspense, and revisiting of characters makes this book a must-read. Fast paced, with several unexpected twists and turns, River's Edge is a delight to read! Be warned--you won't be able to put this one down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3