Customer Reviews for

Rivers of Fire (Atherton Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Great seires

    I have read the first book it was such a cliff hanger!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Attention futuristic readers!

    The sequel to The House of Power was another great accomplishment by Patrick Carman. Each chapter was so intriging that I had to go on to the next. The suspenseful adventures of Edgar, Samuel, and Isabelle kept me hanging until the last sentence. I highly recommend this book for readers who like futuristic books!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Great book

    Carman's writing style is magnificent! This book is just as great, if not better than the first book, "The House of Power". Definitely recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Patrick Carman is at it again.

    There were more weird creatures than the first one,but an awesome sequel for Atherton.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Irresistible Mix of Suspense and Mystery!

    "Rivers of Fire," by Patrick Carman is packed full of a unique mix of suspense and mystery which makes it irresistible and appealing to all readers! This second "Atherton" novel is even better and more action-packed than its predecessor and contains many surprising twists and turns which will surely have you gasping! As you get to know all the characters better, you just get more caught up in this intricately-woven story! With a satisfying ending in which every problem finally seems to be solved, "Rivers of Fire" will leave you wondering what book three is about and eager to find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by LaLeesha Haynes for TeensReadToo.com

    RIVERS OF FIRE is the sequel to the first book in the ATHERTON series, THE HOUSE OF POWER, by Patrick Carman. The book contains a great synopsis of the first book and a list of main characters that allows a person who has not read the first title to enjoy this second book. Although, I would still suggest reading the first book, because without it, character-driven activities and background can still be confusing at the beginning of the story.

    During this book, we see Isabel and Samuel work together to seek out the truth to the collapse of Atherton and face the dangers of the world that they are realizing they barely understood. There is also Edgar, who embarks on a journey of his own to find Dr. Harding, the only man believed to understand the devastation and how to recapture peace in Atherton.

    As these young people meet their destinies, there is a great deal of danger, action, and mystery to keep the reader interested in their plight. They begin to realize how fragile their planet truly is, and the repercussions of changing things in their eco-system; which provokes thoughts and concerns about the struggles of our time and creating a sustainable Earth.

    Carman creates a world in Atherton that allows the reader to tackle some major modern concerns while following the well-developed characters of Edgar, Samuel, and Isabel through their own coming-of-age journeys.

    RIVERS OF FIRE keeps the reader interested and is a great fantasy book for young adults and reluctant readers. There are even simple illustrations that add to the overall ease of imagination and story development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2008

    A reviewer

    The first book before this was amazing, i couldn't put it down. I cannot wait until this book comes out, i and so excited!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1