Customer Reviews for

The Rivers of Zadaa (Pendragon Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 173 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    BEST SERIES EVER!!!

    Pendragon: The Rivers Of Zadaa by D.J. Machale Reviewed by Cliff Heller What is more stressful than worrying about one world? Worrying about two! In the sixth book of D.J. Machale¿s series, Pendragon: The Rivers Of Zadaa, Bobby finds himself worrying about Zadaa and what Saint Dane has done on Second Earth. If you haven¿t read the previous Pendragon books, then don¿t read on! The curious, brave, and unexpecting Bobby Pendragon will find something about the Travelers that will change him forever. In this book, we find Bobby in a hot and dry desert which is known as Zadaa. Bobby and the fellow Travelers have to stop the Batu tribe, of above ground, and the Rokadore tribe, of below ground, from having a war over a drought that is affecting both tribes. In this book, Saint Dane changes in a violent way. Saint Dane lets his anger overcome him from fear of losing the war. D.J. Machale uses a special type of writing that puts a clear picture of the character, setting, and plot. He describes what the people are wearing, what there facial expression look like, and other things. Machale stresses that Saint Dane changes a lot in this book, then from the first book. He used to be so calm and he would try to trick the enemy, but now he is using violence to solve his problems. Machale surprises the reader by making Saint Dane almost kill Bobby. Andy Mitchel, a bully who haunted Mark for a long time, has changed a lot in this book as well. Machale shows how he goes from evil bully to a smart kid that has a lot in common with Mark. These are some of the things that Machale shows in this story. This book you will never want to put down. It is so exciting that it will be glued to your hands. The excitement that you will experience in the Pendragon books is unspeakable. It will make you want to keep on reading to see what will happen next. But before you read this book make sure that you read the other books in the Pendragon series first. This will be the best series you will ever read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Love it

    Love all of these books and these just keep getting better and better but not everything keeps getting better like eelationsjips with boys sand i know that because i HAD a boyfriend and he dumped me soo ya i know about all that and im only in 5 th grade and 10 years old bur definat,ly read these awsome books if u boat this app already dont regret it and if u havent boat this app yet get ut its totally worth the 8.99 i luv them im suprised they arnt like 20.00 thays how good they are but u can only read these books if u r over 10 or r 10 because they say some pretty bad words and i know if i had a kid under the age of 10 i wouldnt let them read these books nut thats just my oppinian hope these helped u and get this book it s the best and is TOTALLY BEASTLY

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Pendragon #6,"The Rivers of Zadaa"

    Pendragon, book six, "The Rivers of Zadaa" is written by D.J MacHale. This book was published by Simon and Schuster children's publishing division. This book is AWESOME; it was the very first series I've ever read. Once I started to read it, I almost couldn't put it down. A young teenage boy of about sixteen, named Bobby Pendragon, has had many things happen to him up to this point while he's been the lead traveler. He is also the traveler from Third Earth. He has been faced with many challenges in his previous adventures taking place in the other territories around the galaxy. He has had to make many important decisions in this book and almost all of them go against everything his Old Uncle Press has ever taught him. The evil traveler, Sainte Dane, has brought the fight to Loor (a female warrior), the traveler from Zadaa, who has wanted revenge on him ever since he had killed her mother. How will Bobby Pendragon and Loor defeat Sainte Dane before he destroys another territory? All the answers are in Pendragon book six, "The Rivers of Zadaa". Bobby is strong willing and a great leader, while Loor is a great warrior who is skilled in combat, but can also have a soft side. They are going to have to work together to save Zadaa and take Sainte Dane down.

    This by far has been my favorite series I've read. This was also on the New York Times best selling series. After reading part of the Pendragon Series, I wanted to compare it to the Harry Potter series to see how good it really was. I will say that I like the Pendragon series much more than the Harry Potter series. This book is an adventure full of action and danger at every corner you take through this book. You'll be surprised at what will happen in the end and what fate awaits the territory Zadaa. I would recommend this book to anybody over the age of thirteen and up to eighteen to read this book and the rest of the series. If you're into action, adventure and a constant heart beating danger of what's around the corner, this is the series for you. There are ten books in the pendragon series, all of them have a different adventures and new characters. This book, out of the series, so far is my favorite.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This was another highlight book for me as I read the series. I l

    This was another highlight book for me as I read the series. I liked Loor from when you first see her earlier in the series. I was glad that MacHale took us to her homeland. The tribes reminded me of tribes similar in Africa. Bobby also starts evolving as a character as he's getting older. It's a good time and  place in the series for him to start growing up and changing. This brings an intensity and danger to the series as things get more serious and more questions keep coming

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2014

    AWESOME

    I just couldnt put the book down. It left me on the edge of my seat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    AWESOME

    Yeh this book and seres is great:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    The rivers of Zadaa

    Great book and a suprising ending on Zadaa and with Courtney.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Amazing adventure

    I love how the author uses baseball teams as Bobby Pendragons cover story!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    River of Zadda

    I think it was the best book yet!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Awesome

    My favorite book in the series. Twist at the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Good book

    These pendragon books are great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    AWESOME!

    Its a page turning event that will keep you going for hours! Every page has suprised me with either awe or fear of what will happen next to the heroes that we have been following since book 1.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    Do not be dissapointed

    This is a nice follow up to the fifth book. Very well written. I am in love with Spader, Loor, and Bobby. Hobey-ho mates

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    i love it lots!

    these books are amazing. for die hard sci fiction and fiction readers you'll love it! this book tells of Bobby Pendragons adventures on a deserted teritory called velox. where is everyone? you'll have to find out! Bobby is being told to back off and go home by the traveler of velox, Aja Kilian. she is being a bully to Bobby, but eventually they work something out and what happens? i'd recomendnthis series to anyone. they are great!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    Another Great Part of the Pendragon Series

    it's another wonderful book in this series. It's nice to see into Loor's homeworld. You can really see the characters developing and growing up. If you're just starting this series you must start from the first one, I don't think I would have understood this one without starting from book 1. My one and only issue with this book it the absolutely atrocious cover image. I mean...ew. Like there's a creepy looking person--no idea whether it is male or female, although I'm assuming it's Pendragon--looking at god knows what, but he's squinting like he's looking at the sun. And he's wearing some sort of ugly white turtleneck. Or something. Not loving it. It's not at all like the white clothes I imagined him to be wearing from the actual story. And then there's this ape with green skin in the background that I'm assuming is Loor? And while Pendragon is staring at something off to the side, the ape is looking straight at us. Anyhoo, apart from the hideous cover image that makes me laugh every time I see it, it's a wonderful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Pendragon

    My girls and I loved this book and the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Amazing Installment

    The Rivers of Zaada was another amazing installment in the Pendragon series. D.J. MacHale is truly an amazing author with an amazing story line. Each Pendragon book continues to impress me more and this one was no different. The characters, as always, are beautifully shaped and come to life in your mind. The story takes many surprising and unexpected twists with which I'm sure you'll love. The ending is the best part, so you have to read all of it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Zadaa!

    This book was great! I loved that Bobby is starting to find himself in this book. Obviously if your going to start Pendragon you need to start it from the beginning of the series. But if you are just finding this book and reading it you may not understand all of what is going on even though the writer does catch you up in the beginning of the books. Other wise Zadaa was great and I am glad to see Bobby and Loor growing up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    The second best in the series...so far...

    Now Pendragon goes to Zadaa, Loor's homeland that struggles to keep the two tribes from killing each other over water. In this one, MacHale really shows us that this world can be like ours, how people fight with each other over resources to live. This is the most humanly authentic story in the series so far, and everything is done well. You won't regret reading this amazing series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    Go Pendragon!

    I loved this book and the others in the series! Pendragon is my new official series, I like it better than Harry Potter. It only took a little over a week for me to read all 8 books! In this book, Bobby works with Loor, Saangi, and Alder in Zadaa to try and prevent civil war and drought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7