Customer Reviews for

Riversong

Average Rating 4
( 259 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(92)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

A promising debut

While this isn't a genre I typically read, I enjoyed many elements of Riversong, a promising debut novel by Tess Hardwick. It has a cast of quirky small-town characters, a swift-moving plot, and an even mix of romance and angst that chick lit fans will enjoy. At the sam...
While this isn't a genre I typically read, I enjoyed many elements of Riversong, a promising debut novel by Tess Hardwick. It has a cast of quirky small-town characters, a swift-moving plot, and an even mix of romance and angst that chick lit fans will enjoy. At the same time, the book features occasional snippets of prose that are achingly beautiful and powerfully written, on par with the best in women's fiction. The book does contain some typographical errors and, if you're a stickler for that, you will find it distracting. Still, Riversong is a solid debut overall, and I look forward to reading future books by Hardwick and seeing how she grows into her literary voice.

posted by jmccannAZ on June 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Meh.

Somethinh is very strange to me in the way rhis author writes. Perhaps it has a rushed feel, however, she had to cover a great amount of time in only so many pages... it was just mediocre to me.

posted by Anonymous on October 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    Meh.

    Somethinh is very strange to me in the way rhis author writes. Perhaps it has a rushed feel, however, she had to cover a great amount of time in only so many pages... it was just mediocre to me.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Eh...

    Not sure where all the glowing reviews are coming from or what you people normally read but this is just an ok story, very amatuerish and almost as though she has never written anything in her life. I am still attempting to fight the boredom and get through it though.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    Needs a good editor!

    Overall, I enjoyed the story. However, I am one of those people who is distracted by missing words, grammatical errors, typos, and bad transitions. Anyone know how I can sign on as an editor?

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    I'll start off saying that I really did enjoy this book. That sa

    I'll start off saying that I really did enjoy this book. That said, it was the kind of book that you read, then process, and pick up again. It didn't bother me to put it down, but I looked forward to picking it again. Does that make sense? I liked the characters, the story flow, and the overall plot. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Easy fast read.

    I enjoyed the story very much. It would be great to take to the beach.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Good story but...

    An unbelievable amount of typos!!! Really spoils the impact of the story.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Good Read!

    Good read - keeps your interest!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    A middle of the road book

    This 240 page, book was ok. Cost $2.99. Lots of errors. Sometimes even the names of the characters were misspelled. For example a point was made that Cindi's name was with an i not a y, then later it was spelled as Cindy. The ending was totally unbelivable. There was a lot of unneeded information provided also. This book started out great, became slow, then changed directions completely by turning into a Christian testamonial about page 140, which continued off and on through the rest of the book. I do not mind Christian literture, but this abrupt change of genre was puzzling. There is unmarried sex, some violence, drug use and drug sales, which everyone is aware of, but does nothing to stop. For ages 18 and up.

    AD

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Decent

    This book had a lot of potential that it never obtained. The plot was there to make an exciting book but it just never came together just right. The end was very predictable and very cliche. I actually became bored in the last fifty pages because it was suvh formula writing. I would not recommend this book to friends.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Great enjoyable read!

    I really enoyed this book. It was a nice easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Ok

    The ending was rushed. It seemed like she eanted to finish the book without putting enough effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Good read.

    Good read kept my interest easily because I am from Oregon and it takes place there I had more of an intrest in the book. worth the two dollars and ninety nine cents to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3