Customer Reviews for

The Road Less Traveled

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of the best!

I think this is a book a lot of people could benifit from. It is a very easy to read book, very informative, and very inspiring. If you like psychology, or you are just looking to understand your own life, this book will help! It is a wonderful book, and I am happy ...
I think this is a book a lot of people could benifit from. It is a very easy to read book, very informative, and very inspiring. If you like psychology, or you are just looking to understand your own life, this book will help! It is a wonderful book, and I am happy to say that it is one of the best that I have ever read!

posted by Anonymous on April 2, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Loved the first half of the book....

The ideas presented in this book were derived from Dr. Peck's clinical work with patients. As a psychiatrist, he believes psychotherapy provides guidance in the process of mental and spiritual growth. I found some of his ideas to be truth in it's purest form and the...
The ideas presented in this book were derived from Dr. Peck's clinical work with patients. As a psychiatrist, he believes psychotherapy provides guidance in the process of mental and spiritual growth. I found some of his ideas to be truth in it's purest form and then I was very 'disturbed' by some statements which I felt would just be immoral. I liked the idea of life being a series of challenges which evoke various feelings. I felt that perhaps a challenge could also evoke good feelings, but Dr. Peck focused on frustration, grief, sadness, loneliness, guilt, regret, anger, fear, anxiety, anguish and despair. He says that people tend to avoid problems to avoid emotional suffering. He believes this is the primary basis of all human mental illness. He says that 'discipline' is the tool you need to solve life's problems. These tools include delaying gratification, acceptance of responsibility, dedication to truth and balancing. His basic theory is that love is the motivation and energy behind the discipline. With all that I could agree. Just as I turned the 174th page, I was surprised to find a statement which I am wondering if any of the other reviewers read? I read a statement on page 175 which made me lose all the respect I had built up for Dr. Peck. He didn't just go overboard, the ship sank! This is the sentence: 'Moreover, were I ever to have a case in which I concluded after careful and judicious consideration that my patient's spiritual growth would be substantially furthered by our having sexual relations, I would proceed to have them. ' - page 175 Shocked? I sure was! This seriously makes me think that women should only see a female psychologist and men should only see a male psychologist. And on that page, I closed the book! To me, that is taking advantage of a patient and it is inexcusable! While he claims never to have done this, I was still shocked that he would even put that in his book. So, if you choose to buy this book, I loved it up to page 174...after that, I felt very uncomfortable and simply decided not to read any further. I wish I could be more positive about this book.

posted by Anonymous on March 13, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2000

    One of the best!

    I think this is a book a lot of people could benifit from. It is a very easy to read book, very informative, and very inspiring. If you like psychology, or you are just looking to understand your own life, this book will help! It is a wonderful book, and I am happy to say that it is one of the best that I have ever read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2009

    Wonderful Book

    I read this book when I was 17 living with two alcoholic, abusive parents and did not I guess realize what I had my hands on. Recently over 30 years later I read it again and found it to be a wonderful gift to myself reading this book. I would recommend it to everyone but especially to those who are having difficulty dealing with life from the past or present. It is simply inspiring...not really simply but inspiring the same.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book helped me through a difficult time in my life and kept me on the right track when I was likely to step-off. Since that time, I frequently visit the 'Discipline' and 'Love' sections (my favorite parts). He does not beat-around-the-bush. He gets right to the point with his first three words: life is difficult. Before I found Peck I thought life was supposed to be easy and problems were to be avoided at all costs. Now I think quite differently. Life is essentially a set of problems that must be confronted. Since my initial read eight years ago, I have gone back several times when I am faced with critical and difficult times. Not only is it extremely useful, it is also quite entertaining and well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2000

    This a definitive book, a classic of its kind

    When The Road Less Traveled was first published, and Scott Peck was making endless personal appearances--before the books was well known, I was corresponding with him.<P> This is a seminal work, of immense value, written by a truly sensitive man who has the background, the education, the experience and the insight into the human condition to do his subject justice.<P> He is well-respected by his peers, as well. I knew a psychiatrist who worked with him in Washington, D.C. Walter (his first name) was impressed with Scott long before he wrote of his experiences, and the conclusions he drew from them.<P> In our correspondence, I recognized a thread, and told Scott that he was a mystic. He answered that he had studied Zen, but that he was a 'Christian mystic.'<P> I recommend this book, and its author. You should read it.<P>

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    The Road Less Traveled is my all-time favorite book. It gave me

    The Road Less Traveled is my all-time favorite book. It gave me a new perspective on faith and encouraged me to continue my study of psychology.



    Ann Brown

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2005

    Second only to the Bible

    This is truly one of greatest books ever written. This should be required reading in universities, high schools, etc. the world over. This book can take its reader to a level of maturity with the ability to love others and himself that he never thought possible. Scott Peck has given the world a true gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2003

    life changing

    This book has changed every single aspect of my life. It not only helped me to understand myself, but also helped me to understand everyone around me. This book is a must read for life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2003

    A Great Book on Love and Religion

    A great book. As a 26 yr old, I especially find the section on love valuable. The author emphasizes the importance of parenting, and gives fresh insights to love and religion. Most important of all, the author encourages his readers to actively solve many life¿s problems, and to view life¿s problems as opportunities to grow mentally and spiritually.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2002

    The First and Best of a Genre

    This book is not just a self-help book; it is primarily the author's spiritual philosophy. M. Scott Peck, a psychiatrist, wrote this book in 1978, and it's as fresh today as it was then. The format is such that the book can be used as a reference. It is filled with stories of Peck's personal struggles and case studies from his practice, all of which serve to clarify points and to help readers overcome problems. Peck, however, has provided us with the best merger of psychology and spirituality I have ever read. He makes it clear that mental health and spiritual growth are the same thing, which is unusual considering most in his field try to condemn anything related to God. As for style and content, Peck is obviously building towards the fourth and last section titled 'Grace.' The first three sections are written in a simplistic yet thorough manner so that Peck can reach a wide audience and to ensure that all readers are on the same page. He talks about discipline, love, religion, and the tunnel vision of the scientific community. The concepts developed in these sections prepare the layman for the section on grace, which by itself is worth the price of the book. It is also where Peck gets a bit controversial. Notwithstanding, you have to admire Peck's honesty and forthrightness. He has produced a special book that should be required reading for every teenager and anyone else looking for a better understanding of life and how to live it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2002

    This book is a must for most anyone

    This is a fabulous concept for those exploring truth, vs dogma. But again, good for those with dogma. Either know what I mean or don't. But a must read for all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2001

    How to Return to Christianity

    This book single-handed brought me back from years of skepticism about the role of Christianity in my life. Peck writes with such clarity on love, discipline and responsibility and does a masterful job in attempting to help us make peace with God and religion. The book is not religious in nature, but spiritual and just a tad 'new age'. As a Christian counselor, I give this book to all I counsel. The Road Less Traveled will give you a new and more spiritual perspective and is practical enough to bring about real change. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2001

    We should all travel the road to spiritual growth.

    Awesome. Anyone who wants to know how to grow spiritually, how to love and live a better life should read this book. If the chapters on love, discipline and responsibility were read and practiced by everyone, this would be a wonderful world. As a Christian counselor, I give this book my highest recommendation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2001

    Profound, Readable

    Peck has that certain gift which defines a true teacher: he can take profound and complex truths, and hand them to the layman in digestible terms. This particular book is one of the most illuminating and comprehensive books on personal growth that I have ever read. It easily warrants several re-readings. He draws from his wealth of eminently successful experience in psychiatric practice, and from his vast knowledge of man as a spiritual being to craft what is, essentially, a handbook for personal development. Peck's views are not easily pigeonholed into any particular category. The liberal will likely call him too conservative, and conservatives will definitely label him a liberal. It could be, however, that his insight transcends the barriers that divide us into camps. Guaranteed to challenge the mind and inspire the soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2001

    Book for the Bruised and Confused

    Life is filled with pain and joy. Peck sugarcoats nothing in The Road Less Traveled. I trust what proves to be true in the real world and it is with that in mind that I think Peck's book is one of truth -- how to live a meaningful life stripped down to the true, but oft-ignored fundamentals. I reccommend this book to anyone who is going through the rough times in life. The first sentence says it all: 'Life is difficult.' How often we try to forget.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2001

    A powerful book

    The writing in this book is practical and clear and makes so much sense that at the end of each passage you will wonder how you haven't thought of it before. This is one of the few books I have read more than once, and that's because from time to time I have to remind myself of what I already know. I have recommended this book for everyone I have had a chance. It doesn't matter whether you have some knowledge of psychology or not, the language is simple for anybody to understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2000

    Wonderful

    As a therapist I frequently recommend this book and the book An Encounter With A Prophet to my patients

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2000

    What a Great Book!

    This book is wonderfully written by Peck. It really got me thinking and change my attitude towards other people and life itself. I recommend it everybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2000

    EXCELLENT!

    Very informative and really great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2