Customer Reviews for

The Road Through Wonderland: Surviving John Holmes

Average Rating 4.5
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

COULD NOT PUT THIS BOOK DOWN

I originally read a short writeup about this book in a magazine about a month ago and immediately went out to buy it. From the moment that I started reading, I could not put this book down. I did not regret my purchase in the least and have found that since I have finis...
I originally read a short writeup about this book in a magazine about a month ago and immediately went out to buy it. From the moment that I started reading, I could not put this book down. I did not regret my purchase in the least and have found that since I have finished the book, I cannot get Dawn's heartbreaking story of resilience and survival out of my head. I was drawn in from the beginning as the story of Dawn's life unfolded in my hands. It is so well written that at times I felt as if I were living in her nightmare. Time after time I would ask my self, "What else can this girl endure?" I agree with other reviewers that this book was quite depressing at times (and that I, too, was worried about Thor); however, it is DEFINITELY worth the read. Dawn is a true inspiration to women and teens alike. I thought that I might be interested in seeing the movie, Wonderland, which was the catalyst for this book, but I have been told that it is not a true depiction of Dawn's story so I have decided not to see it. Dawn was able to turn the horrific experiences of drug addiction, abuse and prostitution into the positive creation of an organization called E.S.T.E.A.M. She is an amazing person and I highly, highly recommend this book to anyone who doubts resiliency and the human spirit.

posted by B_Prutch on October 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Don't Bother

Dawn Schiller was a terribly troubled youngster who became involved with the infamous John Holmes. The reader will certainly understand her tragic upbringing, but will come away wondering what part Holmes actually played in her life. He could easily been any other old...
Dawn Schiller was a terribly troubled youngster who became involved with the infamous John Holmes. The reader will certainly understand her tragic upbringing, but will come away wondering what part Holmes actually played in her life. He could easily been any other older, drug addled child molester. You will know who Dawn Schiller was, but you won't have much understanding of who she is today, nor will you understand much about John Holmes.

posted by AikiMIke on June 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    COULD NOT PUT THIS BOOK DOWN

    I originally read a short writeup about this book in a magazine about a month ago and immediately went out to buy it. From the moment that I started reading, I could not put this book down. I did not regret my purchase in the least and have found that since I have finished the book, I cannot get Dawn's heartbreaking story of resilience and survival out of my head. I was drawn in from the beginning as the story of Dawn's life unfolded in my hands. It is so well written that at times I felt as if I were living in her nightmare. Time after time I would ask my self, "What else can this girl endure?" I agree with other reviewers that this book was quite depressing at times (and that I, too, was worried about Thor); however, it is DEFINITELY worth the read. Dawn is a true inspiration to women and teens alike. I thought that I might be interested in seeing the movie, Wonderland, which was the catalyst for this book, but I have been told that it is not a true depiction of Dawn's story so I have decided not to see it. Dawn was able to turn the horrific experiences of drug addiction, abuse and prostitution into the positive creation of an organization called E.S.T.E.A.M. She is an amazing person and I highly, highly recommend this book to anyone who doubts resiliency and the human spirit.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    HONEST..HEART BREAKING..INSPIRING..MUST READ!

    Young women need to read this book. This is a must read for anyone who likes TRUE LIFE stories. This is an gripping non sugar coated biography. I loved the complete honesty that Dawn shares in her book. I am an avid reader and I can tell you I have read this book three times since I bought it. I take away something different each time I read it. DAWN YOU ARE AN INSPIRATION!! I did not know anything about John Holmes or the Wonderland murders when I purchased this book and I am really glad I didn't because I got to see the true story through Dawn's memories..I LOVE THIS BOOK!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Great Read!

    What a sad story! I'm glad she came through everything basically all right, but what an emotional nightmare. The story was well written, and despite knowing where it was going to end, I was still blindsided a few times.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    AMAZING, Highly Recommended~especially for teenage girls and women!

    The Road Through Wonderland is hands down, the most amazing book I have ever read, in my 53 years of life. I would suggest readers take their time reading, to really 'feel and connect' with Author Dawn Schiller. Feeling her emotions, high's and low's...happy and sad...lost and found, just to be lost all over again. It took complete raw courage to put in to words, this experience no woman should ever endure. As a young teen, when Dawn should have been hanging out with friends and making everlasting memories, while dreaming of things to come true~her life was anything but. By the pure grace of God, Dawn lived to share her remarkable story. By doing so, I truly and firmly believe, lives will be SAVED and abuse will be prevented in the lives of others. The Road Through Wonderland would be a great addition to every young woman's library. Do not let the idea of John Holmes being characterized in the book, prevent you or your daughters, sisters, neices, etc. from reading the greatest 'awareness' book for young women, ever. This book is not about John Holmes...it's about surviving the abuse he put Dawn through. A true testament of survival, clearly written with real, raw emotion and heart. My life is forever changed and I thank Dawn Schiller for this new empowerment, of working even more to help teens with prevention and awarenss. To reach out unconditionally, with open arms, to those who've endured abuse. Dawn Schiller is truly~an Angel on earth!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Amazing book!

    What an amazing story of survival and bravery. I just finished it an hour ago and still am emotional. Thank you so much for sharing your story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Awesome!

    It was an easy read but it was hard to put the book down. Intense and crazy real life stuff that pple forget happens. I even started a mini research project he was NOT handsome but we was packing a really big deal...

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Wow

    It has been days since I finished this book and it is just burned in my brain. To overcome such continued strife for such a long period of time is remarkable. This story is well written and I highly reccomend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Could not put it down read straight thru.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    good read

    If you like true stories, this is a great read!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Great Book!

    I seriously could not put this book down! It was well written and answered many questions that have never been answered of John Holmes. Definitely shows a different side of the star. It is unfortunate that his life turned out the way it did.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Wonderfully Inspirational, But Sad...

    I have been obsessed with the Wonderland murders ever since seeing the movie. When I found out that a book had been written, by the girlfriend of the main player...I could not purchase this book fast enough, hoping to glean some new insight into the murders.

    This book hardly even touches on the murders themselves, but focuses more on the relationship between Dawn and John, from it's beginning (through devastating physical and mental abuse) to it's end.

    This book is fascinating, it's horrifying, it's sad, it's inspirational, and all around a great read.

    This one is HIGHLY recommended.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    Don't Bother

    Dawn Schiller was a terribly troubled youngster who became involved with the infamous John Holmes. The reader will certainly understand her tragic upbringing, but will come away wondering what part Holmes actually played in her life. He could easily been any other older, drug addled child molester. You will know who Dawn Schiller was, but you won't have much understanding of who she is today, nor will you understand much about John Holmes.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    Loved this book

    I could not stop reading this book. It is very well written and overall a captivating read. I watched the movie wonderland and it was really interesting for me to learn morw about Dawn. I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    Intense

    This book was intense. i couldnt put it down. its a must read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    Very highly rcommended, especially for teens

    Excellently written, this book takes you through the most influential years of Dawn Schillers life. What should have been the most exciting and memorable years, turned out instead to be the most traumatic.

    As with so many teens, Dawn felt unwanted by her parents which gave John Holmes the opportunity to move in and use her however he felt was needed so he could continue to do drugs. So well written, you feel as if you are in her shoes through out the entire story.

    This is a book I believe everyone should read, especially teens and anybody who has ever been abused. I also think it should be read by people who haven't been abused because they really need to be aware of the haunting truth and tragic situations that trap a large percentage of both youths and adults. With this awareness, and proper intervention I believe we will see less abuse, human trafficking, drug addiction and other serious problems in our society.

    Dawn is certainly a miracle, she has started several programs to help throw-away teens, abused women and teens, human trafficking and many more.

    It is my wish to see more people take notice and care enough to reach out and help these teens before they have to endure the horrible situations Dawn found herself in.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    This is one of those books I didn't want to end.  I became so wr

    This is one of those books I didn't want to end.  I became so wrapped up in their lives...I now feel like I still need to know how her life is going, today.

    I would recommend this book, highly.  What Dawn went through, no one...especially and young girl...should ever have to go through.  I admire her and
    have so much respect for her.  Very courageous woman.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Poor. Not what you think.

    You will become so bored with hearing about every little detail of this girl's life prior to and with Holmes you will probably just skip to end and forget about the Wonderland murders which is why you are probably interested in reading it in the first place. The book does not provide the kind of crime information about Wonderland you are probably looking to learn about. It is a very boring book that drags on and on about drug abuse.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Definitely a good read!

    I chose this book because of my morbid curiosity of the Wonderland Murders. I've watched movies/documentaries and have read what seems to be about everything on the internet concerning them and one Mr. John Holmes. It was very interesting to read a different side of the story especially from the point of view of a teenager. As I was reading it I was trying to imagine what I would have done if I were Dawn. She has definitely lived quite a life! I truly enjoyed this book and I would highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    I really liked this book. Dawn Schiller is an amazing writer and

    I really liked this book. Dawn Schiller is an amazing writer and an even more amazing woman! The things she went through as a teen until her early 20's would break a lot of people. Dawn decided to change her life around and also start helping other teens that are in a similar situation as she was. After years of finding herself and soul searching she realized that she didn't want to be a victim. She is a survivor. I have the utmost respect for this woman. After I finished her book, I found a way to contact her just to tell her what an inspiration she is to me. I wasn't even expecting her to respond since I'm sure has many people contact her about these things. But to my surprise, she wrote me back and she was so sweet, caring, and compassionate. I absolutely recommend this book! The story will low your mind. What a life Dawn has had... Its also very interesting to read about John Holmes and the Wonderland Murders. It's all from Dawn's perspective of course, but it's interesting to learn what was going on around the time leading up to the murders and even after the murders. I couldn't put this book down. This story touched me in a way that not many have. Especially if you've ever been in an abusive relationship. You just really feel for her. I teared ups few times during the book. It's definitely a great book to read if you're interested in John Holmes/Wonderland. And if not, it's also a great read about a young woman that is addicted to drugs and in an abusive relationship. This is her story and how she survived. It's amazing. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Love this book! I read it in two nights. Dawn is an amazing, strong woman to have survived all she went through. She is a great writer and I just recommend this book to anyone that loves reading period!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6