Customer Reviews for

The Road Through Wonderland: Surviving John Holmes

Average Rating 4.5
( 108 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

COULD NOT PUT THIS BOOK DOWN

I originally read a short writeup about this book in a magazine about a month ago and immediately went out to buy it. From the moment that I started reading, I could not put this book down. I did not regret my purchase in the least and have found that since I have finis...
I originally read a short writeup about this book in a magazine about a month ago and immediately went out to buy it. From the moment that I started reading, I could not put this book down. I did not regret my purchase in the least and have found that since I have finished the book, I cannot get Dawn's heartbreaking story of resilience and survival out of my head. I was drawn in from the beginning as the story of Dawn's life unfolded in my hands. It is so well written that at times I felt as if I were living in her nightmare. Time after time I would ask my self, "What else can this girl endure?" I agree with other reviewers that this book was quite depressing at times (and that I, too, was worried about Thor); however, it is DEFINITELY worth the read. Dawn is a true inspiration to women and teens alike. I thought that I might be interested in seeing the movie, Wonderland, which was the catalyst for this book, but I have been told that it is not a true depiction of Dawn's story so I have decided not to see it. Dawn was able to turn the horrific experiences of drug addiction, abuse and prostitution into the positive creation of an organization called E.S.T.E.A.M. She is an amazing person and I highly, highly recommend this book to anyone who doubts resiliency and the human spirit.

posted by B_Prutch on October 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Don't Bother

Dawn Schiller was a terribly troubled youngster who became involved with the infamous John Holmes. The reader will certainly understand her tragic upbringing, but will come away wondering what part Holmes actually played in her life. He could easily been any other old...
Dawn Schiller was a terribly troubled youngster who became involved with the infamous John Holmes. The reader will certainly understand her tragic upbringing, but will come away wondering what part Holmes actually played in her life. He could easily been any other older, drug addled child molester. You will know who Dawn Schiller was, but you won't have much understanding of who she is today, nor will you understand much about John Holmes.

posted by AikiMIke on June 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted August 14, 2012

    Loved it. I literally could not put it down, even having to lay

    Loved it. I literally could not put it down, even having to lay awkwardly at times as my nook charged while I read, I just couldn't wait to see what happened next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    OMG

    This was such a great book, you can feel dawn's pain. She has been through so much and made it to the other side, thank you for writing this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Wonderful

    U r an amazing writer

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Sad, true, inspirational

    What a wonderful story. Well told, sad, tragic,gripping and leaves you feeling hopeful for Dawn. After, i scoured the internet for more info on all the characters. Amazing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    This book isva must read.extremely well written and amazing

    This book was hands down one of the most amazing harrowing chilling astounding books i have ever read. Dawn I thank.GOD for Your life and for enabling You to share Your story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    an absolute read

    The movie was a joke compared to this book. Well written and hard to put down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    great true story

    better than the movie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    A real page turner

    I was unable to put this book down. It was a haunting story that stayed with me long after I finished reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Good read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    EXCELLENT!!!!!!

    Wonderful book that kept me wanting more! I could not put it down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    Amazing book

    Loved the book. It is insightful and inspirational.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Great story of survival!

    I find this encouraging that even though Dawn was taken advantage of for so long, she was able to escape that and have a life of purpose. A life that she uses now to help others in a similar place in life. I find hers a sad, lost story of survival.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Must read

    This story was very touching. I couldnt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    My son has always had an interest in this subject. I read the re

    My son has always had an interest in this subject. I read the reviews and I bought it  and hardly ever put my Nook down. I also appreciate 
    the fact that this is a "Lend Me" book. It may be off the subject but I think that is the only problem with a Nook is that seldom can you share 
    book and if so just once. 
    The book is awesome and you will be captivated the entire time. I found myself feeling so bad for Dawn and wondering what would have 
    happened had she have made other choices. Of course I understand as a woman that many times we go back when our heart tell us yes
    and our head tells us no. If you want a great read it will be money well spent.         

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    I can't find my original review, so I'll try again. I found thi

    I can't find my original review, so I'll try again.

    I found this story fascinating.  I couldn't wait to pick up where I left off once I put it down.  I felt the struggles Dawn was facing, as though I was there with her.

    I was doing my best to help her through each word that I read.  I couldn't bear to feel her suffering.  This is a story that I never knew existed and although she lived thruogh this hell, it has been brought to the light for others that may be going through this or something similar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Left speachless

    Its horrible to think and read all the horrible things Dawn went through with John. I felt her pain and even cried with her. She is now a better person beause of her past, she is strong!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Bonnierenee

    GOD BLESS DAWN AND SHARON.as hard as it was to read in spots(because of what dawn and sharon as well as sweet pup were going thru)i am so glad i did. I saw the movie and just had to read dawns first person of what she really lived thru.fabulous writting too.wont lie.the movie only seem to try to church up john holmes but no way could u miss the fact john was a scumbag and evil. Val did a great job .showing the facade but letting the viewer know there was a deeper fact than just another victim of drug addiction which led to reading dawns book.Bravo.dawn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Wonderful Wonderland Story!

    This was a wonderfully written story of a young girls life through many years of abuse in all forms. You can tell it took a lot of strength inside her to bring her life out into the pages of this book. I thought it was beautifully written and would recommend this book to anyone looking for a good bio.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Can't stop reading

    Such an amazing horrific story to happen to a teenager. How very brave of Dawn to have shared all of the brutal details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Heart wrenching,

    Amazing story of a amazing woman

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4