Customer Reviews for

Road To Freedom

Average Rating 3.5
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Backoff

The way i have it figure is like that: i don't the criticizing. After all for a writer, any writer, critic is often good feedback because it will help the writer see his or her flaws. But if you're going to write a mean review, it's better for everyone's peace of mind i...
The way i have it figure is like that: i don't the criticizing. After all for a writer, any writer, critic is often good feedback because it will help the writer see his or her flaws. But if you're going to write a mean review, it's better for everyone's peace of mind if you keep your critic to yourself. Think of the writer's feeling. Obviously she's doing something she likes, which is writing. If she made some mistake and failed to noticed them, so waht? No one's perfect. At least you could rry assume that this is her debut as a writer and might not have much experience.
The way you're citicizing her might do her more harm than good. >:/ get a life.

posted by 5369553 on January 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Frustrating

I had hoped "Road To Freedom" had a story worth reading; the title suggested that it did; perhaps it actually does, BUT, the lack a a proofreader who spoke English made it virtually unreadable and impossible to get much past the first 50 pages. In those pages I was int...
I had hoped "Road To Freedom" had a story worth reading; the title suggested that it did; perhaps it actually does, BUT, the lack a a proofreader who spoke English made it virtually unreadable and impossible to get much past the first 50 pages. In those pages I was introduced to a struggle against greed, a struggle for freedom, and an inventive young woman, but the unbelievable word pictures - loosing 60 pounds of weight and not having it noticed by a step sister, in one's face - and gross vocabulary errors, beyond mere malaprops, overpowered the joy of unfolding a grand adventure and replaced it with the frustration of trying to understand the sentences and paragraphs enough so that they could paint the scene that, I suspect,was the author was trying for.

posted by CGLoves2read on March 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    Frustrating

    I had hoped "Road To Freedom" had a story worth reading; the title suggested that it did; perhaps it actually does, BUT, the lack a a proofreader who spoke English made it virtually unreadable and impossible to get much past the first 50 pages. In those pages I was introduced to a struggle against greed, a struggle for freedom, and an inventive young woman, but the unbelievable word pictures - loosing 60 pounds of weight and not having it noticed by a step sister, in one's face - and gross vocabulary errors, beyond mere malaprops, overpowered the joy of unfolding a grand adventure and replaced it with the frustration of trying to understand the sentences and paragraphs enough so that they could paint the scene that, I suspect,was the author was trying for.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    M

    I think all the grammar nazis need to get out of their lazy boy and get a job as an editor, since all of you are so grammar perfect. Give it a rest.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    So Bad Its Funny

    It appears that the author has little grasp of the English language and has no idea what words mean - words are misused throughout this book. The plot makes no sense - its as if the author believes her audience consists of mind readers and can keep up with the jumps she makes from one moment to the next - little to no explanation is given for the leaps in storyline... So little attention has been paid to detail that the author has clearly forgotten which character she is even writing about from one scene to the next, inadvertently inserting the wrong character into scenes repeatedly... Ms. Hubbard is in need of a good editor... Still, it provided some good chuckles, as it was so atrocious you have to laugh... This book was free, and worth every penny....

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    To much drama

    Guys were sluts while the women were terrified Virgins. Book was way too long with to much bs.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Not very good

    Waste of time

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Who proofread this? T Who proofread this? They did a terrible job.

    I'm giving it a one star because it is so hard to concentrate on the story line due to the errors that were not corrected.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Poorly Written

    It amazes me this ever got published. The author clearly doesn't know proper sentence structure or grammar. The plot of the story is not believable. I read approximately one quarter of the book and was disgusted at the quality of writing and deleted it. I am glad it was free. The only thing I wasted was my time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Oih

    Just from the description, i can tell this one is full of errors. The description did not make much sense.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Vulgar

    Did not finish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Not a page turner don't waste your time

    This is my first and last book by Sylvia Hubbard. This book is very poorly written there are too many grammatical errors and it is very difficult to follow.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    n/a

    sorry did not this not to happy with the author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    Oh my

    The author of this novel (?) really should take herself to some English classes - especially ones which emphasize fundamental grammar. The errors made this book extremely hard to follow.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1