Customer Reviews for

Road Trip of the Living Dead

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not my type of book.

    Review by Jen:
    I was excited to have the opportunity to get an advance copy of this book when Mark and I were setting up his promo on the blog. Urban Fantasy is right up the alley of books I enjoy reading. But unfortunately I had trouble getting through the book, only finishing it last night.

    Don't get me wrong, the book wasn't bad... in fact, I found the premise intriguing. Just something about it didn't agree with me. Part of it could be the language and a lot of it was the gore. And I found the footnotes (yes, footnotes in fiction) to be overused and often distracting. But I think the turn off for me was Amanda. I have to like the main characters in the book to enjoy it and more often than not I couldn't like Amanda. I didn't enjoy her sense of humor and snarkiness. And that made for a rough read.

    This is the second book of Amanda's memoirs, following Happy Hour of the Damned. I admit that I felt like I was always a step behind because I haven't read the first book in the series... and recommend that if you're going to try these books, going in order is probably the way to go.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A fun zombie road trip.

    We are six months after the end of Happy Hour of the Damned, and everyone has pretty much moved on since the zombie outbreaks. Gil has started his own Resurrection business, making money turning people undead. While waiting for a client of Gills, recently deceased wealthy-rich man, to rise from the grave Amanda mentions to Wendy and Gil she received a call from her mothers hospice care nurse saying her mother is in ending stages of stomach cancer. With the rising of the new vampire things start to go seriously wrong. A ghost who hates vampires does something to the newly birthing vampire as he is breaking from the earth. Markham is now pissed (ha ha...) and wants a refund and threatens to kill Gil. But Gil hopes a few days away will calm him to the point of talking and not killing. Leaving town for a road trip to Amanda's mom's, the crew goes ~ some wanting and willing, and one dreading it.

    Oh this road trip is a tragic comedy of events. But we are with a group of meat eating undead here and there are crazy happenings with the crew as they are chased through the country to Amanda's dieing moms. Fun. As the trip starts off as a way to get away from troubles awaiting in town, the start to think they might be being followed. But then when they think they've lost their stalkers other events take place and we meet new characters that being a new twist to the story and new destination stops in the road trip. All stops end in a wild happening. And the humor like in Happy Hour.

    We learn more of Amanda's upbringing through her memories of her mom while meeting new characters that fit, and don't fit, into the group. There are new men and women. And each finds their own place here, if they have one. Amanda is the great sassy character I remembered her to be. Wendy seemed to be not as active for me in this book. But we do meet some new characters which I enjoyed, Honey and Scott. I love the connections the feel with a few of the characters. Nice! But, there's a murder mystery too! Not knowing who is doing the murders and working on the suspects. So, who is killing these people? Which ones will end up lunch meat? You'll have to read to find out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    When the Undead Hit the Road...

    This book continues the adventures of Amanda Feral, undead socialite. I have heard that this is what Sex in the City would have been like if the four women had fallen down dead and got back up again. It delivers at that level, but it also delivers at a more base level. I think every person loves to see the person who is brutally honest from time to time - even if that person is just flat out rude occasionally. I mean, why else would anyone like Simon on American Idol?

    Amanda is that with more bite - both figurative and literal. She is a zombie after all, and a girl has to eat.

    Add in the fact that all of these characters are damaged in some of the most delicious ways, it leads to a cornucopia of messed up psyches. Trust in the fact that this group will definitely put the fun in dysfunctional.

    If you are a fan of brutality in both your humor and your action, then this will be one fun trip for both you and the Seattle Undead Socialites from the mind of Mark Henry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Couldn't hold my attention

    I did not even get half way through. The writing is poor and the story was uninteresting to me. The author does not know how to flesh out a story, in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Just okay

    This was a fun, fast read by an author I really enjoy. But....I had a major issue with the author's overuse of footnotes. Mark made such liberal use of footnotes in order to make sarcastic comments that it sort of ruined the story for me. One or two might have been funny, but he used so many that they became majorly annoying. Do we really need a biting comment on practically every page?

    Amanda was fun in the first book, Happy Hour of the Damned, but not quite as amusing in this one. Maybe I just wasn't in the mood, but she seemed too snarky this time around. Things struck me as more forced between her, Wendy, and Gil, and their interaction didn't flow as smoothly.

    Still a fun read, but not as much fun as expected. Gave it a 3 out of 5 as I felt it was just okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hilariously Twisted but Oh-So Zombie-Chic

    Amanda Feral and the gang (Gil and Wendy) are back and hungrier than ever. Amanda has received a letter informing her that her Mommy Dearest is about to kick the bucket. Knowing Amanda and her heart of gold, she decides to toss the letter in the trash. Meanwhile, Gil has started up a new business "Luxury Resurrection" for the undead-to-be who can afford to rise in style. Perhaps, there ought to be a better-business-bureau for the undead because Gil totally screws up and pisses off the gansta vamp. Needing to flee and split town on the double, the zombies and the vamp decide Amanda's mom couldn't cash in her chips at a better time and set off on their roap trip. They meet interesting characters during their trip. From scabby vampire leftovers, to revenge of the cleavers to werewolf stalkers to the horrors of Wal-Mart apparel; this book never missed a beat. I swear, this book has some of the most inventive and funniest zombie scences I've ever read. I highly recommend this book and the rest of the series. I also look forward to book three- Battle of the Network Zombies due out March 2010.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Taking Zombie Glam to the Savage Suburbs

    This is no club opening. Zombie Amanda Feral, gal pal Wendy, and vamp cohort Gil are on the road, making a mad dash away from the newly-vamped gangster who is out to end Gil's unlife. Facing such savage threats as werewolf thugs, vengeance seeking girls with guns, overly-polite cultists, and K-Mart shopping, the gang makes their way to the deathbed of Amanda's mother. Amanda's not interested in closure, but she wouldn't mind making sure her Mommy Dearest is ushered off into the next world permanently. Besides, what better way to let a gangster cool his heels than flee town? But of course, things are never that simple, and we lucky readers get to delve not only into Amanda's past (showing some depth beneath that shallow exterior), but get taken along for the chaos of the road trip of an after-lifetime. Read my full review at http://www.flamesrising.com/road-trip-living-dead-review/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amanda feral takes us on the ride of her life..or does she?

    The second installment of the Amanda Feral series finds her hightailing it out of Seattle, with Wendy and Gil in tow. New characters take us to new heights. Giving us the ride of our lives, but not hers cuz shes already DEAD!!!On a trip to make peace with her mother Amanda makes a few stops along the way.This book is pee in your pants funny as are all of Henry's books, and frankly I wouldn't have it any other way! Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a wild zany bawdy urban horror thriller

    In Seattle nightlife lover Amanda Feral wishes American had more of a fashions sense especially those people she dines on when she eats their brains; though if they understood fashion, she might not use them as dessert. The zombie fashion hound learns her abusive mother Ethel is dying so she decides to pay her respects to the wicked witch of the northwest. She persuades her friend zombie Wendy Miller to go with her to Rapid City, South Dakota, home of the fashion-challenged and mommy meanest.<BR/><BR/>The two zombiettes decide to stay in town for one more night before the trek to mommy meanest. However, their friend gay vampire Gil angers a strip club owner, making it imperative he leave town immediately. The trio flees as werewolves give chase while Amanda¿s pickups seem to lose their heads, but their biggest fear is the shopping horde at Kmart.<BR/><BR/>This is a wild zany bawdy urban horror thriller (see Happy Hour of the Damned) starring no heroes. The story line is fast-paced with plenty of graphic blood, guts, and sh*t letting. The road warriors are a crude but fun bunch while the tale needs to carry two warnings: don¿t eat while reading this novel and cover your genitals with armor at all times. Sort of placing Divine of Pink Flamingoes fame in a George Romero movie as Mark Henry is over the Rocky Mountains with this wild ROAD TRIP OF THE LIVING DEAD.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2