BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Road from Coorain

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2004

    A book that will stay will me always.

    'The Western plains of New South Wales are grasslands.' Grasslands that with their vastness, their cycles of drought and bounty, and above all their isolation, shaped a little girl who would one day become Smith College's first woman president. This book has been marketed as a coming of age story for girls. It's surely that, and a remarkable one. It is also (for this American reader, anyway) a fascinating look into a culture of many similarities - but with subtle, yet sometimes startling differences. Something else it ought to be is required reading for any young woman (particularly any gifted young woman!) trapped by a co-dependent relationship with her birth family. Read it, and think about what this world loses every time a woman capable of Jill Ker Conway's lifetime achievements subsumes her talents and sacrifices her dreams because the code of her childhood demands it. A book that will stay will me always.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2000

    ¿Your duty¿s to your talents¿

    This book was extremely interesting for me, as a first time reading about Australian life. It took me far away from the American and Latin American worlds that I have lived in. At times more than one paragraph or even pages are dedicated to describing the landscape, the flowers, the garden. It is amazing to me that one can describe the landscape in such detail. When we study and educate ourselves, we change and it is often difficult to find good companionship. The author talks about this problem many times. The fine school she attended before the University of Sydney, was a great educational experience, after which she was not supposed to be more intelligent than men, she was expected to hide her knowledge. Once one develops him/herself it is difficult or impossible to go back to the old environment. We think that as better prepared/educated persons we will be more successful in our original environment, only to see that we do not fit there anymore. Biographies provide advice for life in a very subtle way. We can learn from the author¿s father: ¿Your duty¿s to your talents¿, he said, ¿Never forget it. You can pay someone to run that ranch almost as well as you¿ll do it. But no one else can develop your gifts¿.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    second time around

    I read this astonishing story of an early feminist when it first was released. I just re-read it after a trip to Australia and was even more impressed with Jill Ker Conway's persistence, courage and intelligence. Her excellent writing makes the story of her journey come alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Well written, but not a favorite

    The Road From Coorain by Jill Ker Conway tells the tale of a young girl growing up on her family's farm in Australia. It tells of how she dreampt of something more than what was expected of the average female in the 1900's. The Road From Coorain illustrates one girls journey to adulthood, showing that life isn't easy and the road isn't always smooth. Jill Ker Conway talked about how even though she had her problems and deaths and how her family was not perfect she was still able to become a very intelligent and successful historian, who specializes in the experience of women in America, as well as being the first woman president of Smith college. I enjoyed reading this book. I thought it was well written and had a wonderful story as well as a good message. I also thought it was inspiring to read about defying expectations and stretching the female boundries. However, I did think that this book was a slow read. It was depressing when it came to dealing with the deaths and hardships in her life and did not include a lot of uplifting moments. I thought it difficult to read a story that was supposed to be on a woman finding herself and becoming something great, when there was only about a fourth of the book on that. As far as I could tell it focused too greatly on the bad things that happened in her life and did not give enough recognition to the good things and her success. I also did not like her writing style. It was slow and different than what I have become used to. I would recommend this book if you enjoy auto biographies and or inspirational true stories. I would not recommend this book if you find it too hard to sort through all the small stuff to find the big picture, or if you do not like slow reads. Alone with this, I would recommend Into Thin Air and In My Hands if you enjoy inspirational stories. Into Thin Air is about a man who climbed Everest and the hard journey he had to face to achieve greatness. In My Hands is about a woman who hid Jewish people in a Nazi officer's office and how she did the right thing even though it could have ended horribly. I have not personally read the second book but I hear it is an interesting and amazing story. Overall, I would rate The Road From Coorain a three because while I did not enjoy reading it, it still had a nice story and was very inspiring to hear about a woman not needing a man or anyone else in life and overcoming the stereotype of the average female in the 1900's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    A reviewer

    This was a really eye opening book that introduced me to a lot of new ideas. The author uses excellent English and it is written beautifully.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2004

    Wonderful, enlightening, refreshing book

    I passed this book on to at least four people. And, I preferred it to West with the Night. A wonderful memoir, especially her relationship with her siblings. Not as many 'outbackish' descriptions as I had expected. But a lovely, simple story of growing up and coming of age in Australia. Skip the sequel TRUE NORTH as it lacks the charm and interest of THE ROAD FROM COORAIN.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2003

    I REALLY LOVE THIS BOOK AND I FELT REALLY CONNECTED TO THE AUTHOR

    I really can't explain my feelings in words. Look at the subject first then read on. They are all by Dr. Jill Ker Conway (shes a phd). The titles are The Road from Coorain (also a Exxon Mobil Masterpiece Theater movie as well), True North, and A Women's Education. Is she orginally from New South Wales, Australia. Came to the United States for graduate school, but stayed there after that, but was Canada as well for 6 years. Boys you will also love reading them as well. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2002

    A story of a young girl that will make you think?

    I think that The Road from Coorain was a good book that let a reader relate to what is happening. If you are a student it is a good book to hear about other peoples problems and see how they tried to solve them. This would also go the same way if you are an adult, but I think that it would make a better point to a teenager. A word of advice, keep reading the first two chapters are slow but the book gets a lot better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2001

    A wonderful story of how a young girl went from a tragic childhood in the outback to a life in the city which makes her realize that she must move on.

    This book was wonderful. It's story kept me reading from the day I picked up the book. Going into such great detail in Jill Ker's life, it makes you want to meet her in person. This is a story of tragic endings and new beginnings that will make you fall in love with the magic and beauty of the Australian outback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1