Customer Reviews for

The Road of the Dead

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karin Perry for TeensReadToo.com

    Ruben knew exactly when it happened. He was sitting in the backseat of an old Mercedes in his family's salvage yard when the feeling came over him. Ruben often left his own body and could attach himself to others. He could sense their thoughts and emotions. This is what happened when he felt his sister, Rachel, get attacked and murdered. He knew exactly the moment Rachel's life was taken from her. <BR/><BR/>Even though he knew it had happened and knew that the Dead Man killed her, Ruben didn't say anything to his family. He hoped he might be wrong. He realized he wasn't when the police contacted the family. The details were simple: Rachel, nineteen years old, was visiting an old school friend in the small village of Lychcombe on Dartmoor. After her visit was over, she left and made her way toward London to return home, but never made it. Her body was found the following morning, strangled, raped, and battered. <BR/><BR/>The most important thing to the family was to get her back. They wanted to bury her and put her to rest. After a trip to the police station to find out how long her body would be held, the family found out that the police would keep her until the case was closed; meaning the murderer had to be caught. The problem with that was, Ruben knew the murderer was already dead and buried and the case wouldn't be solved anytime soon. <BR/><BR/>Ruben's older brother, Cole, wasn't going to sit around and wait. He planned to go to the village to find out what happened himself and he planned to go alone. He didn't want his younger brother going along to worry about. Ruben knew what Cole was thinking, though, and his mother wanted him to go along to make sure Cole didn't get himself hurt. Cole's temper tended to get him in trouble. He took after his gypsy, bare-knuckle fighter father who was sentenced to a prison term for killing someone. <BR/><BR/>Even though their mother was worried about Ruben and Cole going away to look into the murder, no one could foresee the trouble in store for them once they started digging into Rachel's murder. As soon as they arrived in the village they knew they weren't welcome. Secrets were everywhere and no one wanted them to be dug up. Secrets that involved the entire village. Secrets that would lead them to pain, torture, death, and eventually the truth. <BR/><BR/>Kevin Brooks doesn't let us down. He has provided another heart-pounding, deeply emotional story with strong characters. THE ROAD OF THE DEAD is a great place to start if you haven't read any other books by this creative and unique author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2007

    Keeps you on the edge of you seat

    I would say this would have to be one of my top ten favourite books because it has a alot of excitment and is very suspenceful so it ' always keeps you on the edge of your seat wanting more'. The main reason i really enjoyed this book was because it was about two brothers who didn't seem to get along, until their older sister Racheal was murdered. This was when the two brothers set out to find what really happened to their sister and doing so they seem to become tangled up with the people who harmed their sister

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    H

    Read this twice thus us by far ine if the best books i every read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    ROAD OF THE DAED

    This book is awesome... it leads you on. The whole time your wonndering whats going to happen next until your at the end of tje book. It was confusing at time but very misterious! I would recommend this book:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    very good book

    this book was amazing...the plot everything! and rite in the first 4 pgs how rubens sista dies unbelieveable but that rlly sets up the rest of the book. so in sort rd the book to find out wat happens! you'll b amazed i promise! cuz i no i was!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    Pretty disappointing, to be honest.

    I read Being by Kevin Brooks and absolutely loved it and I was excited to read more from him. I decided to start with Road of the Dead. I didn't finish the book, I probably got about half way though. It was alright, but I thought it moved along too slowly and was kind of boring. However, I'm willing to reread/finish the book because of all the positive reviews on here. Hopefully I'll find it more interesting this time around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    enteraining

    I read road of the dead recently and was pleased with it. IT wasnt the greatest book i ever read but it wasn't painful or anyhting. the story in the middle was well writtin but the begining was kind of slow. The end also wraped it all up to fast like the author was in a rush or had a limit on the number of wors he could use.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2007

    A reviewer

    Overall I thought this was a fairly good book. It was kinda hard for me to get into in the begging because it started so slow. It also didn't fully explain the power the rueben had, so that got confusing for me. It also didn't seem realistic to me what they were doing taking the investigation into their own hands. It was really caught my attention, however from the middle of the book on. The author was very decriptive in the ways he portrayed the events that happened to the characters during the course of the story. The story also kept you in your seat all the way to the very end of the story. I would recommend this book to anyone that can survive through an almost unbearably boring beggining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2007

    Amazing...

    Road of the Dead is one of my favorite books. It's emotional and gritty, but without being annoying. It's very discriptive and Ruben (the main character) provides a unique outlook. I got this book at B&N on a whim and ended up reading it for six hours straight just to see what happened. It's very, very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2007

    my thoughts of this book

    I loved the conflict of this story and how it uses things from this century like mercedes,landrover,shogun and not to mention the mager adventure when you read this book its like a movie you can see what kevin is talking about be cause he uses such wonderful description

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2006

    A recommended pick for mature teens

    Kevin Brooks' The Road Of The Dead tells of a teen who can sense things nobody else can. After his sister's death, he and his brother leave their London home for the moors of Devon, where they are determined to uncover the truth behind her murder. The Road Of The Dead is a recommended pick for mature teens: a dark tale of discovery and unusual talents set against a backdrop of murder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2006

    THE best.

    'The Road of the Dead' by Kevin Brooks is by far my favortie book. The suspensful way he writes... I couldn't put the book down until every last page was through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2006

    A Good Book

    I read this book in about 3 days (I'm a quick reader) and it was very interesting. I never read a book by Kevin Brooks before and I am happy that I chose this one. The beginning was interesting, the middle was kind of boring, but the ending was great! The ending of the book kept my eyes wide open wondering what would happen next. If you like mystery books then this will be a good choice for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2006

    Amazing!

    'Road of the Dead' had me glued in my chair and stuck turning pages. I loved the two brothers, Ruben and Cole, and the way they contrasted eachother. I also thought their characterization was just brilliant (although this does make the other characters development look a bit flat). I didn't really see it as a mystery sort of book--although finding the person who murdered Rachel is obviously key--but...I dunno, it was just about the people, sort of. I've also read Candy (by the same author), and though I thought it was okay, I wasn't particularly impressed. This story is totally fresh and new though, so I'd say even if you haven't been completely taken with his other work, read this. I highly rcecomend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2006

    Superb

    The setting was AMAZING. The writing technique was so vivid and well understood. This was a very interesting, exciting, and heartfelt story. The figuritive language was well used. I reccomend it to people who love crime stories, young adult stories, or in fact, anybody at all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2006

    If you like the show on WB Supernatural.... this book is for you!

    This book reminds me of the show Supernatural because it has two brothers who aren't really that close, but with every step they take to solving their sister's death, they bond and get closer. This book will hold your attention, and make you feel like you're with Ruben and Cole. This is a must read if you are a fan of Kevin Brook's books, he never disappoints you!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2006

    Exciting

    For a teenager, being myself, I think that this book will definitely be good read, perhaps for a lazy sunday. Just looking at the title makes me want to put the other books I am reading aside, and read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2