Customer Reviews for

The Road to Memphis

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    all grown up

    I'm real surprised about the Logan kids growing up! The book was super, extra good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    The Road To Memphis...

    The road to memphis is a great book.I read it after reading Roll Of Thunder.I felt like I was missing things so If you want to read this book I suggest you read roll Of thunder hear my cry and let the circle be unbroken.This is a great series and I feel like I am there.I felt a little sad towards the end but the characters are very caring and emotional towards their feelings.There are many main characters such as Cassie,Stacey,Clarence,Moe,Little willie and many more.Cassie is very sweet and heartwarming.Stacey is very intellegent and works hard to get what he needs.I would definitley rate this 5 out of 5 because it is a very unique story along with the others and at points in this story you will feel excited and at others you will cry. Hope you enjoyed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2008

    A reviewer

    This is the story of 17-year-old Cassie struggling to get her friend,Moe, to safety after he gets steamed and hits 3 white men. Can she help him to Memphis without trouble or will she accidintally fall in love on the way?The books Ms. Taylor writes are my all-time favorite books and I would recomend every single one of them. If you love reading and are looking for a book check out these at your local library. -The Road to Memphis -The Land -Roll of Thunder, Hear my Cry -Let the Circle be Unbroken -The Friendship

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2007

    Is There A Sequel To This?!

    Does Cassie Logan ever get married? I thought that this book was outstanding, and would love to read a sequel! Please do!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2007

    Another Great Adventure of The Logan Children

    In my opinion, this book triumphs over the other of Mildred D. Taylor's books I've read (Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry Let the Circle Be Unbroken). You can really tell how the stories start from a young girl in Mississippi, to a maturing woman in this title. This novel depicts the lives of the Logan children, focusing more on Stacey and Cassie, as they help their friend escape from prosecution. Their friend Moe attacks 3 white folks, as he is defending the one he loves Cassie. They try to make their way to Memphis, Tennessee to get Moe away from almost certain death (back then lynching was still legal in some states). They face turmoil and surprises on their way too Memphis, where Moe would escape from the south and his white oppressors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2005

    Love

    I love when Moe confesses his love for Cassie. It made me cry. The whole is great. Mildred describes everything so well. Its like reading a history but funner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2005

    Very good!

    You don't need to read Roll of Thunder, Hear my Cry to get the story of this book. It is a story about the 2 older Logan kids (Cassie & Stacey)growing up and dealing with racism. They are on the road with a few other friends to help their friend Moe escape to Memphis. This is very different from the 1st book since they are pretty much on their own in this one. It is very worth reading because it is not boring at all. It is fast paced and makes you not put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2004

    One of my favorites

    I've read The Road to Memphis at least three times, and I love it! I think if it weren't for Mildred D. Taylor, I wouldn't know the truth of what things were really like, because it's a past that most prefer to leave buried.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2004

    dreams of the closeness that I wish I had with my siblings

    I am 51 Years olds and I was surprised when I went in a book store and found out that the books by Mildred D. Taylor was in the Childrens section. I love reading her books. I can not remember much of my childhood or my relatives growing up. I love my mother but I can not remember a lot and she, bless her heart never really instilled in my sisters and brother how important it is to spend time with your sibblings and love them. I wish I could remember what my childhood was like. When I read Mildred D. Taylor it makes me feel like a little girl again and I kind of relive my childhood again, and I can feel the love that Cassy,Stacy,little man and Christifer feel for each other. It makes me wish I had that when I was growing up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2004

    ABSOLUTELY AWESOME!

    This book is great if you love books by Mildred D. Taylor. I'm only 11 and I truly understand the hardships of Blacks and how they were treated. In the book someone dies(I'm not telling who) 2 people leave and one of Cassie's brothers leave. :( I hope you enjoy the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2004

    The Best Book Ever!!!!!!

    This book has depth unlike other books. Ms. Taylor's ablitiy to write about the harsh truth of what actually went on after the civil war is unbelievable. Paul Edward was a stunning character who coped with the hardship of losing both of his best friends, but he get 'the land' in the end even though he suffers much mockery. This book will keep you hooked until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2003

    A Profound Read

    The third book in the Logan family saga is exceptional. Once again Ms. Taylor strongly captures the racial discord of the 1940's and the struggle of African-Americans to maintain dignity and to be shown respect. The series should be required reading in every school in the country for grades 6-8. This book definitely leaves the reader with a strong desire to find out how things progress for the Logan's. Does Cassie go to college and become a lawyer? Does she marry the man of her dreams? What happens to her three brothers? Does Moe reach Chicago safely? A strength of Ms. Taylor's books is that nothing is wrapped up into a tidy package. Instead the stories are a clearer reflection of life - left open and sometimes uncertain but always expectant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2003

    Absolutely Wonderful!

    The Road To Memphis is a book liable to touch the depts of your heart. This powerfully constructed book will definitely leave you awe-striken.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2003

    the best ever

    this book is the best ever it's a really good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2002

    oh my gosh!

    I could not put this book down! i'd be so mad if the author left us hanging and didnt write the next book. i love all the books about the cassie and her family and i agree there sould be a movie like they did with harry potter. i can't wait till the next book! (P.S. i think Cassie sould start thinking less bout Solomon and more bout Moe!) :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2003

    one of the best books ever!!:):)

    this book was excellence! this author knows how to write a book. i almost cried when clarence died and sissy found out and screamed. i like stacey and moe and everyone in this book except the mean people. it was really scary when the men from the gas station were chasing them. also it was really mean when the guy kicked cassie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2002

    Road to Memphis

    I loved it. It was wonderful. Out of all her books this was the best one. I was great how she put romance and tragedy in the same book and still made it great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2002

    Road to Memphis

    It was the best book I have ever read. I was outstanding. The way she put romance and tragedy in the same book and still made it great. But it needs a better ending. It just leaves you hanging. I hope she writes another book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2003

    This was my favorite book!

    I loved this book, except I think Cassie should have gone with Moe. I think Cassie should like Moe instead of the other guy. He is way too old for her! I could not put this book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2002

    needs a better ending!

    This is a GREAT book. i loved it more then all other books including "Roll of Thunder Hear My Cry" and "Let the Circle Be Unbroken". the only thing about this book that i dont like at all...is that it leaves u hanging... after meeting the hansome businessman and hearing Moe's "love confession" there needs to be a sequel. i hope there is! i also think that this series should be turned into a movie. that would be too good to be true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2