Customer Reviews for

Roadside Picnic

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

a book worh hording

My copy of this book is a soft of the Roadside Picknic with Tale of the Troika. I have read it 3 times now and enjoyed it enough each time to want to read it again. It is dark and vague in some ways and frighteningly clear in others. It was undoubtedly one of the most i...
My copy of this book is a soft of the Roadside Picknic with Tale of the Troika. I have read it 3 times now and enjoyed it enough each time to want to read it again. It is dark and vague in some ways and frighteningly clear in others. It was undoubtedly one of the most important SF book of late 70's. But its important here to add that it stands today as well as it did when it was published. It has not aged much. True the political situation in that part of the world has changed, but not so much for the poor and desparate. The charachters develop and the reader can identify with their plight. Aliens, never depicted, are viewed as incomprehensible, dangerus and careless. An intoxicating mixture. On another level this novel is a commentary on the human condition, our own dangerousness, and perhaps most important the importance of hope. A fun read but also has many layers if your open to Them.

posted by Anonymous on March 9, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Kouri

Eh, you still up? Was busy, sorry. I missed you! Again.....Dx

posted by Anonymous on June 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2007

    a book worh hording

    My copy of this book is a soft of the Roadside Picknic with Tale of the Troika. I have read it 3 times now and enjoyed it enough each time to want to read it again. It is dark and vague in some ways and frighteningly clear in others. It was undoubtedly one of the most important SF book of late 70's. But its important here to add that it stands today as well as it did when it was published. It has not aged much. True the political situation in that part of the world has changed, but not so much for the poor and desparate. The charachters develop and the reader can identify with their plight. Aliens, never depicted, are viewed as incomprehensible, dangerus and careless. An intoxicating mixture. On another level this novel is a commentary on the human condition, our own dangerousness, and perhaps most important the importance of hope. A fun read but also has many layers if your open to Them.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    A lively and thoughtful book

    What a great piece of character-driven science fiction! And this new translation is really wonderful. Highly recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    New favorite!

    Im on my second read-through now and i know i will read it again afterwards. I wish it was longer. One complaint is that the translation at times seems to be missing things. Still aa great book though.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    amazing

    great read

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    Absolutely Enthralling Tale

    I love this book! Its pretty short and at first I was unsure if I could grasp the concepts it talks about but from the beginning this book gave me everything I wanted, the ending is pretty great but also confusing and a little depressing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Several alien spaceships have visited Earth at some point in the

    Several alien spaceships have visited Earth at some point in the late twentieth century. Their landing sites seem to have been chosen at random, and during their visit they made almost no attempt at contact with humans. When they finally left, their landing sites were permanently altered and “polluted” with various artifacts and substances, and the sites themselves exhibit many strange and troubling behaviors. In the years and decades following the aliens’ departure a vast array of scholars, scientists, technology experts, military interests, and black market opportunists tried to make sense of the visit and leverage the landing sites for their own varying interests. However, exploring the sites was always a very risky activity, and those who dared to venture within their carefully guarded perimeters frequently exposed themselves to harmful and often lethal consequences. These landing site visits, however brief, had impact not only on the explorers, but also subsequently on almost everyone who the explorers came in touch with. 




    This short Sci Fi novel reduces the subgenre of the alien visit to its most basic elements: the landing sites themselves, mysterious left-over artifacts, and the fundamental and irrevocable change that this visit has brought upon the human civilization. Within this minimalistic setup it is still possible to extract a surprising amount of narrative richness and human and intellectual drama. The main protagonist, Redrick “Red” Schuhart, is a hard-nosed “stalker” – an opportunistic and illegal rummager of the visitation zones – who is trying to make the most of his ability to extract valuable artifacts and sell them on the black market. Red is an almost prototypical antihero who is nonetheless guided by some high-minded principles and moral standard. This moral probity particularly comes into play in his relationship with his own family. He tries his hardest to protect them and help them out, especially since they have incurred a personal tragedy due to Red’s involvement with the visitation zone. 




    This is a very deep and richly psychological book. Readers accustomed to the more western-style science fiction may find it more philosophical than what they are accustomed to reading. The “Roadside Picnic” nonetheless has a very well developed plot and nuanced and believable characters. This is science fiction at its best – good writing, rich plotline, and deep, potentially open-ended, questions and problems that it grapples with. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Good read!

    Awesome book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Christina

    Okk Kouri I guess Imma give up.. I dont know why I havent, but I hate myself for not letting you know how I felt about you. At the time I thought you know that we would make the perfect couple and stay together forever.. I was wrong because now I cant let you go.. its very hard.. if you dont come back on and we dont ever talk again I just hope you have a WONDERFUL rest of your life and I hope someday we can meet.. GoodBye Kouri.. Ill miss you..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    BoneClan territory

    Stay out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    On of the greatest science fiction novels???

    No. Not even close. Dont waste your money. Pick it up at the library if you really want to read it.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Christina

    ;( I miss you wayy too much Kouri.. < / 3

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Kallie

    Jake?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Just okay

    Just okay.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2