Customer Reviews for

Robbed Of A Childhood, Raped By The System

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    Riveting and raw.

    An unbelievable personal journey. The author overcomes overwhelming adversity to a place of healing and spiritual growth. She maintains her focus on her kids and fostering a nurturing home life in the face of seemingly impossible challenges. "Robbed of a Childhood" is presented in a clear and real voice. For anyone interested in learning about the life of an abuse survivor and overcoming the odds, this book is a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    must read if you work with women, or families

    John Turnipseed Director Family center This book is a story of victory over a dreadful beginning, it tells of a tale of a victim that became a champion. It is a story that will help start the healing process.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Anne Boling for Readers' Favorite Robbed of a Child

    Reviewed by Anne Boling for Readers' Favorite

    Robbed of a Childhood, Raped by the System is the autobiography of Sunny Love, an adult survivor of child abuse. Sunny was six years old when her stepbrother raped her. For the next five years, her stepfather and stepbrothers continued their reign of sexual abuse. Upon the death of her mother, Sunny and her brother Toby went to live with their father. Their stepmother seemed to enjoy beating her and did so at every opportunity. Her stepmother was an overweight, lazy woman that lay around while forcing Sunny to do all of the housework. This was not a punishment from Sunny’s point of view. She loved order and neatness and did not mind cleaning. She became pregnant when her boyfriend raped her. Her stepmother insisted she have an abortion or give the baby up for adoption but Sunny refused. Sunny gave birth to five children and continued to make bad decisions throughout her life. She did what she had to in order to support her family, from working as an exotic dancer to a massage therapist. She heard a wake-up call when she was accused and arrested for prostitution. That one moment and several years of therapy caused her to turn 180 degrees. She is now an advocate for those who have been incarcerated and those leaving abusive situations. 

    Author Sunny Love bares her soul in her book Robbed of a Childhood, Raped by the System. My soul ached for the child that was so tortured. Her stepbrothers and father stole her childhood. Then the repeated beatings from her stepmother were horrendous. While most of this book tells of the horror of Sunny’s life, it also tells of the triumph. She overcame the abuse and said goodbye to the men that would hold her back. She writes this book to give others hope for the future. I admire Sunny Love for her strength and courage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    The book "Robbed of a Childhood, Raped by the System" is an extradinary read for anyone who has been rapped, been prostition, or just knows someone who this has happen too.

    I give great credited to the author who is the victum in this book for sharing her story with the world. This book has can enlighten anyone who ever wondered what happens to a child who has been raped, abused and been lost in the system. It goes to show that this kind of situation can happen right next door and you would not know it. Or maybe, someone does know about it and just looks the other way. This is how I felt this woman as a child was done. This book also shows how a young girl/boy, women become victums in the the slavery of prostition. It also opens up the minds of how the minds of a "pimp" thinks. And I would recommend this book to be read by men...This book would be a great read for a book club. (Uusally, just my opinion, a great read for closed minded people). It also would be a great read for any Institution working in child protection etc. I would hope that this book will reach the eyes of Opra Winfrey and Tyler Perry, for I think it would make a extrodinary movie. I again, applaude the writer, author and victum of this book for she is a friend of mind. She shared some of her life with me but I never heard it as it was told in the book. I cried thoughout the book because I know her and it hurt me to know all the pain and suffering that she went through. But, she is the women she is today; I can say only God could have got her through all that she went through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    wow.

    This book was an extremely difficult read. The idea that there are people in the world that have experienced such unimaginable pain is heartbreaking. The only relief is knowing that the author is a remakable woman, smart, strong, and forgiving. She is truly an inspiration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2009

    unsettlin depiction of one li gyrlz tortous journey ;because THE MEN..that should have been there to help her ;instead chose to help themselves TOO her.,.! have you stood idlely by and done nothin' ,.read this for motivation ,

    Sunny Love ;is truly a gaint amongst those lil authors , that go for eons without recongition ,.but most men who dare to justify the manner in which literally ...ALL ...women have been viewed,treated,handled or exploited. especially in the world community not just this challenging autobiographical depiction by one who was so thoroughyly set upon, ( Folk downhere on the ground so to speak), need to look 2THE GLARING EVIDENCE OF MEN'S BEHAVIOR in this ladies experience from ,..childhood . her name is not so significant;as is the reality that there are and have been for generations,..MILLIONS oF little gyrls that have been subject too and are presently being subject too this manner of incestous,predatory violation,..and they're our daughters ,next door neighbors children and after it all has been said and done this SUNNY LOVE IS EVIDENCE THAT STILL THEY RISE AND FOR THE BETTER PART FLORISH ,.., i challenge men to read this and listen to their thoughts as they do, excellent,.honest,truthful,unafraid effort to continue in her healng process ,while taking full responsibility for her part ,..a challenging read....!(if you are in need of heal'n perhaps here is where you should start ;as you find ur'self ask'n for forgiveness)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    No cry baby here!

    I read this book in 4-1/2 hours. It was riveting. I was brought up a 'princess'. I was impressed that despite the graphic language and descriptions I did not feel that the writer was trying to be titillating or sensationalistic. I felt only love and caring communicated through the matter of fact words of anger, the way she spoke of the most abhorrent actions perpetrated on a child . At times it was chilling to read what inhumane acts are committed to the innocent and helpless. My blood boiled, I felt nauseus, ill. I wanted to kill many of the characters in the book, yet Sunny humanized them! She did not excuse them, but she made them hurting human beings instead of monsters! She made me understand that one with the help of God can redeem their soul. As I interact from this day forward with people for example, on the bus 'I hate public transportation due to language and behavior of certain segment of the population'I hope from this day forward to keep in mind the new insights that she has brought to me. I cant say that I approve the behaviors in quotation mark, but I will work very very hard on not judging and letting it go. I will try not to label a group because of the behavior of some. Love, Empathy, Acceptance from my side, for which I hope to build Trust. All are active verbs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    Honest and strong

    This book is honest and strong - it is written in a way that we can all relate, even if we havent had the same experiences. The author is a strong woman, and this book is an inspiration for any person who struggles with sexual abuse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    Stronlgy recommended

    This book opened my eyes about the emotional scars a child can go through because of sexual abuse. Once I opened the book I could not put it down. Some pages had me in tears. I have friends who went through similar experiences but Sunny's book gave me so much insight. This book has also helped me in my current relationship by seeing that I should not emotionally or mentally hurt others even though I may hurt. I strongly recommend this book, especially for men to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2008

    powerful witness

    This was a powerful testimony to Sunny Love's struggles and accomplishments. Sharing her story and her sense of love and forgiveness are remarkable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    A must read for all women

    This is a book that I think all women young or old should read. There are women who have went through this and needs to heal and this book will help them heal.I know it opened my eyes to a lot of things I forgot about. I feel this book should be used in group settings for prostitutes and run away teen girls to help them see what's in the streets waiting for them. I would like to put this book in every girls hand who think,and I say think that they are grown and want to be in the streets doing there own thing. This is an (EYE OPENER)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Excellent autobiography

    This book is an amazing story. Not only did it impress me, but it educated me in many areas of my own life. Sunny's story is well written with integrity, knowledge, and emotion. There is honesty in here that I've never found in other books. This is a must read. You won't want to miss out on this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    'Powerful Story'

    I believe this book shows the courage and endurance of people in our world. More specefic, the author. It takes a lot of courage to not only tell this story to the world, but also exist in it and still trust that you can have healthy relationships. In our society today women,men,boys and girls are often victimized by people and systems. The one important thing is that it does not destroy the rest of thier lives and they are able to continue on. However, we know that the quality of life is greatly reduced for most people. Which is why i believe we need to hear more stories like this one. This book can give hope to the uncountable people who have been abused by loved ones, friends,strangers and systems. It can also help others to develop an awareness of the dynamics and effects of abuse. Last but far from least, I believe it can even help keep our loved ones from experiencing the same. There is no human being alive that cannot benefit from reading this book. I would like to say 'thank you' to sunny love for helping the world by telling this story. Sincerely, Lance Handy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2007

    A One of a Kind Book

    This book should hit the best seller chart in no time. It is a heart wrenching book for all to read. Men, women boys and girls. I think it will touch the very hearts of those who have been molested and those who are molesters. It will cause those victimized by molestation to get the help that many victims never seek. This book is a reflective piece for anyone who is concerned about others, and the situations so many children find themselves, in America the great the beautiful. It should also motivate those who molest children to seek and get the help they need to stop this terrible pain and damage to children. For those of us who don't know what molestation is all about, it puts you right there in this little girls experiences. A great book but it is sad to read what happened to this little girl, yet the hope and peace this women has today is remarkable. It had to take great courage to write this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    A very powerful, raw book.

    This is a very powerful, raw book. After I started reading it, it was very hard to put down. You are a talented story teller, and you have many important stories to tell. I think the book comes across as very cleansing and healing. It seems like you are bravely telling the truth about your life as directly as possible, and then releasing those stories to God and the universe, for your own healing, and for the healing of others who have traveled similar paths. I appreciated how you didn¿t sugar coat your painful experiences. As you described abusive situations, you included enough details of what was happening both in your mind and in the physical experience that helped us understand your experience at the time. Many parts of the book are disturbing, as I think they need to be. The book is engaging on many levels¿as a personal story of healing and empowerment, as an insight into the dynamics of domestic and sexual abuse. Thank you for offering up your stories so honestly. I trust that your stories will bring ripples of healing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2007

    A Story That Needs to be Told

    Robbed of a Childhood, Raped by the System by Sunny Love reminded me of zAmya Theater's 'Somewhere Else Mother,' based on interviews with four women living homeless in St. Paul. The performance is done word-for-word, true to their original telling, which gave it power. That's the kind of power I found in this book. Sunny Love takes your hand and walks you into her life without prettying up the grammar, the vocabulary, the facts. It's a story of a life filled with abuse and hopelessness, told in the raw. This book could give courage to those who can identify with it and help those who know such abuse only through the media. This is the reality through the eyes of one who has been there. From the first page, it was like walking into the wardrobe of The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. The reader never knows if the next page will bring joy or a nightmare. This book was written years before publication, at a time when the author barely stepped out of a life of abuse. I await the next book to learn of Sunny Love's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2007

    Transformation

    Amelia-Chemical Dependency Director. This book is a must read for those that still have not found their voice. The individual that has secrets of her/his life due to sexual abuse, physical abuse as well as mental abuse need to know that they are understood and loved as any one of us. Sunny's book talked frankly and honestly to those Adult survivors of child abuse as well as the professionals in the human service circle. She talks about her struggles and finally triumphs that there is life after pain. Sunny shows how she could not explored the possibilities of reaching for the sky until she dealt pain from past lives, without having first worked with the wounds she had buried deep inside. Hats off to a beautifull spirit of a woman that is making a difference for those that still have not found their voice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    Fabulous Book and Amazing Story

    It was a great privilege and honor to read the story of Sunny Love who overcame the horrors of an unjust childhood. Sunny Love was victimized but does not remain to be a victim. As one read the pages of her childhood life which influenced and shaped the path of her adult world, one will tremble, sob, and at times feels despair. The tragedy of her virgin hood stripped which is displayed in graphic and drastic terminology appears to be a continuous purging from years of cruelty and traumatic experiences she suffered. We must remember that healing takes place within and outwardly. It is being echoed very loud the importance of providing a safe environment for one to express their childhood¿s hurts and wounds without one passing judgment. It is amazing that Sunny internalizes and embraces the love of God, her mother and godmother which helped her to hold to the truth that the world is good and the horrific experiences were not the norm. This story depicted the character of Sunny that was instilled in her as a child which enabled her to be a survivor today. For example, she exercised a spirit of forgiveness that freed her from continuing in bondage as an emotional victim of others. I hope and pray that when one reads the life of Sunny that he/she will be motivated to release their darkness and hidden secrets through seeking God, a spiritual support person, therapy, or a seasonal friend who can lead them to a life of freedom, hope and peace. Thank you, Sunny, for allowing God to transform your life and for sharing how the power of healing can make us anew as well as overcomers. You are a light and great example for those who are taken advantage of, mistreated, abused, and mentally unstable that God is able to save and deliver.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    Sunny Love's explicit narrative describing her childhood is heart-wrenching yet inspiring. It offers a fitting reflection behind the ignorance others may display and how sometimes it is the difficulties of our past that truly shape and develop our future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1