Customer Reviews for

Robert B. Parker's Bull River (Virgil Cole/Everett Hitch Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Awful

    Please do not waste your hard earned money on this book. This is one of the worst books I have ever read! The man is dead allow him the opportunity to leave this world as one of the best writers of all time; and not take his craft of writing away with crap!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2014

    Recommend ( All Cole and Hitch fans highly recommended )

    Even though Parker did not finish, Robert Knott did excellent job finishing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2014

    Great

    Never read western but this was a great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2014

    Stop Ruining Parker's characters

    Waste of time like Ironhorse. Had to reread the first four in the series to remember what Cole and Hitch were really like. I'm done with this series and Spenser series. Glad Reed Coleman took over thr Stone series otherwise all the Parker series are going down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    Lilywolf

    Okay you must be making me try to cry Goldy! That is so heartbreaking! He covered her?! Oh crap well there went my composure. :,( Ha you don't have to post or anything since we're all unconcious/dead but I wanted you to know that that's ok. I didn't need a heart! :,,,,,,( ;) ~ Lilywolf &hearts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    Lilywolf (On Computer)
    The light gray tabby shecat trots

    Lilywolf (On Computer) <br />

    The light gray tabby shecat trots through the grass and glances back to see that Goldenstripe has decided to follow her. &quot;It will be much faster if we all go together. We can find Velvetstar and then we can all go home. What kind of friend would I be if I just left her out here! Besides I have a feeling that that cloud is much more dangerous than any regular cloud. Our safest bet is to stick together, not split up.&quot; Lilywolf pauses and licks Goldenstripe's ear. &quot;I love you but you really don't need to worry about me. I know the risks but I'm not going anywhere until I know that you both are safe.&quot; Suddenly a yowl so full of anguish makes the shecat whip her head around. She couldn't tell if the sound was Velvetstar, it was so distorted, but she didn't care. &quot;Come on!&quot; Racing away through the gorse, Lilywolf soon bursts into a clearing. Horror comes over her face as she sees the scene in front of her. The black cloud hovers over and in a pit covered with sticks and the humming noise has now become an incessant drone. Another terrified and pain filled yowl echoes from the pit and this time the tabby recognizes it. Without thinking about the cloud, the tabby charges forward. &quot;Velvetstar!&quot; Lilywolf leaps into the pit with no hesitation and that's when the pain hits. It felt like her pelt was on fire as the tiny flies swarmed over her. Clenching her jaw to withhold her scream, the tabby desperately skims the area. She didn't want Goldenstripe to follow. She knew he had felt weaker ever since his time as a loner. Lilywolf's eyes fall on the eaten fox and she shudders at the white bone that is starting to become visible through the flesh. Turning away, the shecat next spots a white pelt covered in red blood. Forcing herself to move despite the searing pain, she quickly reaches Velvetstar's side. What she sees almost makes her throw up. The torn flesh covered in flies is a burning red and the tabby can't even tell if her friend is alive. It didn't matter at the moment. She had to get them out of this place first. Grabbing Velvetstar's scruff in her jaws, Lilywolf drags her over to a stick propped up against the side of the pit. Digging her claws into the wood, she begins to haul them up. As she climbs her jaw clamps down harder on the white shecat's scruff every time a fly bites. Blood was now dripping down Lilywolf's pelt and she knew she didn't have much time. She would already be on the ground if it wasn't for the adrenaline creating a fire inside of her. With a massive heave, the tabby pulls them both out of the pit and staggers to Goldenstripe. She was barely able to stand and her body screamed for rest. But she couldn't quit now. Goldenstripe wasn't strong enough to carry them both. Realizing that some of its prey has escaped, part of the black cloud is soon on their trail and the creatures latch on to the cats, injecting even more poison. &quot;We've got to get to water.&quot; She croaks. &quot;This way.&quot; The tabby drags Velvetstar away towards pond she had spotted on their way here. The agony of the bites has increased as now the flies are ripping deeper into her flesh. After what feels like an eternity, Lilywolf spots the lake and she uses the last of her strength to nudge Velvetstar into the shallows, her head resting on shore. But while doing this, the shecat trips on a rock and falls. She can't help but let out an agonized screech as her wounds are presses against the stony bank. Lilywolf tries to rise but is unable to. Whimpering, she fights against black dots that swarm her vision as the pain become a numbing ache. But in the end, the black dots win. - Lilywolf ♥

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    Velvetstar

    (Umm hey, you forgot Wolfspirit and co. thats okay I'll post again at camp!) Velvetstar's currently lifeless body burned with fever as Emberleaf moved it. (And Goldy said to go ahead and post for him so here I go...) <p> Goldenstripe doesn't move.... <br> (Tada!!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    Emberleaf

    She worms her way under Velvetstar and slowly gets to her feet. Her broken leg sears with pain, and she lifts it off the ground, struggling to keep her balance as she carries velvetstar, following mouse. She glances back at goldenstripe, fearing for him, then sets off. (Gtgtb bbt)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    Mouse

    (Sorry Velvet! I'll do it at camp!) Mouse comes walking back to Goldenstripe, by now warn out. He still showed no sign of life and the chocolate tabby feared he was no longer living. Gently she heaved him up onto her back and started for home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2014

    This would be a fairly good read, if all the pages were there. B

    This would be a fairly good read, if all the pages were there. But between guessing about what I missed and filling in gaps with my imangation,The srory stays on track.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Virgil Cole and Everett Hitch are so dang cool! I really enjoy

    Virgil Cole and Everett Hitch are so dang cool! I really enjoy these characters Robert Parker created and Robert Knott is continuing. The story has a historic Cain and Abel quality to it. Very well written and thoroughly enjoyable! Keep them coming.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Lost in Time

    I'm so glad that Robert Knott agreed with the Parker family to continue RBP's western saga of Virgil Cole and Everett Hitch. He tells an excellent story that doesn't leave any doubt in your mind that it could have happened. Again, as in his other book, the dialogue and language ring true to that era. He brings the characters to life and you're more than happy to ride along on their next great adventure. Thank you Mr. Knott for an enjoyable read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    TRAINING HOLLOW

    Lepardfur

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I love Robert B Parker books, whether western or suspense.  But

    I love Robert B Parker books, whether western or suspense.  But this book really put me off.  First the profanity was  uncalled for in this book as the book would have been just as good without it.  I believe this book had some of Robert B. Parker style, but more of  Robert Knott , hence the vulgar language.  Good story  but not what I was accustom to in Mr. Parker's book.  Again, when some one is rewriting or finishing a book of a dead author you never know what you will get. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2