Customer Reviews for

Robert B. Parker's Cheap Shot (Spenser Series #43)

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    A Gathering of Old Friends

    Ace hits it out of the park again. This book brought some of our old friends from RBP's day back together. Hawk, Z, Tony Marcus and Susan. They brought the backup to a story that tells of the anguish of having your child kidnapped. Lots of twists and turns that Spenser deals with in his award winning way. No one...and, I mean no one, stops Spencer from doing his job and what's right. I love that this series is continuing and consistently delivers. Do yourself a favor and read Ace Atkins other books. This man is a force to be reckoned with and you can always count on a good solid story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2014

    It is hard to match the work of Robert Parker but Ace Atkins is

    It is hard to match the work of Robert Parker but Ace Atkins is getting to be as close as you can. (I encourage you to read his Quinn Colson novels as well. After the first Spencer book I looked up Mr. Atkins and have really enjoyed that series as well). He has fine tuned his Spencer novels and they are getting better and better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Unlike his previous effort in continuing a series created by Rob

    Unlike his previous effort in continuing a series created by Robert B. Parker, this time around Ace Atkins uses the full complement of Parker-created characters in a plot reminiscent of the master, including a sports theme. Kinjo Heywood is a star linebacker for the New England Patriots in need of Spenser’s services. It seems he has been followed and threatened.

    A simple assignment turns into a much more deadly one when Kinjo’s young son is kidnapped, and it takes the efforts of the full all-star team of Hawk, Zebulon Sixkill, Susan Silverman, and of course Spenser himself, to solve the crime.

    This time, the plot, dialogue and characterizations are more true to form. Atkins was hand-selected by the Parker estate to undertake writing three Spenser novels. Now that he has fulfilled that obligation, the question remains whether he will continue writing the series or go his own way. After all, he is an established author with many books of his own under his belt.

    The novel is recommended.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2014

    Bambi

    Cris ur a idiot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Although I'd always enjoyed Robert Parker's books, I'd never qui

    Although I'd always enjoyed Robert Parker's books, I'd never quite appreciated how well he could write  and move a story along, mostly through snappy dialogue.  This book shows none of that effectiveness or panache.  The story drags; the writing is mediocre.  We should let Spenser RIP. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Cris your such a man who.re

    From some one that hates you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Roxi

    Im not a guy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    Cris

    I read ur bio u sound cute

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    Bliss

    Well people cal me cute so yeah i guess i am

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Longest post by professor what

    <p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>.<p>m<p>.<p>.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2014

    Hawk has been missing from the last few Spencer mysteries. He's

    Hawk has been missing from the last few Spencer mysteries. He's back in &quot;Cheap Shot&quot; and things are better for it. I read this straight through in about 2 days. It was an easy, fun read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    The trap

    Will be up soon. My nook is new.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    GO TO FIRST RES

    Interested deputies

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2014

    I loved this one.  Ace Atkins has these characters down.  This h

    I loved this one.  Ace Atkins has these characters down.  This had every one of the people that makes up a great Spencer novel.  I can not wait till he writes another  one.  I received a copy of this book through goodreads for a fair and honest opinion.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Great successor

    Ace Atkins is far and away the best of the bunch that have tried to keep up Parker's series. This latest is no exception. He "gets" Spenser and the world that Parker created, and he seems to be getting better and more comfortable in carrying things forward. If you like these latter Spenser books (and you should), definitely read Atkins "Ranger" series, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Bastard

    Lol

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Spenser Rides Again

    Ace Atkins has mastered the Parker style. This book was very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Atkins does it again. I hope it is not sacrilegious to say that Ace's Spenser books have been better the last few of Parker's and this one is the best yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Panther

    First dont post here<p>Second my mailbox is in the next result<p>&gamma Thunderclan- Seawing <p>&delta Emberclan- Garnetpaw <p>&beta Sunclan- Blueflames, Anenomeheart, Brightstar <p>&alpha Etheral- Tito Dapple<p>&gamma The Assassins- Nebula<p>&delta Striking and I's book<p> &beta The Horoscopes- Cancer<p>&alpha Bloodclan- Violence and Vengance<p>&omega &omega &omega &omega <p>Other- if time passes and youre ready to be cool to each other post something in my mailbox. Otherwise i will not respond<p>&gamma &delta &beta Panther

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Klarkson

    Needs a master

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2