BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Robert B. Parker's Ironhorse (Virgil Cole/Everett Hitch Series #5)

Average Rating 3.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

As an avid fan of Robert Parker I am delighted over how wonderfu

As an avid fan of Robert Parker I am delighted over how wonderful a story-teller and writer his successor is. I'm riveted by the prose and enjoying every page. Congratulations to Robert Knott.

posted by Anonymous on February 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Henry4440

Not up to the standards of previous Cole and Hitch novels. The dialogue suffered fom the lack of Parker's writing.

posted by 17986674 on January 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Disappointed

    Not up to Robert Parker's snuff.You can tell he didn't write this novel. Some of Virgil and Everetts dialogs are reminiscent of Parker but that's it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Henry4440

    Not up to the standards of previous Cole and Hitch novels. The dialogue suffered fom the lack of Parker's writing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Reads like a cheap Made For TV western action movie

    First of all I loved Appaloosa, both the book and the movie. I've read the other Cole and Hitch novels and generally liked them. I really liked the way Robert B. Parker's characters interacted with each other and the dialog.

    Ironhorse, as written by Robert Knott, is definitely NOT a Robert B. Parker novel. The characters have the same names but the writing, the dialog and the characterization is sorely lacking. Mr. Knott certainly tried to make the dialog snappy and rich but it just fell flat for me. This book reads like a cheap Made For TV western action movie.

    Overall I thought the book was OK but I have to say I was disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    As an avid fan of Robert Parker I am delighted over how wonderfu

    As an avid fan of Robert Parker I am delighted over how wonderful a story-teller and writer his successor is. I'm riveted by the prose and enjoying every page. Congratulations to Robert Knott.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2014

    Great

    Wonderful series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Great book! No need to compare to Robert Parker. This book is ex

    Great book! No need to compare to Robert Parker. This book is excellent in its own right.
    Can't wait for the next one! Good job Robert Knott. And. thanks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Iron horse

    This book is wonderful in continuing Virgil Cole Everett Hitch series, I would request to anyone who likes this books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    For some reason this book was not as good as the otheer's

    Book is ok. Really did not keep my attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    It was not what I expected.

    I thought that this was written by Robert B. Parker when I purchased it. It was a good read but I could tell by reading it that it was not written by Robert B. Parker. It did not have his usual comments between Everett and Virgil. I expected better. Sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    Swing and miss

    These book should cost $0.99 and any others written by Knott. Cole and Hitch are now cheap characters and whoever said this book was good needs a hard flick in the middle of their forehead. Then asked if they read the first four of the series. I will only purchase if these books are under $2 and that's because the first four were that good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The author co-wrote with Robert B. Parker the screenplay for the

    The author co-wrote with Robert B. Parker the screenplay for the movie based on The Master’s last western, “Appaloosa”. So he obviously learned at the foot of the creator of Spenser, Jesse Stone, Sunny Randall, and Virgil Cole and Everett Hitch. Short chapters, succinct dialogue and, obviously, a good tight plot. And, to a great extent, succeeds in re-creating it.

    Returning to Appaloosa by rail, the Marshal and his deputy are confronted by a great train robbery. It appears that the governor of Texas, traveling to Indian
    Territory with his wife and two daughters, is carrying $500,000 in cash for a business deal. The Pullman car and following wagons are decoupled from the forward cars and engine on a steep rise, allowing them to roll backward. Eventually, Virgil Cole and Everett Hitch unhook the car they are in to give chase. And so begins the tale.

    While the writing comes close to the Parker style, the almost 400 pages seems a rather lengthy number for a typical Parker novel. And in attempting to emulate the Virgil-Everett conversations a la Parker: close but no cigar. Virgil is hardly a talkative character in previous novels, but in the present one is more voluble. Those comments notwithstanding, it is a well-told story, and is recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This novel is definitely not up to the standard that the late Ro

    This novel is definitely not up to the standard that the late Robert Parker set. However, it did still have a few good exchanges between Cole and Hitch and it had a few exciting moments. It just had too many slow points in the story and the ending just wasn't worth the wait. Wind down the series with one more book and give Virgil Cole and Everett Hitch a good send off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    IRONHORSE

    Great Western with Virgil & Everent making White Smoke.

    Hagen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    AR1

    One of those books you do not want to put down. I cant express enough how much I enjoyed reading this entertaining story. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    If you love Parker Westerns, you will love this one.

    Virgil and Everett ride again, this time on the Iron Horse. A rollicking good read, full of action and adventure. Don't miss it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Robert Knott does a terrific job at the helm of this classic wes

    Robert Knott does a terrific job at the helm of this classic western series. Virgil and Everett are great characters I would love to see in a movie. Knott didn't have as much of the sharp tongued wittiness that Parker did, but it is still humorous and wildly entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    stylized and awkward

    Not a huge fan of the cowboy genera, but this seemed unnecessarily awkward. Trying too hard to be 'cowboy'. I did enjoy what I felt, what I hoped, were authentic historical references... the introduction of air brakes on trains, for example. That said, not an edge of your seat page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Best of the Post-Parker books IMO

    I've now read three of the books written after Robert Parker's death, and though I liked them all, this was the only one that made feel like it was written by Parker himself. The others were good and showed promise, but Ironhorse got the dialogue right, the pacing, and the authentic, gritty feel of the originals. Virgil Cole and Everett Hitch are just right, and I was very quickly lost in the story. In the Ace Atkins and Michael Brandman books, I was always conscious of the fact that these were not written by Parker. Not that they were bad, or I didn't enjoy them, it just didn't feel like the real thing. Not so with Ironhorse. Cole and Hitch have become two of my favorite fictional characters, and I am very relieved that the vision has not been lost or diluted. Can't wait for the next installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Good read but it ain't Parker

    I enjoyed the book and I don't regret buying it but it lacked the pace and rhythm of Parker. I will probably continue buying the books as I enjoy the boys. It seemed to drag on a little.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Outstanding

    Thanks to all who are keeping Mr. Parker's characters alive and moving forward, much appreciated. To the anonymous reviewers, what did you read? This was Parker through and through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2