Customer Reviews for

Robert B. Parker's Lullaby (Spenser Series #40)

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I started "Lullaby" with trepidation: RBP was my favor

I started "Lullaby" with trepidation: RBP was my favorite author and I've been reading Spenser since 1974. I am pleased to say that Ace Atkins has truly captured the nuance of RBP's style of writing and the dialogue is as sharp as ever. There is a freshness ad...
I started "Lullaby" with trepidation: RBP was my favorite author and I've been reading Spenser since 1974. I am pleased to say that Ace Atkins has truly captured the nuance of RBP's style of writing and the dialogue is as sharp as ever. There is a freshness added to the mix that reminds me of the best Spenser books of the 70's thru the early 90"s. I'm extremely impressed and satisfied that Mr. Atkins is truly the man to carry on the Spenser novels, and I cannot wait for the next one to be published !

posted by JimBalog on May 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I didn't care for this book at all. The dialogue was terrible.

I didn't care for this book at all. The dialogue was terrible. The back and forth between Spenser and Hawk, Spenser and Susan, Spenser and Quirk seemed forced. It didn't have the flow of the Parker works and the characters didn't have the same personality. Spenser s...
I didn't care for this book at all. The dialogue was terrible. The back and forth between Spenser and Hawk, Spenser and Susan, Spenser and Quirk seemed forced. It didn't have the flow of the Parker works and the characters didn't have the same personality. Spenser should have been allowed to ride off into the sunset.

posted by Rich_D on May 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    I started "Lullaby" with trepidation: RBP was my favor

    I started "Lullaby" with trepidation: RBP was my favorite author and I've been reading Spenser since 1974. I am pleased to say that Ace Atkins has truly captured the nuance of RBP's style of writing and the dialogue is as sharp as ever. There is a freshness added to the mix that reminds me of the best Spenser books of the 70's thru the early 90"s. I'm extremely impressed and satisfied that Mr. Atkins is truly the man to carry on the Spenser novels, and I cannot wait for the next one to be published !

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Robert B. Parker passed away just over two years ago. With the b

    Robert B. Parker passed away just over two years ago. With the blessings of his estate, Parker's iconic characters - Jesse Stone and Spenser will continue to live on the written page. Author Ace Atkins was chosen to continue the tale of Boston P.I. Spenser.

    It's always a gamble for a publisher to have someone new take on the voice of a character so many have read and loved. I really enjoyed Ace Atkins' first book The Ranger last year (review here) and am eagerly awaiting the second. Atkins himself credits Parker with his direction in life.

    "I got into writing crime fiction because of Bob Parker," Atkins says. "For my 21st birthday, my mom waited in line for an hour at a bookstore in Atlanta to get a signed copy of (Parker's) Double Deuce. It was the greatest birthday present ever, and it shaped what I ended up doing for a living. I wanted to grow up to be Robert Parker."

    So I had a feeling that things might turn out okay...and I was right.

    Fourteen year old Mattie Parker stops by Spenser's office, looking to hire him. Her mom was killed four years ago. Although there's a man doing time for her murder, Mattie says he didn't do it. She know who really did - she saw them. Something about the girl - mostly her attitude - radiates with Spenser, so look into her case. And he finds she might be right......

    The trademark short snappy dialogue is there from page one and never lets up. Spenser's wry outlook, his witty wise cracking repartee with Hawk and his smooth as silk interactions with Susan all ring true. Spenser's love of food, drink, good music and literature are all lovingly continued and described.

    Favourite characters make a return - Hawk is just as big and bad as ever, but Atkins gives him a soft spot that was unexpected. We really know nothing of Hawk's past. Mattie's plight leads him to reveal something Spenser wasn't even aware of after twenty odd years. Susan is just as stunning, sexy and wise as always. And Pearl the Wonder Dog hasn't changed a bit. Many characters from previous books are mentioned or appear in Lullaby.

    So the characters, settings, actions and dialogue are all ringing true. But what about the plot? Well, it was just as good. Mattie was a tough, but vulnerable character in a tough situation. I wonder if she'll be brought back in future books, in the same way that Paul Giacomin was? Short chapters, lots of action and Spenser's unerring sense of justice made this a quick read that ended before I knew it.

    Spenser lives on - the tough guy with a soft heart. Atkins has chosen to not tinker with the characters too much. Definitely the right decision. No, it's not Robert Parker, but it's really damn close. Kudos to Atkins - he's done a fantastic job. Fans of Spenser will want to pick this one up - and the next one. I will be.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Loved it!

    Great book. Ace Atkins did a great job. I loved being back in Spenser's world. Didn't want it to end. Please write more!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Spenser returns

    Ace Atkins has done a fine job with the characters Robert Parker Spenser fans have come to love: Spenser, Susan, Hawk, Vinne, and many more. The story is new, but the tone and characters are familiar -- old friends. A thoroughly enjoyable read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Ace aced it!

    Sorry, couldn't resist! Seriously, I was skeptical about a strange author taking over the Spenser franchise from my favorite author, but in my opinion, the transition was nearly seamless. Atkins showed his respect for RBP and his knowledge of Spenser and other characters as well as RBP's writing style. There were a very few instances where I thought "that's not Parker" or " Spenser wouln't do that". Well done Ace!
    That said, this was a good story. Maddie was a little too tough for my taste, but later in the story, the little girl side of her comes out. There are enough twists and complications to make it unpredictable. Enjoy the ride!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Great read!

    This was a great book. Pretty close to Robert Parker's style in dialog and type of story. Please keep writing more Spencer stories and Jess Stone too!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    I didn't care for this book at all. The dialogue was terrible.

    I didn't care for this book at all. The dialogue was terrible. The back and forth between Spenser and Hawk, Spenser and Susan, Spenser and Quirk seemed forced. It didn't have the flow of the Parker works and the characters didn't have the same personality. Spenser should have been allowed to ride off into the sunset.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic!

    Lullaby is a brilliant progression of Robert Parker's Spenser. It is written with the snappy, witty dialogue that you loved from Robert Parker. I laughed out loud several times while reading this book and enjoyed every bit of it. I'll be seeking out more from Ace Atkins. Susan, Rita, Hawk and even Pearl the dog are all present and add richness to the story. Read it. You'll be happy you did.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    After reading Michael Brandman's horrible take on Robert B. Park

    After reading Michael Brandman's horrible take on Robert B. Parker's Jesse Stone I wasn't sure that Ace Atkins would do better with Spenser.
    While not up to RBP's high standards Mr. Atkins did a credible job in capturing most of Spenser's personality.
    The plot moves along and most of the nuances are there.
    Fans will be able to keep up with Spenser's exploits without feeling cheated as they would with Brandman's Stone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Spenser is alive and well

    I really enjoyed this tale - the author has Robert Parker's technique down pat. Bravo.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    When I read 'Lullaby; I was excited that a worthy writer like Ac

    When I read 'Lullaby; I was excited that a worthy writer like Ace Atkins was picking up the mantle of RJP. Mr. Atkins gets everything 98%-plus right in the diaglog and characters, etc. I had been afraid we had seen the last of Spenser and Hawk and Susan but now I was reassured that Atkins could keep these characters alive! Then I realized ..... Atkins isn't going to do any more Spenser books. 'Lullaby' means that Atkins is putting Spenser and company to bed. Alas, I fear, forever. Now I'm in mourning all over again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Locnolv,

    Zmor
    Ottoctu,bnlsgy,ozkoeusjvl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2013

    Would recommend this book

    I have read all of the Spenser Series, and I was afraid that a new author would change the dynamics between the characters or they would not be who they were before Ace Atkins took up writing the series with the death of Robert B. Parker. I was very impressed, I enjoyed the book and would tell anyone who liked the series before will still enjoy Spenser, Hawk, Susan and the new character Sixkill. It is as if Ace Atkins and Robert Parker are one and the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Good, but not great

    Ace Atkins follows the format for a Spenser mystery by Robert B. Parker. However, he doesn't quite get it, in my opinion. I would encourage him to keep trying. Perhaps his more recent attempt has succeeded. Spenser must be an octengenarian by now, but like Little Orphan Annie, he doesn't see to age much. He is a character worth keeping around and maybe Ace will be able topull it off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    The best of Parker, the best of Atkins...Lullaby.

    The story line for Spenser and friends continues as if Parker were still alive, but there is a touch of Atkins to tell you it's someone else writing the book. And his writing is not just journeyman level, but masterful. I'm really glad we who are hooked on Parker can continue to enjoy Spenser. We really need a fix from time to time.
    Please keep all his characters in Boston, coming to us.

    My only criticism is that Spenser must be getting older and softer. He would never have let Paul get away with behavior like he allowed the the girl to do. But then, Spenser always had a soft spot for females.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    AjCghaf afasagajagqragsgahazbadahdjagxbwydqrdgxb

    WyagxbCwyasag yucv .afvmcbqezbsgwraddjqe

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Okay

    Ace Atkins tries but doesn't quite capture Robert Parker's voice and style. My husband and I have both read almost all of Parker's Spenser books. This one just isn't the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    If You Like Spenser

    You'll like this book. Loved the wise ass dialogs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    A step back

    To me, the least satisfying of the post Parker attempts. Plot and dialogue seemed not quite as sharp, or "Parker-like" as the previous few.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Dvsfsxswfwfsfdvv

    Destiny

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3