Customer Reviews for

Robert B. Parker's Lullaby (Spenser Series #40)

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I started "Lullaby" with trepidation: RBP was my favor

I started "Lullaby" with trepidation: RBP was my favorite author and I've been reading Spenser since 1974. I am pleased to say that Ace Atkins has truly captured the nuance of RBP's style of writing and the dialogue is as sharp as ever. There is a freshness ad...
I started "Lullaby" with trepidation: RBP was my favorite author and I've been reading Spenser since 1974. I am pleased to say that Ace Atkins has truly captured the nuance of RBP's style of writing and the dialogue is as sharp as ever. There is a freshness added to the mix that reminds me of the best Spenser books of the 70's thru the early 90"s. I'm extremely impressed and satisfied that Mr. Atkins is truly the man to carry on the Spenser novels, and I cannot wait for the next one to be published !

posted by JimBalog on May 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I didn't care for this book at all. The dialogue was terrible.

I didn't care for this book at all. The dialogue was terrible. The back and forth between Spenser and Hawk, Spenser and Susan, Spenser and Quirk seemed forced. It didn't have the flow of the Parker works and the characters didn't have the same personality. Spenser s...
I didn't care for this book at all. The dialogue was terrible. The back and forth between Spenser and Hawk, Spenser and Susan, Spenser and Quirk seemed forced. It didn't have the flow of the Parker works and the characters didn't have the same personality. Spenser should have been allowed to ride off into the sunset.

posted by Rich_D on May 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An Attempt

    It is completely understandable that publishers and families would be reluctant to give up a long-standing franchise. In the case of Dick Francis, at least, his son Felix, who did research for many of the father’s novels, then co-wrote them before taking over alone, keeping it not only in the family but on a par with the originals, had a full basic grounding. Ace Atkins, a successful author in his own right, was picked to keep the Robert B. Parker’s Spenser series alive and well.

    The plot involves a 14-year-old girl, Mattie Sullivan, who visits Spenser’s office one day to hire him to find her mother’s murderer, which murder had occurred four years earlier. Upon his reluctance to take on such a case, she goads him into looking into the case file, in which Spenser finds an open-and-shut case against the man convicted of the crime. The girl says she saw two thugs force her mother into a car the night she was killed, and is not only convinced they are the murderers but that the wrong man is in jail. She continues to force Spenser to pursue the case and he does, along with Hawk, Vinnie, Belson and Quirk, Parker’s well defined characters.

    Well, the action and story progression is in keeping with Parker, with Spenser quips and Hawk comebacks peppered throughout. I for one do not ever remember Parker using profane language, which gratuitously permeates this book. Maybe Atkins thought it would endear his efforts to a new generation numb to such language. If so, perhaps he should rethink this technique. On the whole, the approach is heavy-handed, and not as subtle as that of the master. Nor is the prose as terse and sharp. If one is to make a judgment, based on this initial endeavor, practice may not become perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Good read.

    It was a good read but lacked something that the Robert B. Parker books had. Couldn't put my finger on exactly what.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Wow!

    First of all, spell right. Puppies! Making! Second, you didn't catch any of us dogs! We escaped and we will never get caught!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Puppy place

    Buy puppys and dogs here. Dogs used fotr makeing puppys. Let dogs go keeps puppys.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    This tries to stay true to the Spenser books but it isn't the sa

    This tries to stay true to the Spenser books but it isn't the same. For instance I was disappointed by a discussion between Hawk and Spenser about "Joe Broz". They concluded he was Slavic. Any true devotee to Robert B. Parker know that Joe Broz is the street name and nickname of Joseph Brosnahan. Slavic? I miss Robert more than ever.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Blake

    Here

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    The dialogue was not up to Robert Parker's old standard -- parti

    The dialogue was not up to Robert Parker's old standard -- particularly the wonderful character, Hawk, seemed shallow and stereotypical. I've read all of RP's books including those with the new ghost writers. This one leaves the most to be desired.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Sounds like the john connely/bulger saga Reads like the john connely/ whity Reas Reads like the john connely/ whitey bulger saga at the end

    Female charactor was awesome spenser dialogue really funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3