Customer Reviews for

Robert Jordan Wheel of Time Box Set, Volume 2 (Books 4-6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great books

    I love the Robert Jordan Wheel of Time series, at least what I have read of it so far. The content of the books will keep your imagination going wondering what will happen next.

    The prologues and first chapters are kind of scattered though. It takes a bit to get through the confusion and the rehash of the last book catching the reader up. While it works really well for someone just picking up a random book in the series, it makes the start of the book hard to muddle through as someone who has read the books before.

    I had issues with the print quality of some of the books; to much glue; the words were crooked for the first few chapters of one of the books.

    Overall I really enjoyed reading them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I FEEL THAT HE DIED. I HOPE THIS WHEEL OF TIME COMES TO END.

    Any one dying bfore their real time is sad. My condolences to his family. However, I hope some one puts an end to The Wheel Of Time story. One of the worst fantasy books I have ever read. Its bad when fantasy astrays from unthinkable make believe, just to feed us with every day EARTHLY matters or situations. If I had wanted to read a book(s) drenched with politics, religion, race, gender, etc., I would have picked up a book outside the Fantasy section. The story SHOULD have ended with seven, or the most eight books. It is too tedious, too boring, too annoyingly redundant. Some writers need to leave creative, moving writing, to creative moving FANTASY writers.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    RIP RJ

    The loss of Robert Jordan is a loss indeed. I began reading his books about 10 years ago - long before the Wheel of Time series became what it is. A friend turned me on to them and would buy each book as they came out so we could read them together. When my husband and I got together he showed me Terry Goodkind and I showed him Robert Jordan. I am proud to have this collection in my permanent library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wheel of Time - Robert Jordan

    This series is one of the absolute best fantasy writing I have read since Tolkien. The intricacy of the plot, the well-developed and very interesting characters, the interaction of the characters within the plot, the entire world culture and politics, race and creeds , etc. Every bit of this series is impeccable in structure and detail. The tragic death of Mr Jordan in 2007 with the last book still to be written has left a huge void in the fantasy world of literature. Happily for the Wheel of Time readers, Brandon Sanderson has been given the immense challenge and honor to write this last volume, using the detailed notes left by Robert Jordan.

    I cannot recommend this series highly enough for those of you who love the sci-fi-fantasy genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love Robert Jordan

    This is another great series. I love how the character we meet keep coming back into the stories. Great fantasy series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2009

    It's a best seller for a reason.

    Robert Jordan has created a world that other fantasy writers are probably envious of. So detailed is this world, a vision (not the one seen on the cover) is imprinted on the readers mind to the point of being there. I was skeptical at first, I am not a fantasy reader by nature. I have read Lord of the Rings and thought it was a good story. This series is also good. It is well written with few if any typo's (come on editors do your job!!) The characters are strong and easily relatable. Yes the story does drag in some parts but you can always skip it if it's too daunting to read. This is a great series for people who like to read about war, battles, human relationships, fantasy. It has everything from growing up to magic, from fights between good and evil to simply surviving your own thoughts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    The Wheel of Time

    The best book series I have ever read. I love it! Robert Jordan has passed away and we are waiting for the final book in the series written by another author. Hope the last book is a great as the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2007

    this series started out really well...

    but it's lost something along the way

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2007

    Just wonderful

    This series just blew my mind away... I was just looking for something to read while i waited for the last Terry Goodkind book to come out, but this series is definately on my list of greatest books ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2006

    Robert Jordan saves the day

    Robert Jordan has created the best fantasy series of his time, hands down. It was incredible, his detail never falters as he adds new elements to the storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2006

    This is the absolute worst series i've ever read

    This is a terrible series. It is so boring. I can't think of any book I've read that I dislike more than this, and I had to read Great Expectations for school this year (only got to chapter twenty, then gave up). The only reason I even started the second book was to find out what happened to Naeneve and Lan. In the end, I just went online and looked up whether they got married (yeah!), because I couldn't take another minute.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2004

    Outstanding! They're the best!

    I love the Wheel of Time series. Jordan has out done himself with everyone of his books. The characters, the plot, the motivation of each one of them makes one want to keep reading and never let go. These books are superb and I await anxiously for book 11. I know it's going to be just as good as the last 10. I can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2004

    One of the most memorable Fantasy titles

    These books were part of my first taste for fantasy, along with the David Eddings books. You fall in love with the characters, and cannot get their story out of your head! Rand al'Thor, Perrin Aybarra, and Mat Cauthon are all thrown into the cast of heroes and warriors, a role that is furthest from what they want in life! Jordan has a vivid imagination, and has an eye for precise detail! Everyone in love with fantasy MUST read these books......but I warn you, you will not be able to put them down, and you will want to read them over and over again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2004

    Robert Jordan hits home

    I've been following the Wheel of Time series since it's inception. With great anticipation for each new release. The telling of the tale is tradition that Robert Jordan has most definately inherited from some other source. His details are impecable and with great vigor. You can invision each character, scene and the action that happens around them as if you are actually there. The entire series is one that you will not want to put down, nor can you. You'll anticipate the release of new arrivals and read each book in the series several times never tiring of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2002

    some of the best out there

    The Wheel of Time Series is possibly the best fantasy series out there (and probably one of the longest). Rand is probably one of the most believable characters you'll ever read about, as he's pulled between the past, present and future, sometimes becoming the antangonist in the book, but also bravely tries to be the hero, even as his friends draw away from him and the world's end approaches. It has some of the typical fantasy things- such as if the hero doesn't win, darkness will overcome the world, all shall perish, etc etc, and the characters all have unique 'powers', but otherwise, Robert Jordan creates a world so intriguing, you don't even care about the length of the book by the time you're finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2002

    Best since Tolkien

    these books are the best fantasy to read over and over again. the bad thing is that they do tend to drag towards the last 2 books. the fact that robert jordan is taking so long to finish the series makes me wonder if he's ever going to finish the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2002

    Fantanstic!!!!!

    These books are just the beginning and the end in the world of fantasy writing!!! The characters just to seem to come alive in your mind as you read. I have all nine books and every one of them are worth the money and the time it takes to read them! I can't wait for book ten's release, when is it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2002

    A Top of the Line Book

    Robert Jordan is a top of the line author with very few authors that can even live up to the new level of fantasy writing he has created. He brings the characters in the story to life, slowly drawing you into his world. Before you know it three hours of your life have just slipped away but you dont really care anymore and those chores you had to do can just wait till tommorrow. If you are looking for a book that can take you away to a place where the only worry is the end of the world, well this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2001

    encridible

    Its just amazing the amount of time and detail gone into these books. i was reading the customer reviews & one person said she wants it to end as quickly as possible. i really mean this please drag it out as much as possible pull us along for all your worth. the characters are vibrant nearly alive. the story itself is a joy to behold and the way its told a master piece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2001

    End it already!

    ok, i don't pretend to know a lot about literature or any thing but i will say this, i have read the series and it is interesting but its quite obvious that robert jordan is publishing books that are meant to drag on the story not end it. in the last few books the story line drags a little bit.if u get paid minimum wage like me you may want to wait and see if there is an end to the series before you get hooked like i did.i love his style of writing and the story is great because even though it is fantasy he brings in bits of history and things that make it seem a lot more realistic than any other fantasy book i have ever read. i would suggest it but only if you have a lot of time to read and cash to buy the books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3