Customer Reviews for

Robert Ludlum's The Arctic Event (Covert-One Series #7)

Average Rating 3.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

This book has a slow beginning but once you get into it, it really holds your attention.

posted by Anonymous on July 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

total jibberish

I was very excited when I discovered a new Covert One book was on the market, but after reading The Artic Event, I was left not only disappointed, but disgusted. It is apparent that this so called author, James H. Cobb, had never bother to read any of the previous nove...
I was very excited when I discovered a new Covert One book was on the market, but after reading The Artic Event, I was left not only disappointed, but disgusted. It is apparent that this so called author, James H. Cobb, had never bother to read any of the previous novels prior to writing his jibberish. It is appauling to me that someone had the audacity to let this book be published with Robert Ludlum's name on it. Not only did he change the intergerity of the charcters, but their dynamics with each other. I cannot put into words how upset to have this so called author trash what has taken six pervious novels to build. The plot was slow and predictable. The action-lame, dull. This book ranked lower than a dime store novel. I hope that in the future,Covert One, to go back to the spirit it was intended, and ensure that this is Mr. Cobbs last attempt at the series. Please bring back Gayle Lynds, Patrick Larkin, and Philip Shelby, and make Robert Ludlum proud

posted by Anonymous on March 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2008

    total jibberish

    I was very excited when I discovered a new Covert One book was on the market, but after reading The Artic Event, I was left not only disappointed, but disgusted. It is apparent that this so called author, James H. Cobb, had never bother to read any of the previous novels prior to writing his jibberish. It is appauling to me that someone had the audacity to let this book be published with Robert Ludlum's name on it. Not only did he change the intergerity of the charcters, but their dynamics with each other. I cannot put into words how upset to have this so called author trash what has taken six pervious novels to build. The plot was slow and predictable. The action-lame, dull. This book ranked lower than a dime store novel. I hope that in the future,Covert One, to go back to the spirit it was intended, and ensure that this is Mr. Cobbs last attempt at the series. Please bring back Gayle Lynds, Patrick Larkin, and Philip Shelby, and make Robert Ludlum proud

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Difficult to judge

    Readers of the Covert One Series will most likely be disappointed in this book as the well developed characters of the series are not true to themselves in this title. It will be interesting to see if the characters return to their, "normal selves" or if they will continue to go through personality changes in the up and coming novel. Now I must say the book is not as bad as some make it out to be. New characters are thoroughly introduced and the story line is believable enough. The best part of this book is that I found myself on the edge of my seat several times eagerly anticipating what was going to happen. All in all, not a bad book just a little skewed in the returning character department. One last point this title takes a little while to get in to.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    Terrible

    I have read about our or five of the Covert One series novels so I will admit that I have not read them all, but I think I have a good feel for what Ludlum wants with his characters, and having a new author rape Randi Russel is not it. I was very disapointed that Cobb felt the need to to 'spice up' a successful franchise. If you like the characters of this series, I cannot recomend this title.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    Better than I expected

    While I've moved away from the techno-thrillers in recent years, I got this as a gift and actually read it because of the links to WWII. It was better than I expected, and I enjoyed reading it. Because of the great descriptions of Arctic weather, it makes a great read on hot summer nights.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    New to Ludlum, but definitely hooked.

    My wife and I were looking for a good book to listen to while going on a road trip, and we ended up buying this even though we had not ever read any of Ludlum's other books.

    This was definitely interesting and suspensful with lots of twists and turns. It kept us sitting in the car after we had arrived at our destinations, and it was difficult to turn off.

    I would definitely purchase other books in this series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book has a slow beginning but once you get into it, it really holds your attention.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exciting tribute to Robert Ludlum

    The photograph taken on remote Wednesday Island in the Canadian Arctic was a simple innocent display of the harshness of the wintry environs. However, incidentally the photo includes the wreckage of a WW II Russian bomber plane that shakes up the leaders of Russia and consequently the western governments. The Russians believe the lost plane that vanished five decades ago contained weapon-graded anthrax. No one knows what weathering will have done to the plane or the sealed cargo. Covert One, consisting of the best operatives from several nations, is sent in to learn the status. US Army physician Lieutenant Colonel Jon Smith, CIA Agent Randi Russell and Russian history professor Valentina (Val) Metrace are the agents assigned to investigate. Also the Russians add Major Gregori Smyslov to the team with a special agenda that if a certain secret deadlier than anthrax is uncovered, he is to kill the Covert One team. No one on this sanctioned squad is aware that notorious armed dealers have sent cold blooded mercenaries to Wednesday Island to pick up the anthrax for resale value. --- This is an exciting tribute to Robert Ludlum¿s Covert One team as THE ARCTIC EVENTS is an entertaining exciting thriller. The Covert Team dies not trust the newest Russian assigned to them and has doubts about the loyalty of the professor the Russians feels the same way about the Americans as they wonder what the Yanks will do with the cargo if found in containers that are movable. Although the arms dealing mercenaries add suspense, they seem more like intruders to a tense situation between teammates distrusting one another made tauter by adverse brutal weather and the other weapon. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    enjoyable read

    in character for the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Lightpaw

    Goes up behind the seal. Lunges into the seal and bites its throut. The seal trys to get away but is too fast! Claws at its belly and kills it with a swift bite. Drags to the fresh kill pile.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Got to love it it's got Ludlum's name on it

    I liked the concept. There are not any slowdowns in the book Jon Smiths character is still fresh. It is a series I will follow as long as it keeps going Over all an action thriller that makes it hard to go to sleep if you happen to start it at night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    A great addition to the Covert One series

    What more can I say? It's Covert One all the way. I'm going to check out Cobb's other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    Excellent book couldn't put it down!!!

    This book combines adventure, secret cover ups, drama, and begins at a fast pace. I'm not much for reading and dont usually do so if it's not required of me but this book was AMAZING. I read it in about two days because i couldn't put it down! Do yourself a favor and READ THIS BOOK! You WON'T be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2007

    Another Goodie

    I have read all the Covert-One series books. They are all excellent reading. They are jam packed with excitement - I love the characters, some of whom appear in the other books. Keep em coming guys. I'll be waiting for another one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2007

    Another fantastic book in this amazing series

    This was very enjoyable read, extremely hard to put down with lots of twists and turns. Looking forward to the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Covert operations in the Canadian Arctic

    I have read Robert Ludlum¿s books about Covert One previously and the author, James H. Cobb has taken the characters that Ludlum created and wrote a very good story containing those characters. Lieutenant Colonel Jon Smith is a member of Covert One, a secret spy agency made up of top spooks from various agencies. They work together as teams when and where needed. A random photo taken in the wilds of the Canadian Arctic contained the image of an airplane, vintage WW II and apparently Russian. This image started a hastily arranged covert operation to seek out this airplane that had disappeared with its crew some fifty-years ago. The Russians and the United States government joined forces to find this wreckage and seek out what had happened to cause this crash and what cargo was aboard. Smith, a medical doctor with the US army is teamed with an old acquaintance, Randi Russell, a CIA operative, and Valentina (Val) Metrace, Professor of History, to become the Covert One team to go and investigate the wreckage. Major Gregori Smyslov was assigned by the Russian government to join with Jon Smith and his team. The cargo in the plane was sealed containers of Anthrax that no one knew the stability of it or what condition the plane was in after fifty-years. Also there was something very secret and urgent that the Russians had to find first and destroy. Major Smyslov was sworn to secrecy to the point of having orders to kill anyone that found this ¿secret¿ also, even if it was the Americans. The level of trust between the Covert One team and the Russian major was non-existent, at least to begin with. Unknown to any of this investigative team was that a group of rogue armament dealers were in search of the anthrax and would kill anyone that got in their way. The above circumstances of trust or lack of it between the United States and Russian governments was always there as this mission got underway. The brutal weather conditions in that area of the world was not people friendly. They never knew when a storm would come up and stop any progress while trapping the groups where they were until the storm subsided. The only way to reach the area was by helicopter, airplane, or ice-cutting ships that sometimes could cut through to reach Wednesday Island, where all the activity occurred. There were many mental and physical battles occurring making the reader eager to keep reading this fast paced story with lots of action. The struggle became a mental game for those involved. As you read you may think that some of the action is a bit predictable but the way it played out made your predictions waver and change as you read. The breakdown of communications becomes a huge part of the story. Knowing there was a support ship with helicopter crews and soldiers off the coast was comforting but not having communications at many times with them made things terrible. The land communications also were a struggle partly because of weather and partly because of sabotage. That level of trust still wavered between the Russian and Covert One but at times that trust had to be strong, with the circumstances and the weather, continually presenting such a fierce enemy. Lots of strategic planning sometimes worked out but many times it backfired requiring the return to another plan, and that new plan had to be followed through at once. This is a very good read. As I finished ¿The Arctic Event¿ I couldn¿t help but think that the author had a great platform for a series containing some of the same characters in the book. I hope this team of writers continues to give us more interesting and exciting reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3