Customer Reviews for

Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Dominion (Bourne Series #9)

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I love Jason Bourne!

I am a real fan of the Bourne character. I hope there is another book in the making. THE BOURNE DOMINION is a must read for all who like Jason Bourne. Well done Eric Van Lustbader!

posted by Anonymous on November 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Tongue In Cheek Reading

Is this Jason Bourne or James Bond?? This is not a novel you can take seriously. You could put it down for a week and not really care. Care is the key word--there are just too many characters in the multi-plots you don't care about. It's strictly a recreational read t...
Is this Jason Bourne or James Bond?? This is not a novel you can take seriously. You could put it down for a week and not really care. Care is the key word--there are just too many characters in the multi-plots you don't care about. It's strictly a recreational read that passes as a time killer when you don't have anything better to read.

posted by Mikeeman on September 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    I love Jason Bourne!

    I am a real fan of the Bourne character. I hope there is another book in the making. THE BOURNE DOMINION is a must read for all who like Jason Bourne. Well done Eric Van Lustbader!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    Recommended with reservations on the excessive violence.

    I have read all of Robert Ludlum's books, and think that he would never have ratified the violence in this one. Lustbader's work is an excessive hyperbole of violence.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Fab! Check it out

    I have read all of these books and this is another I can not put down! An nearing the end and don't want it end!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Great series

    Robert has been dead for a bit. His ghost writers do a great job writing in his same style and producing a great book. Love them!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    The Bourne Dominion

    Very juvenile writing style
    Couldn't get past the first 25 pages
    Definitely not an authentic Ludlum

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Unread

    Have not read yet. How can I rate a book I haven't yet read?

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    If you're a fan of Jason Bourne - read it.

    Another installment in the Ludlum/Lustblader saga. As usual, the plot has a series of convolutions and violence is throughout. Jason gets stabbed, shot and beaten, but like the legendary Timex, he keeps on ticking. A nice read and keeps up the interest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Another great book- You must read it!

    I enjoyed the new Jason Bourne, exciting and dynamic. Could not put the book down, great continuity. Keep me up until late night!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Tongue In Cheek Reading

    Is this Jason Bourne or James Bond?? This is not a novel you can take seriously. You could put it down for a week and not really care. Care is the key word--there are just too many characters in the multi-plots you don't care about. It's strictly a recreational read that passes as a time killer when you don't have anything better to read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Jason Bourne series is great

    A must read for the complete experience of the writer's ability and the fullness of the character Jason Bourne.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    I got sucked into this for the first hundred pages. I normally l

    I got sucked into this for the first hundred pages. I normally like this kind of spy stuff/ action, but then it became too bloody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    I am a long-time fan of Eric Van Lustbader's books. Any possibil

    I am a long-time fan of Eric Van Lustbader's books. Any possibility of reviving the Nicholas Linnear saga? I imagine since some time has passed that Nicholas' son(s)/daughter(s) would be in the forefront. Here's to hoping . . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    Highly recommended!

    It carries on in the Lustbader tradition of a VERY good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Eric Van Lustbader carries on the tradition of the thriller/spy novel that Ludlum created and wrote so very well.

    Reviewed by Alice D. for Readers Favorite

    Robert Ludlum passed away ten years ago, and here, in Bourne Dominion, Eric Van Lustbader carries on the tradition of the thriller/spy novel that Ludlum created and wrote so very well. Jason Bourne is back and, this time, is on the track of a group of terrorists, called Severus Domna, who want to bring down the economy of the United States. The story of Jason's search is blended with the stories of the danger-filled activities of his skilled super sleuth friends, Peter in Washington D.C. and Saryah in Europe. Jason fears that his Russian friend, Boris, has become his enemy, but it turns out that they may both be fighting against the Severus Domna. Or are they?

    This twelve CD package of The Bourne Dominion by Eric Van Lustbader will keep the listener occupied for hours as each CD lasts for thirty to forty-five minutes. The reader does an excellent job of enunciating carefully and reading slowly, but not too slowly, so the listener can absorb the twists and turns of the story. His attempts at imitating the voices of the Spanish, Arabic and Russian characters fails, in part, as the listener will wonder the nationality of the character who is speaking. The voice the reader uses for the French characters is better. The indication of the beginning of each chapter of Bourne Dominion is good, but there should be more emphasis on the separation of Jason's story, as it moves into Peter's and then on to Boris' or Saryah's. This is a nice addition to library lending collections where Ludlum is popular.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    Too hard to keep up with the characters

    The story jumps back and forth to different locations and people and that makes it difficult to keep up with the plot.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Great read

    More good reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    NOT recommended

    This guy is not Robert Ludlum. If the book was free I would not recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Very Well Written with an Interesting Plot

    I have been an avid fan of the Bourne novels ever since I could follow the plots, and despite what some say, I think Mr. Lustbader has done a nice job so far. Sure there are a few discrepancies in the series (Luther Lavalle's physical description changing, Don Herrera's son changing from Jaime to DIego, and of course Peter Marks dying in the Bourne BEtrayal and now being alive and well), but this latest entry in the Bourne series has been his best one yet. With Arkadin dead, Bourne is now going toe-to-toe with the infamous Severus Domna as they try to destpry the US economy. Mixing the Black Leigon with DOmna made a very interesting plot twist and drew me in like a magnet. He does get carried away in some sense, but overall the novel is wonderful and still it is proven that Jason Bourne is the best covert character in literature, sorry Bond. I give this book a 4 out of 5 and am eagarly waiting a proposed tenth novel with the starting title of The Bourne Upset. By the way, the novels are spaced out over weeks or even one year if you did not already know. I know some people complain Bourne is too old but if you think about it, he is really only in his late forties or early fifties, it isn't like he's dodging bullets with a walker as some people have exaggerated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    In a word "Garbage"

    In more than a word, unnecessary plot lines, unnecessary characters. Tedious, tiresome. I've never been moved to write a review here, but this book was horrendous. Robert Ludlum must be turning over in his grave.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Orgy Of Violence and Betrayal

    The Bourne Dominion is a series of violent actions wherein the odds are so stacked against the one we want to survive that all is hopeless. But, no, the one we want to survive always does. After a dozen or so of these fights, we know exactly who is going to win. There is some suspense in who will betray who, and who is not what he or she seems to be. But ultimately all of the violence and betrayal leave the reader rather numb, instead of thrilled. For the record, I did not get a free advance copy of the book to review, nor did I worry about Nook pricing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4