Customer Reviews for

Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Legacy (Bourne Series #4)

Average Rating 3.5
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Bourne Legacy

The Bourne Legacy, written by Eric Van Lustbader, features main character Jason Bourne, running from a Hungarian man by the name of Stepan Spalko. Spalko¿s plan is to release a bacteriological weapon on a hotel in Iceland where world leaders will be meeting. It is up to...
The Bourne Legacy, written by Eric Van Lustbader, features main character Jason Bourne, running from a Hungarian man by the name of Stepan Spalko. Spalko¿s plan is to release a bacteriological weapon on a hotel in Iceland where world leaders will be meeting. It is up to Bourne to stop Stepan from killing the world leaders. Jason must dodge all the things Stepan Spalko throws at him, such as a hired assassin named Khan. The story begins with David Webb a.k.a. Jason Borne, a professor of linguistics at Georgetown University in Virginia, being shot at as he walks out onto the campus. He thought his CIA days were over but now he realizes unknown people are after him. He is then chased all over the world, including Hungary and then ending up in Iceland. Jason Bourne is man who is very smart and has a quick thinking mind to help him get out of tight situations. Very few people are able to track Jason down because he is frequently moving around and he hides in secret. This is just one of many reasons why you should read this book to see what he is planning on doing next. One thing I liked about this book was that it was hard to put down. Every time I read a chapter, I always wanted to read on even when I was tired. I think that the reason why I kept reading was because at the end of every chapter, it always kept me in suspense. Overall, I think the book kept me interested and was never boring. Another thing I liked about this book was how Jason Bourne was able to escape death many times. In one chapter, Khan almost killed Jason but then a woman named Annaka came and almost shot Khan before he ran away. In another chapter, Jason was severely injured and was chased down by the Hungarian police, but he managed to find a vent to hide in. Throughout this book, Jason should have been killed many times but was able to escape with his quick thinking. Jason, Stepan, Khan, and Annaka are probably the four most important characters in the book. Jason and Annaka are always running from Stepan and Khan, but towards the middle of the book, there is a twist between Khan and Jason that makes the book much more interesting. I thought this book was amazing and I would recommend it. If you like action and suspense, then this book is for you. If you don¿t find this story interesting in the beginning, then this probably isn¿t the book for you. You may have to re-read some of it to fully understand the story as it can get a little confusing but it was great.

posted by Anonymous on April 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

OK read but a pale imitation of the original

Eric van Lustbader's plot moves along like a house on fire. It doesn't miss a beat and there are no skips in the story. But when you compare this story to the original trilogy by the late Robert Ludlum, it's like looking at a piece of paper instead of a block of wood - ...
Eric van Lustbader's plot moves along like a house on fire. It doesn't miss a beat and there are no skips in the story. But when you compare this story to the original trilogy by the late Robert Ludlum, it's like looking at a piece of paper instead of a block of wood - there's just no "there" there.

I had no problem with the character of Khan and who he turned out to be - Ludlum's plots always required you to suspend your belief in the logical and the ordinary, so that didn't matter one bit. But van Lustbader doesn't flesh Khan out at all, and makes too big a deal out of his reason for pursuing Jason Bourne. And unlike in Ludlum's books, there are no characters in this story with any redeemable values whatsoever.

If I want to visit Jason Bourne's world again I think I'll open one of Ludlum's books.

posted by nprfan1 on November 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2008

    The Ludlum Legacy is ill-served by this book

    I was a devoted fan of Ludlum's Bourne series, so I was excited to discover that the Bourne estate had approved the continuation of the series. Although I wasn't familiar with Eric van Lustbader, I was eager to read this book. The Bourne Legacy disappointed me on many levels. Some of the characters may have shared names with Ludlum's characters, but the resemblance didn't go far beyond that. One of the things that bothered me the most was that van Lustbader's characters are emotionally binary: zero or volcanic. What character development was there seemed two-dimensional and unbelievable. I was willing to plow beyond the first few chapters in the hope that things would settle down, but I finally had to give up. The poor writing quality was too much for me. I can't recall the last book I read where I kept saying to myself, 'I can write better than this!' Honestly, I'm not being arrogant here -- I just felt like going through the text like a high school English teacher, marking the awkward dialogue and the klunky use of metaphors. Van Lustbader's later Bourne books may be better than this one, but I'm going to have to see some awfully good reasons to give them a try.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2008

    Bourne Fans - Stay Away

    This book is terrible for 3 reasons. 1. If the author is going to use a well known and loved character from previous books, then the history of that character should be incorporated into the book, and the long-term story should be advanced. This book does not do this. A good example of a book that does this is 'The Godfather Returns' by Mark Winegarder. 2. Do not make the FBI, CIA, KGB, or the Mob into mental midgets. In this book, a lone assassin outthinks Bourne, and the CIA and FBI are clueless in terms of chasing him. 3. Some of the plot points in this book are far fetched. For example, Bourne is being held by the bad guy in a room. This room is secret, and gaurded by some advanced security measures. A character rescues Bourne, and how do they escape. The drain for the blood, is big enough for two men to jump in and it leads to a river. Why would a drain be that big, it should be the size of a bathroom drain. And if for some reason, it had to be, why not have bars or some other type of security measures at the end of the tunnel. Another example is a man is thrown out of an airplane that is taking off. This man is not injured at all. I don't know how fast a plane needs to go to lift off, but to land on on a concrete pavement, going that speed will either kill you, or put you in the hospital for a very long time. This book is just terrible.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Not worth the read

    I could go into great detail about why this is a terrible book. Suffice it to say that if you have ever actually read the original Ludlum books, this is so bad that it will give you a headache. Don't bother.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2005

    AWFULL

    Totall ripoff. Completely agree with one of the previous reviews, this is NOT a Jason Bourne character, this is just someone carrying on his name. and for no apparent purpose. Can't say I'm a huge fan of Ludlum, but at least with first 3 books you could see an artist at work, creating plot lines, character intricasies. This however was a work of a FAR inferior writer. If you're looking for a good continuation to the saga, don't bother, it's a waste of time and $. To put it bluntly, I can't comprehend how a true Jason Bourne fan could enjoy this garbage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2005

    The Bourne Ripoff

    When Barnes&Noble sent me an email about a new 'Bourne' novel I was thrilled--I ordered the book, read it--and I am left with two questions: 1) Who is this Jason Bourne aka David Webb Character that Van Lustbader is writing about---Where are the ties to the other Bourne novels? 2) Where is the plot in this novel--Not only didn't I recognized the main character (except for his name) I did not find a plausible plot eitther. Is there a plot? Bottom line is this is a very poor ripoff of the Bourne novels---I wasted my money and time!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2004

    If Only We Could Assign 'Negative Stars' to Books

    One star is far too many for this travesty. Anyone who has come to appreciate Jason Bourne/David Webb as the multilayered protagonist of Ludlum's three amazing books will be alternately saddened, disappointed, and enraged by the treatment he receives in this book. Lustbader's hackneyed take on the 'tortured hero' archetype makes one wish that Carlos the Jackal had finished Bourne off in Novgorod; it would have been a more respectful end. I thought that I had seen the worst that could be done to the character of Jason Bourne in the lamentable movies that have used his name to guarantee ticket sales. Lustbader's treatment, however, trumps the movies for sheer bad taste and abandonment of the Ludlum spirit. I hope that any future endeavors of this nature will be set in the early years of Jason's (Delta's) involvement with Medusa, where Lustbader can play without destroying beloved characters like Mo and Alex.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2004

    Did he read the books first before writing this?

    Apart from banishing all main characters and replacing all the minor characters. This book fails to get even the basic facts right in how Jason Bourne came to be and how in ended up with amensia. Watching the movie dosen't count he should have a least been familiar with the story details before taking to Bourne with a bat!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2004

    why?

    lustbader shuld not have wrote this book at first in the bourne ultimatum I thought it would be cool to see panov or alex die but after this book it would've been better to keep them alive they were a important part of the bourne series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2004

    The Death of Bourne

    Did Mr. Van Lustbader even read the other books in the series. This book in no way relates to the others, and I almost found the first book that I didn't want to finish, it was so disappointing. If you loved The Bourne Identity, Supremacy, or Ultimatum, don't read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2004

    Bourne Disappointment

    Should have waited for the paperback, less money poorly spent. Could not wait to put it down. Slow, and predictable, with more redundant cliche's then I could stomach. I think Lustbader was way off the mark with the Bourne character, who came off as blundering, and very stoppable. Bourne was allowed to survive every predicament, instead of getting out of them. Save your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2004

    Pathetic!

    I'm a hardcore Ludlum fan, and I've been reading his books for around 4 years now. I found Eric Van Lustbader's 'The Bourne Legacy' incredibly disapointing. The title is the only thing about the book I liked. It saddens me to think a highly acclaimed author like Lustbader failed to see the incredible story woven within the Bourne novels. I feel this book SHOULD NEVER HAVE BEEN PUBLISHED because Lustbader ignored all of Bourne's history to make up his own story. If Robert Ludlum were still alive, this book would kill him! Ludlums books are filled with philosophies, twists, sub-plots, and many themes; while Lustbader's novel is packed with inaccuracies, spelling errors, and an unconvincing storyline. By now, Bourne is in his early seventies. (Ludlum would never have allowed him any more wild charades at this age, nor is it believable) Not to mention, Lustbader murders both Alex Conklin and Mo Panov, something Ludlum would be quite displeased with. Ludlum wrote all his books with an intriguing style, especially the Bourne novels. Marie always had a place in the spotlight throughout the entire story, but Lustbader didn't even give her dialogue, just a text message. Also, Ludlum was famous for inserting foreign languages into his novels and packing it with all the cloak and dagger philosophies. But could Lustbader respect this and try to follow suit, NO! He had to remove all remnants of Ludlum's style from his book: Conklin, Panov, Marie, philosophy, languages, AND A BELIEVABLE STORYLINE! Lustbader's story was very predictable, and even seemed like a backwards spinoff from STAR WARS. ' I am your son' 'NOOOO!' I mean give me a break!------------------------------------------------------------ This book Should definetly never have been published! ---------------------------------------------------------- -------------------------------- TO ANYONE WHO REPSECTS AND ADMIRES LUDLUM'S NOVELS, YOU WILL BE THOUROUGHLY DISGUSTED AT LUSTBADERS ATTEMPT TO 'ADD TO' THE LEGACY OF JASON BOURNE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1