Customer Reviews for

Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Legacy (Bourne Series #4)

Average Rating 3.5
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Bourne Legacy

The Bourne Legacy, written by Eric Van Lustbader, features main character Jason Bourne, running from a Hungarian man by the name of Stepan Spalko. Spalko¿s plan is to release a bacteriological weapon on a hotel in Iceland where world leaders will be meeting. It is up to...
The Bourne Legacy, written by Eric Van Lustbader, features main character Jason Bourne, running from a Hungarian man by the name of Stepan Spalko. Spalko¿s plan is to release a bacteriological weapon on a hotel in Iceland where world leaders will be meeting. It is up to Bourne to stop Stepan from killing the world leaders. Jason must dodge all the things Stepan Spalko throws at him, such as a hired assassin named Khan. The story begins with David Webb a.k.a. Jason Borne, a professor of linguistics at Georgetown University in Virginia, being shot at as he walks out onto the campus. He thought his CIA days were over but now he realizes unknown people are after him. He is then chased all over the world, including Hungary and then ending up in Iceland. Jason Bourne is man who is very smart and has a quick thinking mind to help him get out of tight situations. Very few people are able to track Jason down because he is frequently moving around and he hides in secret. This is just one of many reasons why you should read this book to see what he is planning on doing next. One thing I liked about this book was that it was hard to put down. Every time I read a chapter, I always wanted to read on even when I was tired. I think that the reason why I kept reading was because at the end of every chapter, it always kept me in suspense. Overall, I think the book kept me interested and was never boring. Another thing I liked about this book was how Jason Bourne was able to escape death many times. In one chapter, Khan almost killed Jason but then a woman named Annaka came and almost shot Khan before he ran away. In another chapter, Jason was severely injured and was chased down by the Hungarian police, but he managed to find a vent to hide in. Throughout this book, Jason should have been killed many times but was able to escape with his quick thinking. Jason, Stepan, Khan, and Annaka are probably the four most important characters in the book. Jason and Annaka are always running from Stepan and Khan, but towards the middle of the book, there is a twist between Khan and Jason that makes the book much more interesting. I thought this book was amazing and I would recommend it. If you like action and suspense, then this book is for you. If you don¿t find this story interesting in the beginning, then this probably isn¿t the book for you. You may have to re-read some of it to fully understand the story as it can get a little confusing but it was great.

posted by Anonymous on April 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

OK read but a pale imitation of the original

Eric van Lustbader's plot moves along like a house on fire. It doesn't miss a beat and there are no skips in the story. But when you compare this story to the original trilogy by the late Robert Ludlum, it's like looking at a piece of paper instead of a block of wood - ...
Eric van Lustbader's plot moves along like a house on fire. It doesn't miss a beat and there are no skips in the story. But when you compare this story to the original trilogy by the late Robert Ludlum, it's like looking at a piece of paper instead of a block of wood - there's just no "there" there.

I had no problem with the character of Khan and who he turned out to be - Ludlum's plots always required you to suspend your belief in the logical and the ordinary, so that didn't matter one bit. But van Lustbader doesn't flesh Khan out at all, and makes too big a deal out of his reason for pursuing Jason Bourne. And unlike in Ludlum's books, there are no characters in this story with any redeemable values whatsoever.

If I want to visit Jason Bourne's world again I think I'll open one of Ludlum's books.

posted by nprfan1 on November 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Very great read

    Keeps you glued from cover to cover

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    True Bourne Excitement

    Eric Van Lustbader truly captures Robert Ludlum's Bourne character in this thrilling tale. I would recommend the entire Bourne series to those who love a good spy novel with intricate details and surprises.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Excellent Book!

    I loved it! Another winner in the tradition of the Ludlum thrillers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2008

    wonderful story

    I was so happy to be reading another Borne book. They are always so exciting. I do hope there will be another and another, etc. Keep up the good work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2005

    one of the great thrillers

    this book has everything that a thriller needs. twists in the plot and a very well put together story make this book a must read for all spy novel readers. simply said this is a really good book and you should read it. i promise this is one that will be hard to put down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2005

    Simply fantastic!

    I read the other Bourne books years ago, was highly disappointed with Richard Chamberlain's movie portrayal, gleefully enjoyed Matt Damon's movie portayal... and now Eric Lustbader has outdone himself breathing new life into the Bourne identity! Thank you Eric, I've read every martial art novel you've ever written & am glad to see your return to the espinoge gendre. This is Jason Bourne for the 21st century, it's fast, furious & vivid... read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2005

    Eric does it again

    I love reading any books by Eric, his style and wonderful account of history,the plots thick with details and on the edge of your seat suspense. Jason Bourne takes us through the complicated world of assasins and terrorism as well as duplicity from his leaders to the enemies. You will love this book if you love intense martial arts,thrillers,mystery and history! Because its amazing historical reviews of every country, every building as a bonus. The author is by trade a historian. Jason is a borrowed character from Robert Ludlum, In any case, once you begin, you cannot put it down. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2004

    BRICK'S READING OF BOURNE IS BOFFO

    Overheard in a bookstore as a woman was buying an audio book: Her friend said, 'But, you don't like books by that author.' 'I know,' the buyer replied, 'but Scott Brick's reading it.' What more can one saw or how many additional plaudits can be heaped on this very talented voice performer? He's especially effective when reading tales of suspense and intrigue. Hence, his performance of 'The Bourne Legacy' is as good as it gets. (Brick reads both the Abridged and Unabridged versions). When Robert Ludlum first introduced Jason Bourne, he probably had no idea what an iconic figure he'd created. Bourne went on to star in three of Ludlum's bestsellers, and win a host of fans. Sadly, the death of Ludlum seemed to also be the end of Bourne. Not so. Eric Van Lustbader has ably taken over to once again provide readers and listeners with just the sort of action/adventure they can't resist. At this time it is, of course, some years after The Bourne Identity and former ace CIA agent has found a haven in the halls of academia. As David Webb he's a professor at Georgetown University where he seldom thinks of his former life as Jason Bourne. Memories quickly surface when he becomes the target of an assassin, Khan. When Webb seeks the advice of his former CIA friend, Alex Conklin, he finds Conklin and another close friend. It's a savvy setup - he's been framed for a double murder. Who's pulling the strings and why? - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2004

    Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Legacy

    Eric von Lustbader, approved by the Estate of Robert Ludlum to continue the Jason Bourne series, proves himself worthy to the task. I began reading this book on Friday night and couldn't put it down! To maintain the suspense, I will reveal nothing other than the book includes an unexpected and heartwarming twist that will keep you engaged until the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2004

    Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Legacy

    Eric von Lustbader continues the Jason Bourne character in outstanding fashion. The book finds David Webb, now married and settled in as a Professor of Linguistics at Georgetown University. Events as far away as Chechnya disrupt his peaceful life, and the suppressed character of Jason Bourne surfaces in this breathtaking adventure. Lustbader proves masterful in character development and psychological insight, as well as interweaving seemingly disparate story-lines. This book rivals the first of the three Jason Bourne books - the estate of Robert Ludlum chose the right man to continue this captivating series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2004

    FINISHED!

    I'm a big fan of this series. The movies, while not too bad, haven't lived up to the books, although I would not mind seeing this one in theatres as well. This book was my favorite of them all and I definitely would recommend picking it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2004

    The Bourne Legacy

    During the release of The Matarese Countdown, barnes&noble.com conducted an online interview with Mr. Ludlum. In this interview, Mr. Ludlum told the audience that he will never resurrect Jason Bourne in a new novel. He said that in the last book, probably he was talking about The Bourne Ultimatum, Jason Bourne was already in his 50-something, and that he was closed to Mr. Ludlumfs age, and Bourne canft do the things he used to do before, and he was already doing R & R (relaxation and retirement) in China. So what is this new Bourne book? Yes itfs a new Jason Bourne novel. I wonder if Mr. Ludlum will be happy with this one. Probably Bourne is in his early 70fs already, since it been 14 years since his ultimate showdown with The Jackal. I wonder if he can still do the stunts here. Maybe he has a double here. In the Bourne Supremacy and Bourne Ultimatum, Mr. Ludlum already showed that Bourne is aging. Also, I wonder if Mr. Ludlum would allow Alex Conklin and Dr. Mo Panov to be murdered, or that Marie has no dialogue in here only a text message. Or why is Jamie only eleven-year old when in the Bourne Ultimatum, hefs already a toddler, and this one comes after fourteen years of that eventsc Well. Mr. Ludlum is not around anymore. But nevertheless, I still bought and enjoy the book (only Mr. Ludlum can persuade and tempt me to buy his books in hardback, but this one is an exception). In fairness to Mr. Lustbader, who has already more than 20 widely and critically acclaimed thrillers in his veins aside from his fantasy series, he has done justice to the Bourne series. He maintained some of the Ludlum trademarks and Bournefs persona combining it with his own. There are only a few foreign dialogues or words here compare to Mr. Ludlumfs and it does not contain the usual Ludlum philosophies and outrages that are always present in his books. Mr. Lustbader also succeeded in assembling a dozen characters and then throwing them into action and pulling them altogether in a magnificent finale. The descriptions are so vivid giving them three-dimensional characteristics. The twists and turns are surprising and unexpected, and full of double-crosses and betrayals, a typical Ludlum style. The pace is fast. The actions are: gut-wrenching, jaw dropping, teeth grinding, ear-splitting, hair-raising, breakneck, in short swift, furious and deadly. Welcome come back once more Jason Bourne. Welcome back Mr. Lustbader in the thriller genre. You did a great job here. This might be considered as one your best novel yet and can be ranked along side Mr. Ludlumfs books. Perhaps you can start writing a prequel to the Bourne Identity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2004

    Great thriller

    David Webb teaches comparative languages at Georgetown University though he misses the excitement of his former life as a government employee working clandestine operations. Following an on campus incident, David reflects back to the death of his first wife and children in Phnom Penh, his meeting of his former handler Alex Conklin, his execution of Jason Bourne, and his three years as Bourne the assassin with an international reputation until he almost died. Now David is a married academic with two children, but Bourne still lingers on the edges and sometimes over the top.......................... A cracked marksman tries to kill David on the campus, but he cleverly escapes as Bourne takes over. Jason visits his former handler only to find Alex and agency psychologist Mo Panov dead. The CIA assumes Bourne went rogue. As Jason eludes the CIA and a professional as good as he was in his hey day, he remains unaware that he is an expendable pawn in a global game that is set for five days hence.................................. THE BOURNE LEGACY is a terrific tale that the late Robert Ludlum would have been proud to write because Eric Van Lustbader keeps the essences of both David and Jason consistent with previous novels. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Khan takes two shots at David on the Georgetown campus and never slows down until the final confrontation. Readers will be shocked as to why Bourne became dragged into the middle of a plot that threatened heads of states in this terrific tale in which his life in Southeast Asia has surfaced in DC.................................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2