Customer Reviews for

Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Objective (Bourne Series #8)

Average Rating 3.5
( 159 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

The Bourne Objective

Having read the last two books featuring Bourne's "evil twin" Leonid Arkadin, I expected a nice end to the explosive trilogy...and I was not disappointed. A little hard to follow at first, the book picks up almost immediately. If you are a Bourne fan and do not mind tha...
Having read the last two books featuring Bourne's "evil twin" Leonid Arkadin, I expected a nice end to the explosive trilogy...and I was not disappointed. A little hard to follow at first, the book picks up almost immediately. If you are a Bourne fan and do not mind that Mr. Lustbader has taken over the famous series, you will not be disappointed. I give it a 4/5, and excitedly wait for the presumed next novel, The Bourne Reality.

posted by Stevey211 on June 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

14.99 for a ebook?

I would be very tempted to buy this book if not for the price. I cannot believe they charge this much for a book in 'e' format.

posted by 6643134 on April 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 161 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Bourne Objective

    Having read the last two books featuring Bourne's "evil twin" Leonid Arkadin, I expected a nice end to the explosive trilogy...and I was not disappointed. A little hard to follow at first, the book picks up almost immediately. If you are a Bourne fan and do not mind that Mr. Lustbader has taken over the famous series, you will not be disappointed. I give it a 4/5, and excitedly wait for the presumed next novel, The Bourne Reality.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    14.99 for a ebook?

    I would be very tempted to buy this book if not for the price. I cannot believe they charge this much for a book in 'e' format.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    fast-paced conspiracy thriller

    The CIA creator of Treadstone hunts the two top graduates, American Jason Bourne and Russian Leonid Arkadin. The inventor needs to know first hand what failed in the fail safe Treadstone program so the error can be rectified and a new generation of super skilled cold killers can be created. Once the mission accomplished, Treadstone wants each to kill the other.

    Bourne and Arkadin stalk one another even while the former gains possession of a ring coveted by a secret cabal, Severus Domna, who believe the jewelry leads to King Solomon's gold; a major step for their achieving their goal of world control. Meanwhile Bourne continues his personal hunt to learn who he was while Treadstone, Servus Domna and Arkadin focus on his death.

    Although at times inane, readers will enjoy this fast-paced conspiracy thriller as two major webs converge on Bourne as well as Arkadin. Loaded with action, fans will anticipate a showdown between the two Treadstone grads as each understands the world has room for only one and if their "mentor and the cabal have their way: none.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    Foul mouthed excuse of a waste of time that is NOT Jason Bourne.

    Van Lustbader has totally betrayed the Jason Bourne that Robert Ludlum created and Matt Daman has failthfully portrayed in the Bourne Trilogy of movies. He seems to be more intent on using as much foul mouthed language as can fit on a single page than continuing the Legacy of Jason Bourne that Robert Ludlum has created and Matt Daman has continued on the screen.
    I just hope that someone else can take up the challenge of continuing the Bourne saga with the same vigor as Ludlum and Daman.
    Woefully Disappointed.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Get a New Story Line

    Author needs to ditch Arvadin & Treadstone and find another reason for Bourne to exist. This book was drudgery. I will not buy another if this hackneyed premise shows up again. And, I've bought them all. And I've enjoyed Lustbader too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    More great adventures of Jason Bourne

    Reading each of the series will give a more complete understanding of the charatcer Jason Bourne

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Outstanding Adventure..Could not put down.

    It is right along with the Bourne series. Loved the BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bourne STILL Has Amnesia??

    I think I read the first of these books in the late 1970s...you'd think he'd be cured by now!! While I loved books one through three, this effort is even worse than # 7 in the series as it has too many characters, too many subplots and too many plot twists. After a while you need a roadmap to keep track of who is doing what to whom. I expect in # 9 that we'll learn that Mitch Rapp is Jason Bourne's love child!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    One of the better Bourne sequels

    While this is not a Robert Ludlum story, it has a nice pace to it in the 2nd half and it's an engaging story. It seems to bring about a satisfying conclusion to the series. While the character of Bourne is fun, it's probably time for him to retire after this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Reader's Objective

    The reader's objective is to get to know the characters and learn to follow along with the plot. In the beginning of this novel, there are way too many characters thrown at us. Some of them are just now being remembered by Jason Bourne. We switch back and forth to different groups of people, as well as back in time. So it makes for a tough start to the book, which ultimately proves to contain little new in the plot department.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 161 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9