Customer Reviews for

Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Deception (Bourne Series #7)

Average Rating 3
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Another great thriller by Ludlum

As in typical Robert Ludlum fashion you are hooked by page three. Jason Bourne is sought by the world especially those from his on "ex-agency". Death is Bourne's constant companion but like James Bond, Bourne uses his skills to overcome.

If you are a Jason Bourne fan...
As in typical Robert Ludlum fashion you are hooked by page three. Jason Bourne is sought by the world especially those from his on "ex-agency". Death is Bourne's constant companion but like James Bond, Bourne uses his skills to overcome.

If you are a Jason Bourne fan this is a must read.

posted by kdavisKD on December 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Very Disappointing!

Having read several of Van Lustbader's other works I was excited with the prospect of him bringing new life to a series that has not had a really good book since The Bourne Identity. This book did not live up to my expectations and I might add it was not as good as any...
Having read several of Van Lustbader's other works I was excited with the prospect of him bringing new life to a series that has not had a really good book since The Bourne Identity. This book did not live up to my expectations and I might add it was not as good as any of the two follow-ups that Ludlum had penned to the original novel.

A high ranking US Government official makes a deal with a Russian military type to have Jason Bourne assasinated if the Russian will do the same to a suspected terrorist leader. The Russian agrees and unbeknownst to the American, the Russian is really Bourne's arch-enemy Arkadin who Bourne thought he killed in the last book.

Meanwhile Bourne is in hiding in Bali with his latest girlfriend (Moira) and Arkadin learns his whereabouts and comes to assasinate him. Thinking the deed is accomplished, Arkadin heads on to other business. Meanwhile Bourne cheats death in an implausible way.

Then a US airlines is shot down over Egypt by what appears to be an Iranian fanatic group and the US may be headed for war in Iran. Bourne will eventually be drawn into all of this and we also have an appearance in the book of Conklin's (the man who trained by Bourne and Arkadin) successor.

The book drags throughout and most of the characters are one-dimensional. Bourne is nowhere near the person who tackled his identity problem in the first book and grappled between his David Webb and Bourne personnas. Instead we have a very shallow, boring Bourne and it really kills any semblance of magic the book may have.

I hope that this series can be gracefully put to bed but it seems that we will be subjected to at least one more sequel.

posted by Kataman1 on April 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    Not nearly as good as Ludlum would have done it...

    Van Lustbader is nowhere near the writer Robert Ludlum was. I was disappointed with the writing style. It seemed at times the author swallowed a thesaurus using only the most obscure synonyms to add flourish to his writing, but the actual effect of this for the reader is for you to stop and say "why would the writer choose THAT word to describe...?"

    Other than the annoying choice of words I would swear Eric Van Lustbader is a pseudonym for a female writer due to the way the author describes the scenes in the book. My wife actually sensed that first and I agreed. The book seems to drift at times into the style of a Harlequin romance.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very Disappointing!

    Having read several of Van Lustbader's other works I was excited with the prospect of him bringing new life to a series that has not had a really good book since The Bourne Identity. This book did not live up to my expectations and I might add it was not as good as any of the two follow-ups that Ludlum had penned to the original novel.

    A high ranking US Government official makes a deal with a Russian military type to have Jason Bourne assasinated if the Russian will do the same to a suspected terrorist leader. The Russian agrees and unbeknownst to the American, the Russian is really Bourne's arch-enemy Arkadin who Bourne thought he killed in the last book.

    Meanwhile Bourne is in hiding in Bali with his latest girlfriend (Moira) and Arkadin learns his whereabouts and comes to assasinate him. Thinking the deed is accomplished, Arkadin heads on to other business. Meanwhile Bourne cheats death in an implausible way.

    Then a US airlines is shot down over Egypt by what appears to be an Iranian fanatic group and the US may be headed for war in Iran. Bourne will eventually be drawn into all of this and we also have an appearance in the book of Conklin's (the man who trained by Bourne and Arkadin) successor.

    The book drags throughout and most of the characters are one-dimensional. Bourne is nowhere near the person who tackled his identity problem in the first book and grappled between his David Webb and Bourne personnas. Instead we have a very shallow, boring Bourne and it really kills any semblance of magic the book may have.

    I hope that this series can be gracefully put to bed but it seems that we will be subjected to at least one more sequel.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    Worst

    This book is very disappointing. It is without a doubt the worst of all of the Ludlum or "near Ludlum" books which I have read, and I have read a lot of them.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not bad, but not the same...

    I don't know anyone who doesn't love a good Jason Bourne novel; they're fast-paced, exciting, deceptive, and fun. However, I agree with the people who say the books need to come to an end. Why play your favorite song until it gets old? Leave it while you still love it. And while this book does take us to some fascinating places and gives us some good action to get excited about, the principle is running out of steam. Leave him be while he's a legend!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    Robert Ludlum is Dead!

    Van Lusterbader feeds off dead carcass!
    In a grand attempt to take full and complete advantage of yet another dead author, Eric Van Lustbader gives you The Bourne Deception! Yes, that's right! Even the dead can reach into your wallet and take your cash!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    I've read all of Robert Ludlum's a few of the Bourne novels ...

    I've read all of Robert Ludlum's a few of the Bourne novels ... and I have to say that I can stomach through the books written after Mr. Ludlum passed away by pretending they're not about Jason Bourne. I have to pretend it's just another author who likes to write espionage-thriller books. Otherwise if I didn't I'd be pretty pissed off by these books because if it were about Bourne ... these books would suck.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    Another great thriller by Ludlum

    As in typical Robert Ludlum fashion you are hooked by page three. Jason Bourne is sought by the world especially those from his on "ex-agency". Death is Bourne's constant companion but like James Bond, Bourne uses his skills to overcome.

    If you are a Jason Bourne fan this is a must read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Thrill a minute

    You do not want to stop. It is one exciting moment after another. Well read with good sound effects.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Outstanding!

    I am so very grateful to Mr. Van Lustbader for taking over for Mr. Ludlum and continuing the Bourne series. The writing is spectacular and he paints a very vivid picture of characters, in the tradition of Robert Ludlum. Thank you!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Poser

    Van Lustbader drags good Bourne name in the mud throughout his follow-up series from Robert Ludlum. Ludlum's Bourne had survival, tactical personality and manner where his only downfall was having made an ethical decision and consequently lost his memory. This handicap actually serves to enhance the character's morals and enables the readers to relate to him. However, Van Lustbader's Bourne is usually shown limping throughout the book with injuries, psychotic attacks, and recklessness that the real Bourne would dealt with efficiency and decisiveness. Each of Van Lustbader's Bourne book is good episode, but I would like to see better character development.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2014

    Pillars of rhe earth

    Must reading.a great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    good read

    Good read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    BOURNE DECEPTION

    Haven't readit as of yet.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Awfully disappointing

    Not even close to those written by Ludlum. I won't bother with other Bourne novels written by EVL.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    as others have said, missing bourne

    i am a huge fan of bourne, books and movies alike even if movies have almost nothing to do with the books.... i will most likely read the next bourne book but i was slightly disappointed in the lack of bourne in this book.... hopefully the next one has more of him...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    Where oh where is Jason?

    I got half way through this book and wondered to myself, where is Jason Bourne, is this not as Bourne series book! I gave the book away. I was very disappointed. If one is writing about Jason Bourne, then let the book be about Jason Bourne.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Fun Read

    I enjoyed this novel, but it isn't Ludlum's Bourne. In fact, the more I read Lustbader's take on this great fictional character, the more he reminds me of Nicholas Linnear...wonder why.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Find another book to read

    I've been faithfully reading the entire Bourne series since they were first published. As van Lustbader began 'taking over' Ludlum's precious Jason Bourne, it became intuitively obvious to the most casual observer that he was no Ludlum. I got half way through the Bourne Deception and had to throw it away after the two most rediculous events ocurred - Jason Bourne takes on a bull in a bull ring and Soraya outswims a man with swim fins and air tanks ( Soraya only had her triathlete legs and no swim gear! ) As of today, I will no longer read or purchase any of Mr. van Lustbader's novels. Looks like he followed in Tom Clancy's footsteps after Mr. Clancy's last novel - another awful read. They've had their fame, now they should find another occupation!

    Try The Company by Robert Littel instead - now that's a great read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    Disappointed

    Does not belong in the Bourne series. Cheapens the original triology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    It's not Ludlum

    Why do writers try to ride the coat-tails of great authors? This is not Ludlum, and smacks of General Hospital soap operaism. Bourne apears in roughly 30 % of the book, and the other two thirds is filled with a lot of cliched characters who can't find their butts with both hands. This is a cheap way to ride the roller coaster to fame., but just seems to run out of track. The mission is never finished, if indeed there is a mission to start with, Bourne will most likely die of old age before he ever finds out who he is, and all we are left with is a transparent ploy to make us clamor for a sequel. I certainly won't bother, and neither should you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6