Customer Reviews for

Robert Ludlum's The Bourne Deception (Bourne Series #7)

Average Rating 3
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding!

I am so very grateful to Mr. Van Lustbader for taking over for Mr. Ludlum and continuing the Bourne series. The writing is spectacular and he paints a very vivid picture of characters, in the tradition of Robert Ludlum. Thank you!

posted by fish62 on November 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not nearly as good as Ludlum would have done it...

Van Lustbader is nowhere near the writer Robert Ludlum was. I was disappointed with the writing style. It seemed at times the author swallowed a thesaurus using only the most obscure synonyms to add flourish to his writing, but the actual effect of this for the reader...
Van Lustbader is nowhere near the writer Robert Ludlum was. I was disappointed with the writing style. It seemed at times the author swallowed a thesaurus using only the most obscure synonyms to add flourish to his writing, but the actual effect of this for the reader is for you to stop and say "why would the writer choose THAT word to describe...?"

Other than the annoying choice of words I would swear Eric Van Lustbader is a pseudonym for a female writer due to the way the author describes the scenes in the book. My wife actually sensed that first and I agreed. The book seems to drift at times into the style of a Harlequin romance.

posted by Tru2Ludlum on August 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    Worst

    This book is very disappointing. It is without a doubt the worst of all of the Ludlum or "near Ludlum" books which I have read, and I have read a lot of them.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    Robert Ludlum is Dead!

    Van Lusterbader feeds off dead carcass!
    In a grand attempt to take full and complete advantage of yet another dead author, Eric Van Lustbader gives you The Bourne Deception! Yes, that's right! Even the dead can reach into your wallet and take your cash!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Poser

    Van Lustbader drags good Bourne name in the mud throughout his follow-up series from Robert Ludlum. Ludlum's Bourne had survival, tactical personality and manner where his only downfall was having made an ethical decision and consequently lost his memory. This handicap actually serves to enhance the character's morals and enables the readers to relate to him. However, Van Lustbader's Bourne is usually shown limping throughout the book with injuries, psychotic attacks, and recklessness that the real Bourne would dealt with efficiency and decisiveness. Each of Van Lustbader's Bourne book is good episode, but I would like to see better character development.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    BOURNE DECEPTION

    Haven't readit as of yet.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Awfully disappointing

    Not even close to those written by Ludlum. I won't bother with other Bourne novels written by EVL.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    Where oh where is Jason?

    I got half way through this book and wondered to myself, where is Jason Bourne, is this not as Bourne series book! I gave the book away. I was very disappointed. If one is writing about Jason Bourne, then let the book be about Jason Bourne.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Find another book to read

    I've been faithfully reading the entire Bourne series since they were first published. As van Lustbader began 'taking over' Ludlum's precious Jason Bourne, it became intuitively obvious to the most casual observer that he was no Ludlum. I got half way through the Bourne Deception and had to throw it away after the two most rediculous events ocurred - Jason Bourne takes on a bull in a bull ring and Soraya outswims a man with swim fins and air tanks ( Soraya only had her triathlete legs and no swim gear! ) As of today, I will no longer read or purchase any of Mr. van Lustbader's novels. Looks like he followed in Tom Clancy's footsteps after Mr. Clancy's last novel - another awful read. They've had their fame, now they should find another occupation!

    Try The Company by Robert Littel instead - now that's a great read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    It's not Ludlum

    Why do writers try to ride the coat-tails of great authors? This is not Ludlum, and smacks of General Hospital soap operaism. Bourne apears in roughly 30 % of the book, and the other two thirds is filled with a lot of cliched characters who can't find their butts with both hands. This is a cheap way to ride the roller coaster to fame., but just seems to run out of track. The mission is never finished, if indeed there is a mission to start with, Bourne will most likely die of old age before he ever finds out who he is, and all we are left with is a transparent ploy to make us clamor for a sequel. I certainly won't bother, and neither should you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    I don't know what is was, but it wasn't Bourne

    The book should have been called the Arkadin Chronicles or Convert to Hinduism in One Easy Lesson. I think that there may have been 20 pages devoted to the Title Hero. The ending was the worst thing about the book, it truly stunk. I won't buy another one of these books, I'll just wait for a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2009

    Extremely disappointing

    This novel is extremely disappointing not so much because of the writing per se but the unrealistic use of NSA as an agency sending people off to investigate plane crashes and confronting their "internal enemies" at a deliberate killing/traffic accident. While the book is certainly fictional - we understand that - to use an agency charged with electronic intelligence as more of a "CIA" organization is rediculous. It is like writing about Barnes & Noble selling cars. Too much to accept! I stopped reading in the first few chapters and am hoping BN will take the book back. [If I have somehow misunderstood my apologies but I don't think so.]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Deceived

    I mistakenly thought the book was actualy written by Ludlum, it obviously wasn't. Don't bother getting this book you will be very disapointed if you are a Bourne/Ludlum fan.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    The Bourne Deception

    Books ordered but not received so not able to rate.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1