Customer Reviews for

Roberts Ridge: A Story of Courage and Sacrifice on Takur Ghar Mountain, Afghanistan

Average Rating 4
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

No man left behind.

This book is about a SEAL team who loses a member out of their helicopter when they land on Takur Ghar to capture the summit. Other military teams are called in to help rescue the SEALs after they fail to rescue their teammate and are shot down. The message is to neve...
This book is about a SEAL team who loses a member out of their helicopter when they land on Takur Ghar to capture the summit. Other military teams are called in to help rescue the SEALs after they fail to rescue their teammate and are shot down. The message is to never leave a fallen comrade behind, and no one does. I enjoyed this book very much, you really get to know the characters and MacPherson even provides a back story for most of the characters in the book. What I didn¿t like about the book was that it almost seemed to have three storylines at some points, and from chapter to chapter it jumped around a lot. I would definitely say that if you are interested in war books, or just the history of war, you should read this book. If you liked this book, you should read Black Hawk Down or Flags of our Fathers. I would give this book an 8/10 and considering I normally don¿t read very many books, this one was especially good.

posted by Anonymous on October 23, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Robert's Ridge Doesn't Even Begin To Tell The Whole Story

Mac Pherson's version of the events of Operation Anaconda leaves out the most important days leading up to the SEALS mis adventure. He fails to tell his readers that C.I.A., Delta and Special Forces commanders strongly advised against sending in SEALS teams to replace ...
Mac Pherson's version of the events of Operation Anaconda leaves out the most important days leading up to the SEALS mis adventure. He fails to tell his readers that C.I.A., Delta and Special Forces commanders strongly advised against sending in SEALS teams to replace the very effective AFO-Delta recon teams already in place. If Tommy Franks and Trebon, among other failures, would have listened to the commanders on the ground instead of insisting upon getting the SEALS into the fight, the Rangers and SEALS would not have suffered the losses they did. This failure to provide the reader with the real story is about what I would expect from a Time, Newsweek reporter.If you want the real story of Operation Anaconda, I suggest reading' Not A Good Day To Die' by Sean Naylor.

posted by Anonymous on April 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great read and history lesson

    A good example of mis-planning and communication in the military. Tragic consequences, but as often happens, the military usually learns from its mistakes. This book should be required reading at The Point/AFA/Annapolis, and of all OCS candidates.

    Just my opinion, with 11 years Army experience and seeing similar issues.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Five stars for the soldiers

    The description of this book is a little misleading. I thought it would showcase the SEALs and the fighting they went through. Yes the story started with the SEALs attacking and in a short period of time and with the lost of their members the SEALs were force to retreat. Rangers were sent in to recuse the SEALS. The Rangers took the hill and rescued the SEALs loosing five of their own men. This story brought to the fore front what many civilians were unaware of. The unsung heros are those teams that are sent in to backup and/or rescue those well known teams that include but are not limited to the SEALs, DELTA FORCE, and SOARs. Every soldier is a hero. But as we hold are "special teams" in high regard let us not forget those quiet unknown teams that will go into combat to rescue men in dire conditions without receiving all of the fanfare that the rescued men will receive. I thank all of the soldiers for their sacrifice regardless of rank or positions. The soldiers of the American Army protected me, families and friends while growing up in Panama during the restless times that were there. Thank you. Thank you to the families of our soldiers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Excellent Book

    This book is heart-wrenching. Great story, well written and a must read. It is sad though and my prayers to those who passed on and to those who still fights for this country. God Bless America!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Amazing!!!

    It desrves 5 stars PERIOD.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    Well Done...

    Great book beautifully written....although more of a guy book I thoroughly enjoyed this...perhaps because of family military background....highly recommend....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I have recommended this book countless times

    This book, about the Afghanistan Special Forces mission on Robert's Ridge that goes wrong, was written before Marcus Luttrell (Lone Survivor) could even talk about his ordeal. It is the overarching story of Luttrell's mission, and goes into detail how the mission ultimately came to disaster. While Luttrell necessarily focuses on his own experience during the mission, this covers all the men and what they must have encountered. It is extremely sobering and painful to read, but if you want to know what it is really like out there, I guarantee this will put the fear of allah into you.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2008

    heroic

    this book is a true story of what our soldiers have to go through in order for us to live our lives. Roberts ridge has inspired me to become an army ranger even more, because i already wanted too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2007

    Great book

    My overall response to the book is that it was a very well written and put together novel. It had many exciting points through out, which kept me interested and wanting to read more. The longer I read the book the more I liked it and the more respect I gave the author. Malcolm Macpherson did an excellent job creating this novel for the reader and making it reader friendly, quick, fun read. This book is for all ages and it covers a broad range of reading capabilities. The book kept me interested by making a solider lost and having the entire military out looking for him and trying to get him alive before the enemies kill him. It gave the book a sense of urgency and made you kept reading to be able to find out what happened next. He also made it a very easy read by using all real fact so it made it very easy to follow along, and to keep everything straight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2