Customer Reviews for

Robinson Crusoe (Modern Library Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Robinson Crusoe

The Plot of this story was very good. It started out with a man named Robinson Crusoe. He was faced with a challenge when he went out to sea and was shipped wrecked off the coast of Trinidad in search of slaves from Africa. So he was against the element of being strande...
The Plot of this story was very good. It started out with a man named Robinson Crusoe. He was faced with a challenge when he went out to sea and was shipped wrecked off the coast of Trinidad in search of slaves from Africa. So he was against the element of being stranded on land without food and anything to use. So he had to find someone or a village to use as a resource. As doing so he was put up against cannibals. Robinson killed one man and injured a few but fought them off and was safe to live another day. He then later met a native man named Friday. Friday taught and showed him how to fish hunt and found them a cave to sleep in. In exchange Crusoe taught Friday some English so he could speak. They later then had a conflict with Friday wanting to leave and find his own people. So then Friday and Crusoe had a problem with the cannibals. So the fought and killed the cannibals saving three men which one of them was Fridays father. Then Friday felt obligated to help Crusoe get off the island. So he saw an approaching English ship and planned to take it over. The next day he did so and Robinson Crusoe¿s life was turned around and he went back to England. In this selection the author made it so the character really changed over the staory. In the beginning he was pretty quite and did what his dad said. But later in the story his dad wanted him to do something he didn¿t want to do and Crusoe wanted to be a sailor . Later he was a sailor and he was ship wrecked. He was scared and wondering. Then he met Friday and he began to become enlightened. He struggled a lot before he met Friday. Friday really liked him. He liked him so much he took over an English boat and captured it for Robinson Crusoe. This selection was third person. They used the people¿s proper names and him, him, her, her, them, and them. This makes the story sounds like it was written along time ago and it was. So the author made it just how he wanted to. This made the story very interesting. My personal view was great on this story this was one of the best books I have ever read. I read it twice because I enjoyed it so much and I really don¿t like reading. I liked how the author portrayed the characters. That made it fun to read. Also I recommend this book to anyone who loves action, and always something going on in a story.

posted by Anonymous on April 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Teribble

Kteribble

posted by Anonymous on September 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2008

    Robinson Crusoe

    The Plot of this story was very good. It started out with a man named Robinson Crusoe. He was faced with a challenge when he went out to sea and was shipped wrecked off the coast of Trinidad in search of slaves from Africa. So he was against the element of being stranded on land without food and anything to use. So he had to find someone or a village to use as a resource. As doing so he was put up against cannibals. Robinson killed one man and injured a few but fought them off and was safe to live another day. He then later met a native man named Friday. Friday taught and showed him how to fish hunt and found them a cave to sleep in. In exchange Crusoe taught Friday some English so he could speak. They later then had a conflict with Friday wanting to leave and find his own people. So then Friday and Crusoe had a problem with the cannibals. So the fought and killed the cannibals saving three men which one of them was Fridays father. Then Friday felt obligated to help Crusoe get off the island. So he saw an approaching English ship and planned to take it over. The next day he did so and Robinson Crusoe¿s life was turned around and he went back to England. In this selection the author made it so the character really changed over the staory. In the beginning he was pretty quite and did what his dad said. But later in the story his dad wanted him to do something he didn¿t want to do and Crusoe wanted to be a sailor . Later he was a sailor and he was ship wrecked. He was scared and wondering. Then he met Friday and he began to become enlightened. He struggled a lot before he met Friday. Friday really liked him. He liked him so much he took over an English boat and captured it for Robinson Crusoe. This selection was third person. They used the people¿s proper names and him, him, her, her, them, and them. This makes the story sounds like it was written along time ago and it was. So the author made it just how he wanted to. This made the story very interesting. My personal view was great on this story this was one of the best books I have ever read. I read it twice because I enjoyed it so much and I really don¿t like reading. I liked how the author portrayed the characters. That made it fun to read. Also I recommend this book to anyone who loves action, and always something going on in a story.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Robinson Crusoe

    Finished Robinson Crusoe in just one week. Well written, well told, and hugely entertaining. Pick it up now!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    Amazing

    I would recomend this book for adventurous people! Do not read if you are under the age of 8!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ??????????????????????

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    There's more to this book than I thought.

    This book is deeper than I first imagined. I was supposed to read this in school but I never took the time to do so. Now in my late 30's I decided to read it on my nook. I was surprised to find that this book is more about self discovery and how Crusoe discovers where he fits into God's plan. Key ideas involved in the book are of mastery, spirituality, & morality. Crusoe becomes a man one can truly respect.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Tap here

    Should i get it... oepke say rhat its got typis

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Whtcha say

    Wassup.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Fjd

    Hdh

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Robinson Crusoe

    There was a lot of adventure in this book. Survival in unforseen situations is intriguing to me so this book was great. How he was able to survive by himself for 28 years is beyond me. I do not think I would have the same courage. Wonderfully written!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Tiring

    Hello friends and family. This book is tiring and it sucks. Can anyone stay awake on such a boring book? If you can.......................................

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Teribble

    Kteribble

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Robinson Crusoe is a story of a man who wants to become a sailor

    Robinson Crusoe is a story of a man who wants to become a sailor, but his father doesn't want him to. He went on one voyage and it didn't turn out so well, so Robinson was sent home 
    by the captain, then he met another captain who offered to take him on a voyage. Robinson gets shipwrecked on an island and survives alone for seven years. This story is exciting and depressing. It's exciting because there are pirates. It's depressing because lots of people die.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Prettygirl25

    This is such a great classic!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Highly Reccommended

    A Lot of Readers don not associate this Book as being
    a Religious related Literature. In Reality It Dwells on the
    Relationship between GOD and Robinson Crusoe being a Cast away alone
    on the Island. Was it God's punishment for his disobeying his
    father and so called sinning.

    What would you do in this situation

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Truly A Classic

    Robinson finds himself in trouble immediately after setting sail without his parents knowledge. Although his father and mother warned Robinson for years against the many dangers of a life of adventure on the high seas, he unwisely departs on a ship heading to London with an acquaintance. Robinson does not heed the warning given to him by the master of the first ship he suffered misadventure on. The master of that ship told him that the awful storm the ship went through on Robinson's very first voyage should represent a warning that Robinson should not ever travel by sea. Journey after journey is met with peril at sea, but Robinson manages to escape death each time. Again and again Robinson forgets about the horrific sea journey mishaps after being on dry land for awhile. He even became a slave after one sea voyage he took ended with the ship going down just after the crew was rescued. When Crusoe finds himself on a deserted island after having survived yet another shipwreck, he is forced to adapt and becomes very creative at staying alive and even thriving in isolation. After many years pass, Crusoe seizes a chance to rescue a prisoner from cannibals and this is how we meet his man Friday. Only a few more years pass when Crusoe is presented with an opportunity to save prisoners from a ship whose crew has mutinied. Crusoe's quick thinking saves the day and he is able to leave the island and return to civilization, where more adventures await him.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    A good discussion-starter.

    It sure isn't your modern novel. The action ebbs and flows (& ocasionally stagnates). But it was the very first novel, I'm told; so in that light, it's a good start. There are weaknesses in the plot -- places where I ask, "oh, why didn't he just ______?!?" But those can be used as jumping-off places for discussion, in a class or even within your own thoughts. Things that make one think are not wasted. In a few places it gets a little preachy, but in others there is humor and even tenderness as the main character lets us into his thoughts and feelings. As a survival guide it's rather a poor choice; Crusoe made a few good choices, but many lousy ones; and he took way too long before he began to take responsibility for his actions, instead of having 'pity-parties'. The language is not as archaic as Shakespeare's, but is sufficiently 'old-style' to encourage the mind to slow down & think (or slow down and feel), instead of simply rushing quickly on to the next thing, as we tend to do in this age. Even granting this, the latter part of the book is labored, as if added later upon requirement. I found myself wishing the travels through European forests would "just END, already!".
    So, to sum up: enjoy the storyline, and when something irks you, examine it and learn from it, and then go and do better. Whether that's a stupid decision Crusoe makes, or a writing style that bugs you: learn from it. It's a classic for good reason.










    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Im not paying

    Not going to pay 2 dollors for a book i know nothing about. The author really couldn't put any information at all on here for peopple to read? Wow!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Should i try it

    Some people say its good others say its bad should i get it please answer thanks

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Shipwreck discoveries

    Some how made it this far in life without having read this book. I was surprised by how much I truly enjoyed it. The struggles Robison goes through in the book both before and after the isolation is truly fascinating. It was even better when he was able to reflect and realize some of the light decisions he had made in life brought him to the isolation he experienced for the majority of the book. I really enjoyed the level of detail in the authors descriptions of the island, how Robinson made do with what he could and he was able to come up with solutions with limited resources at his disposal. the book is great for life lessons and adventure with a thousand twists. Highly recommend. A

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Very nice for children

    The story in its original form (not Disney) as we should all know and love. The physical book is pleasant to handle, illustrations are good, the binding excellent. A good gift for a child.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    DON'T DO IT!

    I have been an unfortunate person who had to read this for school. It is the most awful, godforsaken, slow read ever. I would never recommed this book to anyone and wish the best of luck to those who embark on this man's journey of narcissism, stupidity.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7