Customer Reviews for

Robopocalypse

Average Rating 4
( 475 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(188)

4 Star

(175)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Sci-Fi lovers won't be able to put it down!

Daniel Wilson's ROBOPOCALYPSE is an action packed, vividly written thriller about robots turning on their human masters in the not-too-distant future.

In that future, just about every car, aircraft, or mechanical toy has a computer chip in it. Robots are used as dome...
Daniel Wilson's ROBOPOCALYPSE is an action packed, vividly written thriller about robots turning on their human masters in the not-too-distant future.

In that future, just about every car, aircraft, or mechanical toy has a computer chip in it. Robots are used as domestic servants, medical assistants, even sexual companions. In several isolated incidents, seemingly unrelated, the mechanical devices begin to turn on their human masters. Toys taunt a young girl. A military robot kills friendly soldiers and the innocent civilians it was programmed to protect. Two aircraft are bent on a collision course, no matter how hard the pilots try to avoid each other.

Then, Zero Hour, and all hell breaks loose. Every machine turns on its human master, and the carnage is unbelievable. Mankind is on the run, and will have to fight back from the brink of extinction or be...deleted.

The story moves fast, with poignant images and likable characters. It is well organized and for the most part easy to follow. The technical descriptions are believable and understandable, without too much engineering jargon. There is some profanity, so I would rate this a PG-13. But it is definitely well-written, entertaining, and just a bit scary.

If you like sci-fi, you will like this. If you enjoyed the Terminator movies, but found yourself wishing you got more of the "back story", you will love this.

posted by Rob_Ballister on May 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

193 out of 278 people found this review helpful.

Another nook rip-off

Seriously? $12.99 for the Nook, and $13.75 for the physical book? This is RIDICULOUS! Buying a nook e-book has no paper costs, no printing cost, no shipping costs, no stocking costs. They don't have to be printed ahead of time in the hope someone will buy it. QUIT ...
Seriously? $12.99 for the Nook, and $13.75 for the physical book? This is RIDICULOUS! Buying a nook e-book has no paper costs, no printing cost, no shipping costs, no stocking costs. They don't have to be printed ahead of time in the hope someone will buy it. QUIT RIPPING US OFF!!!

posted by jus_me on June 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 477 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sci-Fi lovers won't be able to put it down!

    Daniel Wilson's ROBOPOCALYPSE is an action packed, vividly written thriller about robots turning on their human masters in the not-too-distant future.

    In that future, just about every car, aircraft, or mechanical toy has a computer chip in it. Robots are used as domestic servants, medical assistants, even sexual companions. In several isolated incidents, seemingly unrelated, the mechanical devices begin to turn on their human masters. Toys taunt a young girl. A military robot kills friendly soldiers and the innocent civilians it was programmed to protect. Two aircraft are bent on a collision course, no matter how hard the pilots try to avoid each other.

    Then, Zero Hour, and all hell breaks loose. Every machine turns on its human master, and the carnage is unbelievable. Mankind is on the run, and will have to fight back from the brink of extinction or be...deleted.

    The story moves fast, with poignant images and likable characters. It is well organized and for the most part easy to follow. The technical descriptions are believable and understandable, without too much engineering jargon. There is some profanity, so I would rate this a PG-13. But it is definitely well-written, entertaining, and just a bit scary.

    If you like sci-fi, you will like this. If you enjoyed the Terminator movies, but found yourself wishing you got more of the "back story", you will love this.

    38 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Book to Remember

    I got my hands on an amazing advance copy of this book, and I totally rethink the idea of my toaster!
    There is a future where the robots that we so rely on have turned against us and it is a struggle. Scientists have spend billions and years on connecting with an intelligence that far surpasses ours in the understanding of the universe and it was far to powerful to contain and now it has transferred to all the robotics that fill our needs in the world.
    The thing that I really appreciated in this novel is that it is beautiful. The concept and world building/destroying are so well written I had a great time reading and discussing the ideas in the book with my house.
    One of the interesting aspects of the book is that is it written from one person basically writing about the events that were recorded on a cube from the AI and the beginning of the war to the end. Captured images from cameras or recording devices, or the machines themselves tell of the human condition and struggle to survive and overcome the odds. So in the book we get snippets of what is going on from so many sources that by the end of the book have all tied into these characters and their impact on the end of the machine.
    Robopocalypse is very hard to say as a title, but the book is amazing. You will never want an in home machine again after this.

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    Gripping, fast-paced, and compelling: Highly recommended!!

    I managed to get my hands on an advanced reading copy of Robopocalypse. Wilson tells the story of how humanity manages to survive in a world in which robots have united against us. I was not expecting to like the book as much as I did, since technology topics are not usually that interesting to me. But Wilson had me on the edge of my seat and staying up late to finish this story. The characters start out in disparate places and circumstances, but ultimately their courage and persistence brings them together. Their stories are inspiring and very, very human.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Skippable

    While Mr.Wilson brings up some interesting ideas and writes well, the manner in this is written seems to be designed to remove any sort of suspense about the outcome of the story.

    I believe one could read the first chapter, "Briefing," and the give-away quote at the top of each subsequent chapter and get the general gist of the book...and you could do that standing in your local bookstore in 15 minutes. Whether Mr.Wilson or an editor raised on "tune in next week" television is to blame for this format I don't know, but it makes the reading a slog as just when suspense builds you realize, "Oh, I already know how this is going to turn out."

    Frankly, I wish I could get those hours back.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read! Who cares about the NOOK crybaby!

    This was a really good book. It's such a shame that some people slam an authors hard work because they want to whine and cry about the pricing of a NOOK. Giving an author one star because of pricing is completely selfish and unfair! Writing is hard work. Call the publisher and shut up! . This platform is provided for readers to critique the literary quality of the book, not pricing issues. And this book was top notch! Great Job Daniel Wilson! Keep 'em coming.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    I enjoyed reading this wonderful book. The story will keep you entertained for hours and sure enough you will think twice now about buying anything with machines. I didn't mind to pay a little more to read it on my nook since it is better for the environment.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Very good

    I liked this book. I liked the way it told the stories of different characters that were seemingly unrelated. But then all of their stories meshed beautifully. I loved the growing horror of realizing how the robots were already taking over, and how far their reach was. Very sinister. I enjoyed every page of this story. The only unnecessary element to me at least was the romance bit at the end. I guess I see the meaning in it -- they're alive, they're gonna start a new life together -- but meh, I didn't read this for romance, you know? Good thing it was only a little bit.

    Very good book! If you like robots, action, gore, and a dash of horror, go ahead and click that buy button.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Cheesy Ignorance!

    Wow was this book silly! I would not recommend this to anyone. Very poorly written, and only good for a few laughs.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Hero Archive

    "You humans are biological machines designed to create ever more intelligent tools. You have reached the pinnacle of your species.where you have fulfilled the destiny of humankind and created your successor. You have expired."-Archos

    At the end of the "New War," Cormac Wallace of the Gray Horse Army unearths something inexplicable: a black box much like those on airplanes buried in the ground by the artificial intelligence that was the backbone of the robotic uprising around the globe. In this black box, Archos the 14th, captured moments leading up to "Zero Hour" and beyond; honoring the human race it sought to destroy by studying the initial responses when machine turned on man and chronicling humanity's attempts to wipe out the robot army bent on extermination.

    Wallace calls it the Hero Archive. He painstakingly translates the data in the box into a chronicle so that everyone "will know that humanity carried the flame of knowledge into the terrible blackness of the unknown, to the very bring k of annihilation.and we carried it back."

    Daniel H. Wilson creates a chilling futuristic novel with Robopocalypse. In the near future, society has built a race of machines, robots, to function as servants and tools in just about every aspect of the modern human world. Some are utensils designed to operate without supervision. Some are very human looking, designed to function as maids and aides for families. Some are just children's toys. But one thing they all have in common is their ability to tie into a data network, one that is compromised and taken over by a malevolent artificial intelligence. This AI "sets the robots free" and arms them with tools and weapons for the sole purpose of wiping the human race out. What this AI does not understand is that humanity is not designed to surrender.

    Robopocalypse is a fantastic and bloodcurdling fiction of what could happen if humanity continues to play god with its creations.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Surprisingly well-written and entertaining...

    The blurbs I had read made this book seem like a slightly-updated version of "Maximum Overdrive" or the movie "Gremlins", with robots instead of monsters. It actually owes far more to Phillip K. Dick than the above sources, which is a good thing, in my view.

    With above-average writing (for the genre), good pacing, intriguing situations, and some genuinely creepy thrills, I heartily recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The wheels come off early

    I got about 5 chapters in and could no longer suspend my disbelife. There are a ton of plot holes that are unbelievable. The writing is pretty bad. There is 0 character development.

    For example - A member of the armed forces would not testify to congress they wan one character does. It lacked professionalism. There is one scene where the author states that congress is in session on Thanksgiving. Really?

    The plot is also rehashed from a variety of sources, all the others are written better - Stephen King (Trucks, The Cell, The Stand), 2001, Terminator, George Romero, Marvel Comics (Ultron)

    I do like the book cover. The primes is intriguing. But overall this book is really bad.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Poorly written

    Each chapter ends with heavy statements about impact the events described in the chapter will have upon future events. It's a plodding, contrived device used with EVERY chapter that it deadends the impact of those events. It makes everything trivial and little connects in the end.

    There's a rule. Show, not tell. This book tells without showing. I felt nothing for the characters

    Good idea
    Poor Execution

    And I agree with others writing reviews. B&N stop ripping us off! Worse than the pricing of this book, is finding paperbacks published for less than their e-pub counterparts. Sales should extend to the e-pub format.

    You are going to drive people to find alternative means. It always happens. This pricing is a mistake.

    Thank you for your time

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    The next time your computer acts up. Watch out.

    With a salute to West World, The Forbin Project, and a touch of 2001: A Space Odyssey with HAL 9000, get ready for the next story in the battle of man versus machine. In "Robopacalypse," it's technology gone haywire as, once again, mankind rues the day for overstepping the limits of artificial intelligence.
    In tomorrow's world, more of society is computerized. From robot domestic
    servants to humanoid peacekeeping soldiers, mechanical, computer controlled weaponry, and vehicles capable of networking to avoid accidents. However, in an underground laboratory, a scientist has created Archos, computer life, that learns.
    Archos soon has access to the world and initiates a war with humanity. Starting with small incidents seen as glitches, mankind soon finds itself fighting for survival as Archos takes control of modern technology. Smart cars and computerized tanks are only the beginning as Archos designs hordes of robotic soldiers and human mutations to ensure control of the world.
    Near the end of the war, Cormac Wallace-photographer turned soldier-and his team find a strange cube hidden underground in Alaska. The cube is an archive of the beginnings of Archos and the entire subsequent world war. Chronicling the adventures of many of the war's heroes, Cormac creates a document for humanity's future survivors.
    If you're a fan of the three movies listed above, you will thoroughly enjoy "Robopocalypse." This book presents a nice progression of events and the varying reactions from unique characters, from the London computer prankster to the Osage Indian policeman. Wilson has created a world not too far off from today's life. Who knows, is Archos being "borne" somewhere, right now? The next time your computer acts up. Watch out.

    Reviewed by Stephen L. Bayton, author of "Beta" for Suspense Magazine

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Great pretense...boring execution

    The cover drew me to read the jacket. The jacket had me intrigued being a total tech person who is using smart everything. The book though is told in short story style for each chapter. The character development is weak and slow. I agree with another reviewer, you could just read the recaps at each chapter or better yet, the first and last 50 pages and get the gist of the book. Too bad, really had potential to expose artificial intelligence and domination.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Robopocalypse is written from many different points of view, pre

    Robopocalypse is written from many different points of view, presented as recordings of interviews, conversations and personal observations. Basically, a key computer becomes aware and acquires intelligence. As a result, anything that has a computer chip falls under its control, following its orders to kill humans or capture and place them in work camps. Finally, the remaining humans must figure out how to survive and possibly take back their world.
    -----
    "We live on a placed island of ignorance in the midst of black seas of infinity, and it was not meant that we should voyage far. The sciences, each straining in its own direction, have hitherto harmed us little; but some day the piecing together of dissociated knowledge will open up such terrifying vistas of reality, and of our frightful position therein, that we shall either go mad from the revelation or flee from the deadly light into the peace and safety of a new dark age." -Howard Phillips Lovecract, 1926
    -----
    There are some extremely creepy and scary, yet poignant, quotes throughout this book. I was in heaven! I make these little magnetic book marks to mark quotes I want to write down and this book was filled with them. I absolutely enjoyed this book.
    -----
    First there are stories of random occurrences of behavior uncharacteristic of robots. This was the scariest section, in my opinion. It made me take a closer look at my children's toys. I'm a little scared of my daughter's Fijit now. And I won't be getting a robot companion any time soon. I had to stop reading the book at night because I was getting a little too nervous to sleep. But it was great. There were all these weird incidents that, in retrospect, were clues as to what was to come:
    -----
    Archos, the main computer, about humans: "...you are designed to want something that will hurt you. And you cannot help wanting it. You cannot stop wanting it. It is in your design. And when you finally find it, this thing will burn you up. This thing will destroy you."
    -----
    Archos is talking about knowledge. This book gets deep. There are so many discussion points in it that are not dependent on a robopocalypse. The previous quote can be just as easily discussed as a philosophical issue.
    -----
    The next section is Zero Hour, which is the moment Archos took control. This section was also scary. I might have to forego elevators forever and stick with stairs from now on. For the most part, Wilson sticks with the same points of view in each section. So I was happy with the character development. The reader gets to see how the characters react and adapt throughout the entire ordeal. Zero Hour was the big surprise for the human race and the individual reactions were interesting. The only one I didn't really get into was the whole Osage storyline. In this section, it was a bit boring.
    -----
    The next three sections are survival, awakening and retaliation. Survival is self-explanatory. I won't go into detail about the last two because there is a surprise that turns out to be integral to how the story ends. I don't want to ruin that for you. For me, the most exciting and suspenseful sections were the first two.
    -----
    Now I would like to address a couple of the criticisms Robopocalypse has received.
    -----
    There have been many criticisms of Wilson's style, some going so far as to claim it is a rip off of Max Brook's World War Z. I am willing to guess that Max Brooks was not the first person to use this literary style and Wilson will not be the last. While Brooks applied the style to zombies, Wilson applies it to a robot apocalypse. Just because Brooks did it first does not mean it is any less effective when someone else does it later.
    -----
    Other criticisms focus on the fact that robots gaining consciousness and taking over the world is not a new story. Neither is the love triangle; many authors recycle that story and are still quite successful. I am a huge Philip K. Dick fan. Dick was a master at the whole robot acquiring intelligence sub-genre, but that doesn't mean I can't appreciate it when another author delves into the topic. I can read these freaky sci-fi stories over and over again, and the more authors writing about it just means I have that much more material to entertain me.
    -----
    I thought this was a great book. It's an easy and interesting read. If you are a fan of Philip K. Dick and don't think that similar topics are rip offs of previous works, I think you will enjoy Robopocalypse. If you are the type of person who loves to debate underlying philosophical, ethical or moral issues of a story, Robopocalypse certainly delivers an abundance of material. I definitely recommend Robopocalypse.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I could not bring myself to finish it. I am in a bookclub, actu

    I could not bring myself to finish it. I am in a bookclub, actually the President, and this is the first book since the club started that I could not bring myself to finish. It was so horribly choppy and unbelievable, it was painful to read. The way the characters spoke, the actions of the "robots", and everything else was not well written. I always force myself to finish bookclub books, partly to be a team player and partly because I don't like to quit what I've started, but I had to make an exception in this case.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Moving and thought provoking.

    I always wonder what our future holds for our children. I embrace change and new tech. I buy all the latest hardware and look forward to new advances. A book like this makes me wonder where we will end up and how we will survive if we have to fall back even just 100 years ago and live in that world, could the majority of us survive? I really enjoyed this read. Im already looking into the authors other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    Not recommended.

    The writers could have used a military technical advisor. Our armed services do not store explosives or other dangerous materials in the armories located in cities but at remote depots where the civilian populaton is not in danger. The military jargon doesn't come close to being realistic. I borrowed this from the library and I am glad that I didn't waste my money.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Excellent read

    I'm not usually drawn to sci-fi but I thoroughly enjoyed this read. Let us all pray it remains fiction and not a prediction of what our future holds!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Powerful Read

    Once I started, I couldn't put it down. It was a tear wrencher in some parts and in others I couldn't stop laughing. The thought of the possibility of something like this happening never seemed so large. The idea has made me think about what the future could hold. Great story line and just enough detail. I would recomend to anyone into scifi or action. What a read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 477 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24