Customer Reviews for

Robopocalypse

Average Rating 4
( 479 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(191)

4 Star

(175)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Sci-Fi lovers won't be able to put it down!

Daniel Wilson's ROBOPOCALYPSE is an action packed, vividly written thriller about robots turning on their human masters in the not-too-distant future.

In that future, just about every car, aircraft, or mechanical toy has a computer chip in it. Robots are used as dome...
Daniel Wilson's ROBOPOCALYPSE is an action packed, vividly written thriller about robots turning on their human masters in the not-too-distant future.

In that future, just about every car, aircraft, or mechanical toy has a computer chip in it. Robots are used as domestic servants, medical assistants, even sexual companions. In several isolated incidents, seemingly unrelated, the mechanical devices begin to turn on their human masters. Toys taunt a young girl. A military robot kills friendly soldiers and the innocent civilians it was programmed to protect. Two aircraft are bent on a collision course, no matter how hard the pilots try to avoid each other.

Then, Zero Hour, and all hell breaks loose. Every machine turns on its human master, and the carnage is unbelievable. Mankind is on the run, and will have to fight back from the brink of extinction or be...deleted.

The story moves fast, with poignant images and likable characters. It is well organized and for the most part easy to follow. The technical descriptions are believable and understandable, without too much engineering jargon. There is some profanity, so I would rate this a PG-13. But it is definitely well-written, entertaining, and just a bit scary.

If you like sci-fi, you will like this. If you enjoyed the Terminator movies, but found yourself wishing you got more of the "back story", you will love this.

posted by Rob_Ballister on May 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

193 out of 278 people found this review helpful.

Another nook rip-off

Seriously? $12.99 for the Nook, and $13.75 for the physical book? This is RIDICULOUS! Buying a nook e-book has no paper costs, no printing cost, no shipping costs, no stocking costs. They don't have to be printed ahead of time in the hope someone will buy it. QUIT ...
Seriously? $12.99 for the Nook, and $13.75 for the physical book? This is RIDICULOUS! Buying a nook e-book has no paper costs, no printing cost, no shipping costs, no stocking costs. They don't have to be printed ahead of time in the hope someone will buy it. QUIT RIPPING US OFF!!!

posted by jus_me on June 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Poorly written

    Each chapter ends with heavy statements about impact the events described in the chapter will have upon future events. It's a plodding, contrived device used with EVERY chapter that it deadends the impact of those events. It makes everything trivial and little connects in the end.

    There's a rule. Show, not tell. This book tells without showing. I felt nothing for the characters

    Good idea
    Poor Execution

    And I agree with others writing reviews. B&N stop ripping us off! Worse than the pricing of this book, is finding paperbacks published for less than their e-pub counterparts. Sales should extend to the e-pub format.

    You are going to drive people to find alternative means. It always happens. This pricing is a mistake.

    Thank you for your time

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I could not bring myself to finish it. I am in a bookclub, actu

    I could not bring myself to finish it. I am in a bookclub, actually the President, and this is the first book since the club started that I could not bring myself to finish. It was so horribly choppy and unbelievable, it was painful to read. The way the characters spoke, the actions of the "robots", and everything else was not well written. I always force myself to finish bookclub books, partly to be a team player and partly because I don't like to quit what I've started, but I had to make an exception in this case.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    Not recommended.

    The writers could have used a military technical advisor. Our armed services do not store explosives or other dangerous materials in the armories located in cities but at remote depots where the civilian populaton is not in danger. The military jargon doesn't come close to being realistic. I borrowed this from the library and I am glad that I didn't waste my money.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Good idea though not very new, writing was awful,  characters we

    Good idea though not very new, writing was awful,  characters were made not believable and the book took on a 2nd rate clownish feel was all i could do to get   through it,Worst part was the over the top descriptive police report at the beginning from a dumb kid who seemingly had the observational skills of a 20 year cia man and was able to give his 20 minute description as if he was an english major, dont waste your time.          

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Iteresting concept, bad execution.

    This book has a nice concept, but is pretty bad. The stories are far too short, skipping anything of interest or excitement, and usually ending with a paragraph at the end of each telling you how things went. All in all, I'd skip this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Roboboring

    Structured identical to World War Z just with robots instead of zombies. A poorly written, disjointed knockoff. Stay away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    This book sucked.

    Thats all there is to it, this book sucked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Test

    Test

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not Worth The Cost of the Book

    I had really high hopes for this book. I thought it would be as good as World War Z, BIG mistake. This book left me waiting to care. . . about the characters, the world, anything. . .I would say that Knopf Doubleday have spent their money wisely promoting this book, they will make their money. But if you want to read a really good book, pick up The Passage or 2030. If you MUST know this story, wait for the movie. It was written with a screenplay deal in mind.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Robopocalypse

    This was the first book I've ever read by this author - and it came highly acknowledged as a great book. I only got a little over a quarter of the way through - and couldn't make myself continue to read anymore. I think the book was BORING to say the least!!! I will not be purchasing any other of Daniel's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2