Customer Reviews for

Robopocalypse

Average Rating 4
( 479 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(191)

4 Star

(175)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Sci-Fi lovers won't be able to put it down!

Daniel Wilson's ROBOPOCALYPSE is an action packed, vividly written thriller about robots turning on their human masters in the not-too-distant future.

In that future, just about every car, aircraft, or mechanical toy has a computer chip in it. Robots are used as dome...
Daniel Wilson's ROBOPOCALYPSE is an action packed, vividly written thriller about robots turning on their human masters in the not-too-distant future.

In that future, just about every car, aircraft, or mechanical toy has a computer chip in it. Robots are used as domestic servants, medical assistants, even sexual companions. In several isolated incidents, seemingly unrelated, the mechanical devices begin to turn on their human masters. Toys taunt a young girl. A military robot kills friendly soldiers and the innocent civilians it was programmed to protect. Two aircraft are bent on a collision course, no matter how hard the pilots try to avoid each other.

Then, Zero Hour, and all hell breaks loose. Every machine turns on its human master, and the carnage is unbelievable. Mankind is on the run, and will have to fight back from the brink of extinction or be...deleted.

The story moves fast, with poignant images and likable characters. It is well organized and for the most part easy to follow. The technical descriptions are believable and understandable, without too much engineering jargon. There is some profanity, so I would rate this a PG-13. But it is definitely well-written, entertaining, and just a bit scary.

If you like sci-fi, you will like this. If you enjoyed the Terminator movies, but found yourself wishing you got more of the "back story", you will love this.

posted by Rob_Ballister on May 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

193 out of 278 people found this review helpful.

Another nook rip-off

Seriously? $12.99 for the Nook, and $13.75 for the physical book? This is RIDICULOUS! Buying a nook e-book has no paper costs, no printing cost, no shipping costs, no stocking costs. They don't have to be printed ahead of time in the hope someone will buy it. QUIT ...
Seriously? $12.99 for the Nook, and $13.75 for the physical book? This is RIDICULOUS! Buying a nook e-book has no paper costs, no printing cost, no shipping costs, no stocking costs. They don't have to be printed ahead of time in the hope someone will buy it. QUIT RIPPING US OFF!!!

posted by jus_me on June 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Skippable

    While Mr.Wilson brings up some interesting ideas and writes well, the manner in this is written seems to be designed to remove any sort of suspense about the outcome of the story.

    I believe one could read the first chapter, "Briefing," and the give-away quote at the top of each subsequent chapter and get the general gist of the book...and you could do that standing in your local bookstore in 15 minutes. Whether Mr.Wilson or an editor raised on "tune in next week" television is to blame for this format I don't know, but it makes the reading a slog as just when suspense builds you realize, "Oh, I already know how this is going to turn out."

    Frankly, I wish I could get those hours back.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Cheesy Ignorance!

    Wow was this book silly! I would not recommend this to anyone. Very poorly written, and only good for a few laughs.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Robo So So

    My feelings about this book were up and down. The beginning pretty much tells you how the robot wars ended. It took out some of the suspense for me. But as I read it, I found it a good read. The book basically gives you a docmentary on how it started, how the humans responded, etc. I liked the sci-fi element and the authors creations. I also enjoyed the characters, although they didn't progress as much as I had hoped. He described the surroundings well making you feel like you were there, but didn't drone on. Then came the ending. It was such a let down and too rushed. A lot of time was spent building up to this point, and then bam, it's over. Ending was weak in my opinion. I gave it 3 stars, but I wouldn't spend $12.99 on it. Not sure I'd read this author again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2014

    Interesting story: Reads like a movie

    Great premise, some say derivative, but not so. Yes it is a story about robots taking over and viewing humans as the enemy..but done in a fresh way. It does read like a rough draft for a movie, but would like to see this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Robopocalypse

    Not as epic as the robot apocalypse should be. The style felt more fitted to a movie script than a novel...just didn't work for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    It was Okay..

    Read this book because - well, lets face it. The book cover was cool looking. The book started off great then, slowly became slow and boring. The smart car killing people was hilarious. I can imagine the little roller skate (that's what I call them) running over someone. I don't think you would die..lol... One part that disappointed me - more like it was written like the next pages would be profound. When the Indian elders banned together to speak.. the build up was amazing.. then they said "Let's Dance." Now I was thinking "You Got Served meets the Matrix meets Tombstone" but it was a few long pages about dancing.. It was strange and killed the story. There was a few good moments - more like three. All and all it was an okay book.. Will I read it again? No.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Yo's read H.I.V.E.

    Haven't read it sorry

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Once it got going and into firm characters, it was very good!

    Interesting story but I only read it because Bill O'Reilly from Fox News talked about it a little on his program. It was an okay story but seemed to take forever to get into the "meat" of the story and make you care anything at all about the main characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Good read.

    Easy read and entertaining. It is written in the form of a journal, which jumps around a bit more than a typical book. Took a little getting used to. Apparently Spielberg is making this into a movie in 2013.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Max Brooks Wrote It Better

    Listen Im not gonna knock the book, because it was a quick fun read. Yet, it is a book that will leave your memory quick after reading. Save this download and get World War Z, of which Robopocalypse is just a distant cousin of.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Good but Pricey

    Overall, not a bad book. Easy reading and moderately believable. But when the price of an electronic book is almost as much ( or more in a few cases) as a physical book which can be loaned , shared or traded in, that's when I stop buying them on nook.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good lite reading

    This is Terminator lite. In other words hardly an innovative plot. Though it's a little more believable in the robots are not totally invincible like they are in Terminator. I didn't like that it started out at the end so you know the outcome within the first few pages and then the rest of the story was pretty much a historical recounting supposedly from the enemy who watched and recorded the human resistance and the "heroes" that make victory possible. Unfortunately that left character development somewhat week and you really don't get too attached to anyone or feel you know them. That said it was a good book for light easy reading. Sometimes that is a good thing. I guess the scary thing is that what is recounted here is all too possible as technological advances in AI move on. Will we be smarter and stronger than the machines and AI in the future? How dependent as a society have we become on machines and computers? If they turned against us one day could we truely survive? After reading the book I would say yes but like the book I think we would be severely decimated in numbers. Give it a read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting premise, but very superficial story and bad writing.

    It reads too much like a movie script, so the story lacks depth and substance. It also contains some terrible grammatical errors throughout the book like "should of" for "should have"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    interesting but put off by pricing

    This is not a "have to read" book and the blurbs and promotion say this will be on the overstock table by September. It is just the seller capturing the market that has to have the latest and draining that sector dry before reacting to the more rational reader, relax and be patient if the price seems too high. (Econ 102 basic microeconomics)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting but slow and almost boring at times...

    This novel was well written and easy to read in the sense that it was written almost like a movie script. It seems a movie is in the works anyway. Truthfully though, I expected more from the story and the plot never instilled the fear I thought it should for such an apocaplyse. Overall, it was an easy read but I don't think its worth the hardcover price - wait for the paperback.
    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    eh. Not ground breaking

    Interesting use of personal viewpoint to tell a story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4