BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Rock Bottom

Average Rating 4
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    A Nail-Biting, Edge of Your Seat Thriller!

    From page one of Rock Bottom, the reader is drawn into a world of environmental ravaging, as AJ returns to her hometown to work with a lawyer set out to stop the pillaging and raping of the mountains the town of Scotia calls home. When AJ discovers her boss has suddenly died, before she has even arrived to begin her new job, her suspicions are aroused. Zach, her boss, is laid to rest the day after AJ's return to her hometown, and AJ finds herself protectively escorting his daughter, Elizabeth, from the cemetery. Elizabeth takes up her father's cause and things begin to escalate. What AJ discovers in Scotia, she has seen semblances of before. Children attending the local school have a myriad of health problems; there's an odd activist group in town, drumming up attention for the environmental cause; and death threats are made and acted upon.

    Erin Brockovich (and CJ Lyons) has a gift for captivating the reading audience, drawing you in, until you feel a part of the story; making Rock Bottom an excellent read that is difficult to put down. You'll laugh, yes; you'll cry, perhaps; and you will definitely be on the edge of your seat as you become immersed in this thriller!

    Highly recommended for a nail-biting, page turning experience! Rated: 4.5/5 (some deity expletives)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a character driven environmental-family drama that grips the audience from the opening gunshot until the final confrontation

    Angela Joy Palladino left Scotia, West Virginia as a pregnant teen with no future there. She gave birth to physically impaired David who she has raised as a single mom; yet also went to school while holding a job. Finally AJ becomes an on the air radio celebrity as an environmental activist that People magazine dubbed "The People's Champion". However, her efforts to end polluting by Capitol Power led to their declaration of bankruptcy; an irate former employer calls her on the air blaming her for losing his job, his home and his dignitary as he and his family reside in a tent; the gunshot ended their one sided discussion; turning her from crusading heroine to widow-making pariah.

    Litigator Zach Hardy hires her to help end the coal mining firms' practice of mountaintop removal in Scotia. However, nothing goes right starting with her boss is dead. Her parents demand she leave while they make her and their nine years old grandson stay at her Gram Flora's house as they do not want her under their roof. Finally Cole the father of her son is angry with what AJ did to him.

    This is a character driven environmental-family drama that grips the audience from the opening gunshot until the final confrontation. The key to this strong story line is that though saving the environment is the theme, the authors insure readers understand opportunity costs like less fuel and potentially less jobs. AJ is a terrific heroine who has taken life's gut punches but keeps on going with gusto; that enthusiasm for life is what she has given to David. With several tense subplots that tie together into a powerful taut thriller, fans will demand more similar tales from CJ Lyons and Erin Brockovich.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    RATING: 4.5! AN AWESOME DEBUT ENVIRONMENTAL THRILLER! ROCK BOTTOM BY ERIN BROCKOVICH WITH CJ LYONS....

    ROCK BOTTOM by Erin Brockovich with C.J. Lyons is an awesome debut thriller set in present day Scotia, West Virginia.It is written with great details and depth.The characters are encouraging,engaging and will capture heart and soul. It has intensity,passion, murder,secrets, betrayal,mayhem,confronting your past, a media disaster,adventure with dire consequences,disgrace and hitting "Rock Bottom". AJ is not only brilliant,but is feisty,has been dubbed the People's Champion.She also is committed to help the environment and uncover environmental crime,health threats, and greed. This is a powerful story that weaves together family,ecological and legal problems. This is a most compelling,page turning,fast paced,adventure filled story that will mix environmental and consumer advocates together to solve a problem.Although,not all involved want the solution found or solved for greed is overrode by passion. This story will not only have your heart pumping and your mind on edge, but will also leave you with a feeling of accomplishment. It will make you more conscious of the accountability and responsibility for helping with environmental and clean up issues. What an awesome start to not only a debut thriller but also a new beginning to an awesome series. Details can be found at Vanguard Press,a member of the Perseus Books Group and My Book Addiction Reviews. Visit the authors at cjlyons[dot]net and brockovich[dot]com. ***Coming soon "Hot Water"****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good beginning to a new series

    Erin Brockovich, noted environmental activist, and C.J. Lyons, award-winning suspense novelist, have teamed up to produce this truly fascinating book concerning environmental issues. This debut thriller is the first book in a series featuring A.J. Palladino, who has become a radio personality referred to as, The People's Champion. Angela Joy Palladino is an outcast who left her hometown of Scotia, West Virginia behind when she was just seventeen-years-old. Pregnant at the time, A.J. worked very hard to establish herself as an environmental activist, and was successful in becoming a radio personality. When she receives a call one day that ends in tragedy when the caller shoots himself 'live' on the air, A.J. is forced to leave her program, and decides to head home to Scotia with her son, and stay with her parents for a while to think things through and start over. Soon, A.J. is offered a job at a lawyer's office, working for an attorney who is a champion for environmental causes. This incredible lawyer, Zacharia Hardy, is fighting against Masterson Mining's new project, which is mountaintop removal. Being a single mother of a special needs child, A.J needs a job and agrees to work with Hardy. But when she arrives in Scotia, she finds that Hardy has died suddenly and A.J. ends up teaming with Hardy's daughter, Elizabeth, to solve the crime. Inundated with threats, the bodies begin to pile up and A.J. begins to realize that there are many secrets in her mountain top home that have been buried deep.some in her own backyard. This is a good read, and if you've ever heard of the author - and who hasn't - it is obviously written using stories from her own career and life. Brockovitch's world is intriguing, and her co-writer is first class, which makes this story very readable. Quill Says: A good beginning by a well-known personality. Fans will look forward to the next chapter in the life of A.J. Palladino.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great mystery novel!

    Rock Bottom is the second book by C.J. Lyons that I've had the pleasure of reading. All of the mystery in this novel kept me glued to the pages. And there was a lot of mystery! From AJ's fight for the enviromental issues, to the death of her new boss, to her parents inviting her back home and then brushing her off, to her son's father's (Cole) real feelings, to the townspeople's rejection of AJ.... and at the heart of the novel seemed to be AJ's love of her disabled son, David. Which made this book endearing to me. My prediction for the ending wasn't the outcome and that's always a plus! I would definately buy the series, if C.J. and/or Erin decide to go down that path! Great reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    BeautyBrite at blogspot Review

    In the beginning of the book, I had a hard time getting into the storyline and the book itself. It was difficult for me to follow, I don't know if it was me or the way it was written. I kept hoping it would get better as I kept reading. I am so glad I didn't stop reading this book because I thoroughly enjoyed the whole story. As I was reading, AJ reminded me a bit of Erin Brockovich herself, at least from what I saw in the movie about her determination to fight for what is right! AJ reminds me a bit of my husband and me in different ways. She fights for justice and doing the right thing, which is how my husband is. His passion is studying and learning law and justice. I can relate to AJ because she's a mom who lives to love and protect her son. She's a mom to a child with special needs, as am I.

    There are so many twists and turns that come out in this book. I love a good mystery/suspenseful book! The more time AJ spends in her hometown, she discovers secrets of her past that affect her present. She learns why her family and friends did what they did.

    AJ is much more outspoken and bolder than I would ever be. I think being married and being a mom, I have to watch how I react and respond to conflicts and issues of real life. Although I have never been put in that type of situation to stand up for something I believe is wrong. I would hope that I could speak up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    An exciting new Duo!

    In this story, two great characters created by two strong women (Brokovich and Lyons)team up to save the world and end up in a thrilling and edgy situation. Touching base on family issues, welfare issues, employment and of course the main environmental issues made for a great read. I read it cover to cover in one day. AJ Palladino and Elizabeth Hardy make for a great pair of heroines that you can easily relate to, whether your a mother, single mother, professional career person, or just the average Joe. You end up feeling as though you have a personal stake in the outcome of the story as the characters come alive off the pages. I look forward to more cases with this new dynamic duo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1