Customer Reviews for

Rock Hard (Sinners on Tour Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 171 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I have to start by admitting, I didn't care much for Sed before

I have to start by admitting, I didn't care much for Sed before this book. In BACKSTAGE PASS, Sed is an arrogant, mostly off-putting, girlfriend-stealing man whore. The dude was known for getting it on with three to four girls at a time for crying out loud. But very rar...
I have to start by admitting, I didn't care much for Sed before this book. In BACKSTAGE PASS, Sed is an arrogant, mostly off-putting, girlfriend-stealing man whore. The dude was known for getting it on with three to four girls at a time for crying out loud. But very rarely a contemplative, regretful side of Sed peeked through. The hint was definitely there that Sed had a story to tell. That hint is what made me excited to read ROCK HARD.

In this story, fate or circumstance pushes Sed and his former fiance, Jessica, back together. When they are forced to share close quarters, their attraction takes over and old (sexual) habits resurface. Sed wants to protect Jessica, be the alpha male and provider. Because of his blunt nature, though, he comes off as a condescending, controlling asshat. Jessica has issues, namely Sed. His controlling nature drives her crazy, enough so to make her leave him two years prior to this story. When he unexpectantly and violently re-enters her life, she wants to make him pay, to break his heart. In an effort to make that happen, she plans to use Sed's body (who can blame her?), toy with his heart, then dump his arrogant ass all over again. But, like any good romance, that plan goes down in flames when Jess realizes that Sed has changed, that he truly loves her and she never stopped loving him.

Besides Jess and Sed, the band, Sinners, is featured more in this book, as a unit. I loved that. I felt like I was behind the scenes, witnessing the magic. There is also a great deal of foreshadowing about Trey, Jace and Eric for the future books in the series. I have to admit, SINNERS ON TOUR has given me a much bigger appreciation for rock stars. I've always dug musicians, but now I really dig them. *wink*

So...I know why you're really here, for the S-E-X. Lemme tell you, there is plenty of the boning in ROCK HARD. And I do mean plenty. The kink isn't as prevalent as in BACKSTAGE PASS. Sed and Jess are a little more sedate in their tastes, but definitely not in their enthusiasm. With the amount of action these two get, I think they're basically sexual machines. They can get it on anytime, anywhere. They have insatiable appetities and they really enjoy sex in public places. And wow, homegirl's got technique! Besides having fun reading the story, I feel like I'm learning, y'all! Seriously, my mind is cataloging all of the tips I've gathered reading this series.

ROCK HARD was a highly enjoyable read for me. After the wonderful BACKSTAGE PASS, led by the most-adorable couple, Brian and Myrna, I didn't know if ROCK HARD would cut it for me. Sed and Jessica are definitely a change. Sed isn't as openly lovable as Brian. Jessica isn't the level-headed, calm person that Myrna is. I can identify with that. As a highly emotional and sometimes melodramatic chick, I like to be represented every now and then. They both make dumb choices, overreact. They're not perfect, but they are real. I fell hard for them, rooted for their happy ending. And, now that I think about it, I focused more on their relationship than the sex. Weird. Either I found the plotline to be super strong or I am becoming immune to the smexy times. *shudders* I'll go with option A. And now, the wait is on for Trey's book, DOUBLE TIME, which I have on preorder, but doesn't release until November. Somebody hold me.

posted by Andreat78 on June 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This is billed as erotic romance. I wouldn't describe it that wa

This is billed as erotic romance. I wouldn't describe it that way at all. I did not read the other book first. In fact, I had never heard of this author prior to buying this book. I probably won't be buying the next book. This is soft-core porn with a plot, and there's...
This is billed as erotic romance. I wouldn't describe it that way at all. I did not read the other book first. In fact, I had never heard of this author prior to buying this book. I probably won't be buying the next book. This is soft-core porn with a plot, and there's nothing wrong with that, if that's what you're looking for.

There's no romance, or at least none that jumped out at me and said, "Hey! I'm romantic!" There was nothing satisfying about Sed and Jessica's relationship and its forward motion (they got back together, that's all the resolution there was). To me, it wasn't erotic so much as sexually explicit. The two are not always interchangeable. There were shining moments in the plot that gave me hope for more, but in the end those moments just led to more hot sex.

If you want to read a book that'll get you geared up and in the mood, by all means, this is the book for you. Exhibitionism, voyeurism, sex in public places, frank language, group sex, sex with drugs, BDSM. Once I let go of my expectations and read it as is, I was delighted. If I'd continued to think this was some kind of erotic romance novel, I would have been deeply disappointed.

posted by lanalucy on November 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    This was my least favorite of the series, but still definitely w

    This was my least favorite of the series, but still definitely worth the read. Sed grows on you but Jessica can get annoying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    GREAT continuation of Sinners on Tour series. Hot, hot, hot! Loo

    GREAT continuation of Sinners on Tour series. Hot, hot, hot! Looking forward to #3. Read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Olivia Cunning has penned another fabulous story with the Sinners on tour, this time starring lead singer Sedric Lionheart. I cannot get enough of these sexy bad boys of rock and metal!

    Rock Hard was an emotional roller coaster with plenty of ups and downs that will keep readers glued to the pages and giving you one hell of a ride. Jessica and Sed have major history and it has affected each of their lives drastically, turning them into the people they are today. Misunderstandings, assumptions, lack of trust; you name it and this couple goes through it. Both are very strong characters and as such tend to clash, a lot. But one thing they've never had a problem with.smoking hot sex. Sed and Jessica's passion is palpable in each scene together and Olivia Cunning delivers up an absolute feast in this area!
    However, I just could not like Jessica, no matter how hard I tried! Loved Sed, even though he is domineering, he has a good heart behind it. Jessica just seemed cold and it took her a long time to even thaw out in the slightest. By the end I just accepted that she wasn't going to be a favorite character but I still enjoyed Rock Hard immensely despite that. Several twists and subplots add to the swift moving story line that is both gritty and realistic. Some heart breaking (Trey!) and others humorous rounding it out well.

    What truly grabs you in this series though is the group dynamic, the five guys in this band and their interactions and growth together. Each one of these guys, whether you're a Brian groupie *me, me*, a Sed fan, Jace lover, or Eric and Trey follower, will capture your heart and never let go!
    I am simply dying for the next novel in this series and Trey's book cannot come fast enough. I'm a Brian groupie all the way but Trey just tugs on my heart strings! If you haven't read this amazing rock star series yet then I recommend you start at the begging with Backstage Pass and do it soon, because these are keepers that you'll want to read again and again!

    I ? Sinners!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2014

    I love the Sinners series but this is my least favorite book. Se

    I love the Sinners series but this is my least favorite book. Sed and Jessica's story is full of hurt...between sleeping with women and saying mean things to Jessica, it just wasn't as enjoyable a read. The sex was still steamy hot and the writing was great but the story wasn't my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Too Hot To Read Alone!

    Read this with your other half close by - Wink, Wink. The Sinners on Tour Series is full of 'hot' situations and fun. I enjoyed reading the series. Can't wait for the last book.
    Wendy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Good Book!

    This bood was good, not great! I liked the 1st one a little better. There was actually too much sex!! Not enough story. I would rather have read more about their story than so much sex.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Got to love when the "hard ass" from book #1 shows his

    Got to love when the "hard ass" from book #1 shows his soft side in book #2. Great read full of fun banter and sex.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Olivia Cunning is such a great author because I really don't kno

    Olivia Cunning is such a great author because I really don't know how I was able to love Sed when Sed seems so unlovable. I love the premise of this story that Jessica was the one that got away. That they had history and how they meet up again and reconnect. This book has the typical steamy, naughty, sizzling chemistry I now know of Olivia's books. Great love scenes - page burning scenes. I can read about any rockstars that Olivia writes about! I can't wait for all the band members books to come out.

    And HANDS DOWN she has the best websites. Yes it's plural. Check out her blogs and Sinners have their own fictional website!!! It's soooooooooo much fun and Olivia knows just want we need...and that is more and she feeds our need for more with lots of extras on her sites! I devour anything Sinners and she has plenty!!! I LOVE IT! Olivia is THE BEST! She understands a reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoying this series

    Really enjoying this series. Well written. Caution...sexually explicit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Love it!

    I really like this series. Very hot and steamy :-) However, I could not stand Jessica. I wanted to smack her for most of the book. I didn't start liking her until the last couple of chapters. I love the guys though. Can't wait to see what's next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    Convinced to Read More

    We'll I kept getting interrupted so I finally stay up way to late last night o finish up the book. The beginning seemed to be so much a sex story where two people care about each other but seem to be at such cross purposes. At first it was hard to get into the story but I'm glad I stuck it out. I was unprepared for the depth of emotion the story brought out. There were so many big issues that had to be dealt with. Wow, even the minor character you wanted to hate with all your guts ended up drawing sympathy from me. The story really draws you in and you feel like you are investing in the lives of both Sed and Jess.

    Originally, I figured I'd just read the two freebies in the series I had received. This book as convinced me but the rest of the series on my wish list.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Sedric! Sedric! Sedric!

    A fictional character that I have enjoyed getting to know. He and Jessica - his love interest - struggle through relationship obstacles to reach their happy ending.

    I appreciated the character development. Sedric and Jessica progressed from one point to another; not unlike real life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hot, hot, hot!

    From the night life of Vegas to the quiet beach condo of one Sedric Lionheart (lead singer of the Sinners), this book is a sexy, steamy, voyeuristic, panty dropping romp of a book.

    It was a fun and easy read. Can't wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    VERY INTERESTING!!!!

    WOW!!! DID NOT KNOW THIS BOOK WAS A SEQUEL. IT REALLY PISSES ME OFF WHEN I READ A HALFWAY DECENT BOOK, AND THEN FIND OUT THAT THERE WAS ONE BEFORE THAT. IT JUST THROWS EVERYTHING OFF. WELL, I WAS SURPRISE BY ALL OF THE STEAMY LOVE SCENES. AND WHEN I SAY ALL I DO MEAN ALOT. WHICH IS GREAT. (LOL) BUT THE STORY LINE NEEDED SOME HELP. BUT EVEN WITH THAT SAID I STILL WANTED TO FINISH THE STORY. JESSICA, VERY HEAD STRONG, AND SED, VERY CONTROLING, IS TRYING TO FIND SOME SORT OF MIDDLE GROUND IN THEIR RELATIONSHIP WHICH SUFFERS A BREAK-UP, AND THEN IS SLOWLY REBUILT OVER A PERIOD OF TIME. AFTER READING THIS STORY, IT HAS ME WONDERING IF THIS IS IN FACT HOW OUR POP, ROCK AND R&B STARS GET DOWN TODAY??? IT LEAVES YOU GUESSING. ENJOY........

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3