Customer Reviews for

Rock Hard (Sinners on Tour Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 171 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I have to start by admitting, I didn't care much for Sed before

I have to start by admitting, I didn't care much for Sed before this book. In BACKSTAGE PASS, Sed is an arrogant, mostly off-putting, girlfriend-stealing man whore. The dude was known for getting it on with three to four girls at a time for crying out loud. But very rar...
I have to start by admitting, I didn't care much for Sed before this book. In BACKSTAGE PASS, Sed is an arrogant, mostly off-putting, girlfriend-stealing man whore. The dude was known for getting it on with three to four girls at a time for crying out loud. But very rarely a contemplative, regretful side of Sed peeked through. The hint was definitely there that Sed had a story to tell. That hint is what made me excited to read ROCK HARD.

In this story, fate or circumstance pushes Sed and his former fiance, Jessica, back together. When they are forced to share close quarters, their attraction takes over and old (sexual) habits resurface. Sed wants to protect Jessica, be the alpha male and provider. Because of his blunt nature, though, he comes off as a condescending, controlling asshat. Jessica has issues, namely Sed. His controlling nature drives her crazy, enough so to make her leave him two years prior to this story. When he unexpectantly and violently re-enters her life, she wants to make him pay, to break his heart. In an effort to make that happen, she plans to use Sed's body (who can blame her?), toy with his heart, then dump his arrogant ass all over again. But, like any good romance, that plan goes down in flames when Jess realizes that Sed has changed, that he truly loves her and she never stopped loving him.

Besides Jess and Sed, the band, Sinners, is featured more in this book, as a unit. I loved that. I felt like I was behind the scenes, witnessing the magic. There is also a great deal of foreshadowing about Trey, Jace and Eric for the future books in the series. I have to admit, SINNERS ON TOUR has given me a much bigger appreciation for rock stars. I've always dug musicians, but now I really dig them. *wink*

So...I know why you're really here, for the S-E-X. Lemme tell you, there is plenty of the boning in ROCK HARD. And I do mean plenty. The kink isn't as prevalent as in BACKSTAGE PASS. Sed and Jess are a little more sedate in their tastes, but definitely not in their enthusiasm. With the amount of action these two get, I think they're basically sexual machines. They can get it on anytime, anywhere. They have insatiable appetities and they really enjoy sex in public places. And wow, homegirl's got technique! Besides having fun reading the story, I feel like I'm learning, y'all! Seriously, my mind is cataloging all of the tips I've gathered reading this series.

ROCK HARD was a highly enjoyable read for me. After the wonderful BACKSTAGE PASS, led by the most-adorable couple, Brian and Myrna, I didn't know if ROCK HARD would cut it for me. Sed and Jessica are definitely a change. Sed isn't as openly lovable as Brian. Jessica isn't the level-headed, calm person that Myrna is. I can identify with that. As a highly emotional and sometimes melodramatic chick, I like to be represented every now and then. They both make dumb choices, overreact. They're not perfect, but they are real. I fell hard for them, rooted for their happy ending. And, now that I think about it, I focused more on their relationship than the sex. Weird. Either I found the plotline to be super strong or I am becoming immune to the smexy times. *shudders* I'll go with option A. And now, the wait is on for Trey's book, DOUBLE TIME, which I have on preorder, but doesn't release until November. Somebody hold me.

posted by Andreat78 on June 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This is billed as erotic romance. I wouldn't describe it that wa

This is billed as erotic romance. I wouldn't describe it that way at all. I did not read the other book first. In fact, I had never heard of this author prior to buying this book. I probably won't be buying the next book. This is soft-core porn with a plot, and there's...
This is billed as erotic romance. I wouldn't describe it that way at all. I did not read the other book first. In fact, I had never heard of this author prior to buying this book. I probably won't be buying the next book. This is soft-core porn with a plot, and there's nothing wrong with that, if that's what you're looking for.

There's no romance, or at least none that jumped out at me and said, "Hey! I'm romantic!" There was nothing satisfying about Sed and Jessica's relationship and its forward motion (they got back together, that's all the resolution there was). To me, it wasn't erotic so much as sexually explicit. The two are not always interchangeable. There were shining moments in the plot that gave me hope for more, but in the end those moments just led to more hot sex.

If you want to read a book that'll get you geared up and in the mood, by all means, this is the book for you. Exhibitionism, voyeurism, sex in public places, frank language, group sex, sex with drugs, BDSM. Once I let go of my expectations and read it as is, I was delighted. If I'd continued to think this was some kind of erotic romance novel, I would have been deeply disappointed.

posted by lanalucy on November 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    I have to start by admitting, I didn't care much for Sed before

    I have to start by admitting, I didn't care much for Sed before this book. In BACKSTAGE PASS, Sed is an arrogant, mostly off-putting, girlfriend-stealing man whore. The dude was known for getting it on with three to four girls at a time for crying out loud. But very rarely a contemplative, regretful side of Sed peeked through. The hint was definitely there that Sed had a story to tell. That hint is what made me excited to read ROCK HARD.

    In this story, fate or circumstance pushes Sed and his former fiance, Jessica, back together. When they are forced to share close quarters, their attraction takes over and old (sexual) habits resurface. Sed wants to protect Jessica, be the alpha male and provider. Because of his blunt nature, though, he comes off as a condescending, controlling asshat. Jessica has issues, namely Sed. His controlling nature drives her crazy, enough so to make her leave him two years prior to this story. When he unexpectantly and violently re-enters her life, she wants to make him pay, to break his heart. In an effort to make that happen, she plans to use Sed's body (who can blame her?), toy with his heart, then dump his arrogant ass all over again. But, like any good romance, that plan goes down in flames when Jess realizes that Sed has changed, that he truly loves her and she never stopped loving him.

    Besides Jess and Sed, the band, Sinners, is featured more in this book, as a unit. I loved that. I felt like I was behind the scenes, witnessing the magic. There is also a great deal of foreshadowing about Trey, Jace and Eric for the future books in the series. I have to admit, SINNERS ON TOUR has given me a much bigger appreciation for rock stars. I've always dug musicians, but now I really dig them. *wink*

    So...I know why you're really here, for the S-E-X. Lemme tell you, there is plenty of the boning in ROCK HARD. And I do mean plenty. The kink isn't as prevalent as in BACKSTAGE PASS. Sed and Jess are a little more sedate in their tastes, but definitely not in their enthusiasm. With the amount of action these two get, I think they're basically sexual machines. They can get it on anytime, anywhere. They have insatiable appetities and they really enjoy sex in public places. And wow, homegirl's got technique! Besides having fun reading the story, I feel like I'm learning, y'all! Seriously, my mind is cataloging all of the tips I've gathered reading this series.

    ROCK HARD was a highly enjoyable read for me. After the wonderful BACKSTAGE PASS, led by the most-adorable couple, Brian and Myrna, I didn't know if ROCK HARD would cut it for me. Sed and Jessica are definitely a change. Sed isn't as openly lovable as Brian. Jessica isn't the level-headed, calm person that Myrna is. I can identify with that. As a highly emotional and sometimes melodramatic chick, I like to be represented every now and then. They both make dumb choices, overreact. They're not perfect, but they are real. I fell hard for them, rooted for their happy ending. And, now that I think about it, I focused more on their relationship than the sex. Weird. Either I found the plotline to be super strong or I am becoming immune to the smexy times. *shudders* I'll go with option A. And now, the wait is on for Trey's book, DOUBLE TIME, which I have on preorder, but doesn't release until November. Somebody hold me.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    Must Read!!

    Olivia Cunning has done it again with her second installment of her Sinners on Tour series! Her first novel, Backstage Pass covered the story of Myrna and the lead guitarist, Brian. Steamy, hot, sex with an excellent story line. Rock Hard is the story of Jessica and the lead singer, Sed. These two will frustrate you and leave you rooting for them at the same time. Again, this is an erotic romance with an excellent story line. Jessica has a brain and knows what she wants. Sed is a protector who wants to take care of Jessica. Sed is completely swoon worthy! Who doesn't fantasize about a rock star?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2014

    Outstanding read!  I thought Backstage Pass was wonderful, but R

    Outstanding read!  I thought Backstage Pass was wonderful, but Rock Hard actually went a step further on the wonderfulness scale.  (By the way, I tend to read series out of order - sorry if you're irritated by this).  I have Wicked Beat in my stack to read this summer.  I'm looking forward to it.
    Rock Hard is the lead singer's love story.  Sed Lionheart is sexy sexy sexy.  His girl, Jessica, is even sexier.  The sex scenes in this story are creative, athletic, and hot!  I especially enjoyed these characters' flaws.  She's independent to a fault, which makes the fact that Sed is so typically male in that he want to fix her problems a wide open door for serious conflict.  So fun.  He's a hard-headed alpha male, too, which makes him real and believable.
    This story works on so many levels.  Olivia Cunning clearly works hard at her craft and at creating dynamic characters we can fall in love with.  The result is an effortless read and a book you just can't put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I can't say it enough Rock is sooooooo....HOT!!!! Sed got move t

    I can't say it enough Rock is sooooooo....HOT!!!! Sed got move that makes daddy's across the nation want to sigh up for classes of protection of their little girls. Jessica had a man's man. A man that wants to do make all things right for her. She did not realize it for what it was. And Sed did not see Jessica for the strong independent woman she is. They learn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Fantastic series

    I get alittle ticked when authors break up a book into a series but in this case there is no other way to go. You could just by one and not the rest but you will find yourself wondering about the other main characters you read about. There is a lot of hardcore sex but it is mixed in with a well written story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2013

    i like all the sinners but in my list Sed is not in the first 3

    i like all the sinners but in my list Sed is not in the first 3 lol and sorry for those that believe other things, like i said for me!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    The BEST of Sinners series

    After thoroughly loving every Sinners book, I must honestly admit Sed and Jessica's story was the BEST!!!! How could you not fall in love with them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    OMG LOVED IT

    ANOTHER GET HIT! Loved this story about Sed and Jessica. Wonderful love story about tough love. I was happy to see this book continued with Brian and Myran.

    Great book. Just loved it. Will read all the Sinners book. Looking forward to book three now.

    OMG LOVED IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    HOT..HOT..HOT!!!

    I love these books. Getting ready to get the 3rd in the series. The author writes in such a way that the hotness and whit of the characters flow like honey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another Smokin' Hot Sinners Book!!

    ABSOLUTELY FREAKIN' FABULOUS!!!!

    I fell in love with this amazingly fun and sexy group of men known as the rock band SINNERS almost instantly when reading
    Backstage Pass and I can honestly say their stories just get better and better!!! OK, I know we were all supposed to believe that Sed was a complete and total A-hole, but I never believed it! I knew there was pain, and a woman, behind his jerk off act, and boy was I right!!

    Sed and Jessica may have had a rough go of it in the beginning put their love and passion EXPLODES off the pages! But IMO, the rest of the band plays as much a part in this story as the main characters. The interaction between the band members is amazing, emotional and sometimes makes me laugh right out loud! Each one of the band members is so uniquely interesting that I cannot wait for each individual story! I thought Trey would be my favorite story to get to but after learning a little more about each of them in this book, I am kind of excited to get Jace's story too!!

    An incredibly hot and sexy rock band, smokin' hot sex that makes you squirm in your seat and a HEA - What more could you ask for??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Although I didn't care or Sed all that much in the last book fe

    Although I didn't care or Sed all that much in the last book fell in love with him in this one. He really is the backbone of the Sinners. Jessica's attitude got to me until I found out why she was that way. Ended up loving them both and their penchant for playing in public. LOL Highly erotic read and I enjoyed it very much. Just bought the remaining two books and hope she goes to Dare's band next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    yankeeX

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    highly recommended

    loved all 3 of the "Sinners on Tour" series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Loved!!

    I loved this book! I liked that you got to hear about the rest of the Sinners and Sed and Jessica. Sed and Jessica were so explosive together! I loved how the rest of the guys were supportive of each other. I highly recommend this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    Love this series! Another solid Sinners installment from Olivia

    Love this series!

    Another solid Sinners installment from Olivia Cunnings!   Sed was not my favorite before this book, but I am definitely a fan of his now.  Super hot book, loved it!  Can't wait for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    Okay, so like many other people, I wasn't Sed's biggest fan in t

    Okay, so like many other people, I wasn't Sed's biggest fan in the first one, but oh, how I absolutely adore the man now!  Rock Hard was every bit as good as Backstage Pass, with scorching sex scenes and the band's dynamic further developed and explained.  This book just about tore me up, and I think that the author did an absolutely marvelous job of showing how the characters interactions strengthen them, who needs who and in what capacity. I love Trey, even more so than before, which I didn't think was even remotely possible.  The relationship between Sed and Jessica has its frustrating moments, but I swear I know some people just like them and at times I was nodding my head like, yup, exactly.  Super loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Awesome.....

    I could not put this book down......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    Just when you thought the story couldn't get any better.... It's

    Just when you thought the story couldn't get any better.... It's awesome.... This story has made me wish I was a Rock Band groupie.... The Character's personalities are so strong and brought to life in such a way that I almost believe they are real.... Totally loved Rock Hard.... and have started reading Double Time.... Geez and I'm hooked again... fantastic story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    HOT!!!!!

    Lots of steamy scenes, many in public places. This book gives a different view of Sed then you get in Backstage Pass. You get to see what a caring person he really is. Looking forward to Trey's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Loved

    I love rock music and felt like I was living vicariously through these characters. The passion is obvious, but so is the love even if they are tio stubborn to admit it through most of the book. I pre-ordered the third book just to find out what going on wuth Brian and Sed in their relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5